Shull Turbocharged April 8, 2008 Share April 8, 2008 jam brake at 100kmh or jam brake at 20kmh got more chance of activating the ABS? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear April 8, 2008 Share April 8, 2008 IMHO, after brake is applied, ABS kicks in when tyre(s) starts to slip or lose traction, preventing wheel lock from occuring. Traction control kicks in when tyre(s) starts to slip or lose traction without brake being applied. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scaglietti Neutral Newbie April 8, 2008 Share April 8, 2008 Wrong term... "wheel lock" is the right term. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alb3ruang Neutral Newbie April 8, 2008 Share April 8, 2008 If I remember correctly from the tyre bible, ABS only kicks in >15 mph so driving around slower than that also need to be watchful Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 My car doesnt comes with ABS. But i must say if you drive over puddles at high speed, it is rather dangerous without ABS. So typically i will avoid right most lane during heavy rain on expressways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 a bit of correction here.. driving over puddles at high speed is no diff with OR without ABS. it's only when u brake that ABS makes a difference. to be precise, brake AND steer. if u brake in straight line, ABS can shorten ur stopping distance by abit in the wet. that is all. most importantly, keep a safe distance from the car in front Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 eh.. does braking as i can feel my car skidding when driving over the puddle counts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howfastcanyougo Neutral Newbie April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 I hv heard of some car owners that says they hv nvr activated their ABS in their lifetime of driving b4. Some says its only for drivers who feels insecure in wet weathers. Some activated theirs once b4 and says after that hv to go for chks.... is this true? So I am anticipating whether to just go 4 a car without ABS. Any Bro/Sis here have activated his/her ABS b4? Do you think this is necessary features for me who is self-proclaim safe driver who don't speed and don't tailgate? The car w/o ABS is a manual car... It's like carrying a condom at all times: Better to have one and don't need it, then need one and don't have it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 ABS can never shorten ur braking distance,driving over puddle of water is like your tyre no contact with road surface.Braking on Wet roads,ABS dont shorten the distance,it just aid in controlling your car.eg, if in dry roads step on brake to halt take 50m,the wet roads should be double the stopping distance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 the deceleration isn't counted. if your foot got press brake, counted. for aquaplaning, ABS won't help you much. best is to slow down before the puddle and grip the steering firmly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saggi 1st Gear April 11, 2008 Share April 11, 2008 well , it is always good to have ABS so you can steer your car... i would suggest those with ABS , try to activite in the carpark during raining or wet ground.. but make sure the area is safe with no car or kids/people on the road.. you will get the feel of the ABS activation and you will not be shock when the ABS activate when you are in real emergency condition.. best place to try is camp parade square where you got large free open area..!! hheheeee try it and you will know how to handle your car well when it activate.. after all we pay so much for the ABS and car..!! why not use it..!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear April 14, 2008 Author Share April 14, 2008 I hv heard of some car owners that says they hv nvr activated their ABS in their lifetime of driving b4. Some says its only for drivers who feels insecure in wet weathers. Some activated theirs once b4 and says after that hv to go for chks.... is this true? So I am anticipating whether to just go 4 a car without ABS. Any Bro/Sis here have activated his/her ABS b4? Do you think this is necessary features for me who is self-proclaim safe driver who don't speed and don't tailgate? The car w/o ABS is a manual car... Honda City Thanks for replying.... more than a year after my question... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear April 14, 2008 Author Share April 14, 2008 I beleive the most important thing is the way you drive. Got ABS or not does not matter! Well....... 1 yr + 1mth after my purchase... doned 22+K..... did not activate ABS yet.... guess hv to agree with you lor... for the moment tat is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear April 14, 2008 Author Share April 14, 2008 Thanks for your reaffirm reply 1 yr after I asked Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear April 14, 2008 Author Share April 14, 2008 ever heard of ppl doing safe sex and not using a condom? claiming can pull out in time? :) :) its your call. addition money to buy a bit more protection? also, what have u got to lose , with and without the protection? :) just my little opinion. :)[/reply] Hmm... want to do, dont pull out. No fun liao. Want to pull out, might as well dont do. These r 2 different things lar bro. Anyway, too late liao lah.. I bought the protection 1 year+ ago Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear April 14, 2008 Author Share April 14, 2008 Just last wk, was coming to an abrubt stop during raining at a traffic junction. Step quite hard on the breaks, however, dont see any ABS light on, as wat some other bros said..... but the car is pretty stable. Did not feel slide to one side or skid as my previous manual ride..... Am still wondering if it is the ABS, or the weight of the ride that cause it to be stable during hard breaks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nothingtodo 1st Gear April 14, 2008 Author Share April 14, 2008 Wow.... u carry one all the time ah? U really get turn on fast enough to do it on the spot? Good for u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched April 14, 2008 Share April 14, 2008 the moral of the story is : got protect is better than not. got protection doesn't mean no accident. is it practical to have abs, definately 'yes'. ABS only give u a bit more control then the event of emergency braking situation. However, that also depend on the tyres too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...