What do you REALLY mean by "conti feel"?

Renegade

Not sure cos I went to do some installation at one of the workshop, the shop owner told me that my car bonnet met the euro standards.

Probably it is the NCAP standards for safety.

" SIT IN A SEAT?!! " ...good one!! [thumbsup]

I oso say - and speaking of which, I know someone whose kid has a bit of problem pronouncing "seat" [:p][laugh]

Been seeing this on-off in the forum - when talking about Asian-made cars, sometimes someone would say "....but that one more conti feel....".

I'm confused - what is meant by "conti feel" for an Asian-made car? Is there such a thing first place? confused.gif

when it made you feel good.. for example, if you like QQ, you will say it has conti feel.. tongue.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Some PI GTIs are also read in MP/H rather than KM/H.

When it rains, the droplet sounds from my current conti is softer than my prev jap car.

Very stable handling at high speeds as compared to my prev jap car too.

But all these are with a physically price. $$$$$

Actually to answer your question, conti feel is intangible. I don't get it driving a Korean, Jap car. Its hard to describe, but once you drive one, you'll understand..nod.gif

For me, conti-feel means "got class". [;)]

I had a good look at the new Camry my brother bought. Extensive use of cheap, hollow tacky plastics to conjure up an luxurious interior... [shakehead]

穿上龙袍也不像太子.

Expecting lots of flaming from Toyota's fanatics. No worries, flame-suit on.... [cool]

Edited by Darth_mel

Well, you have to follow the history of car industrial, Japan created a new standard for the world car industrial, like their rim/exhaust standard and the euro have to respect that. It pretty high, but the Korean come in as a follower, which follow the rest of the world, so no choice they have to comply.

then EVO& REXY leh?...they got very good n safe handling at high speeds also..

I think the way to describe wud b a more secure feel when driving, especially at higher speeds. Road holding is good also.

Yes, sound insulation is excellent I must say. Much better than my Mondeo.

But sitting in the the Mondeo makes me feel a class higher.... [;)]

The cheapest Rolex will always have more class than an expensive Seiko.

Not an elitist remark hor. I'm far from being an elite okay ? [:p]

Edited by Darth_mel

The continental car feel generally better because of its superior suspension system as most European car comes with front McPherson Strut. I've to cut spring and change my jap car all round shock absorbers to Koni to improve on my road feel.

The continental car steering radius turn is shorter making sudden adverse movements more sensitive and 3-point turn faster and more acute.

The continental car is generally heavier and with a more superior suspension system, the road noise is much reduced hence is feeling of more luxurious with a higher level of comfort.

If you can afford, do buy a continental car for comfort and prestige well, also perhaps also for safety. I've owned both types of cars before and currently driving a jap car caused its a point-to-point car, with better fuel economy and would have a better resale value and ease of spares availability [:)]