Garmin NUVI 610 purchase/install process **MANY PICS**

Chickenbackside

hahahahah...when you meet an 'itchy hand or vandal' everything abt. ur car is tempting with or without an external antenna [laugh]

These pple are sick in the mind!! [furious]

Okie [:)]

Was thinking real hard whether I needed an external antenna and I've been to Albright twice to look at it but ended up not buying bcos of the hassle (wiring and stuff) [dizzy]

Yeah, the external antenna is a very big hassle due to the wiring. If you are using the 660, I dunt think you really need the external antenna.

garminln7.jpg

Thks....yup, just chuck both the external antenna wire and ciggy charger wire into the side trim.... [nod]

Alamak,why install here and if somebody just pull off?(i m sure you will meet one with 3 hands)If you go north and w/out this,how you navigate you destination?

Not really hassle lah....poke thru one of the small holes built between the engine and dashboard.... [:p]

Bought the Martin Fields screen protector from DOML...$24/= very glossy now... [laugh]

Edited by Axela525

Hmm... External anteena looks susceptible to itchy hands and vandals...

but it is so "dangerous" to put outside something so costly lei... [sly]

bros and sis, if u use in-car GPS, remember not to program an address as HOME... in case car kena stolen the thief will not know how to get to your house!!! [shocked]

[nod]

heh heh... saw the picture like house and not block... but u are right, haha did not occur to me [nod]

Do you guys lock your GPS? In case the unit is loss and the person found it but can't use it. [:/]

Did you like...cut the ciggy-wire and hot-wire it somewhere or just plug it in? If it's plugin, where did you chuck the entire length of the wire? Can't be dangling underneath the steering wheel right? Pics perhaps?

hi all, i just bot the 610 & rocks with malsingmaps. The traffic camera & ERP alerts are a nice feature & plus the graphics are cool. Cant wait to test this up north as ive already found some places in KL using the Spell function [:)]

Bro! can i check with you (traffic camera & ERP alerts) only available in 610 or any Nuvi? Or is because of the malsing maps you are using now! If its feature of malsing maps can you tell me the link? I am using 300 with malsing map so far never come across this (traffic camera & ERP alerts) [thumbsup] THANKS

I use the entire length, run it from the cigarette lighter, under the dashboard panels and find a gap to run it out onto the dashboard (can be near the steering column or even air con vent). I zip tie the excess length under the dashboard so that it doesn't dangle.