Weixiang_06 Clutched April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 (edited) Guys, if you are thinking of getting the New Vios so do think twice as I have information leak out from Borneo SE that the new Vios is no longer from Thailand, it is from China. Even all the engines in Toyota cars including those Japan models are made in China though they might be assembled in Japan. If you notice on the engine performance, you will notice the newer engines from Toyota are much rough and noisy compared those older VVTI engines. Just my sharing, it is up to you to believe and good luck. Guys, if you are thinking of getting the New City so do think twice as I have information leak out from KM SE that the new City is no longer from Thailand, it is from China. Even all the engines in Honda cars including those Japan models are made in China though they might be assembled in Japan. If you notice on the engine performance, you will notice the newer engines from Honda are much rough and weaker compared those older vtec engines. Just my sharing, it is up to you to believe and good luck. Talk is cheap! Edited April 7, 2007 by Weixiang_06 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 talk is cheap lah.. honda also has plants in thailand and china Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 Honda has plant in Malaysia too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 that china cars can say they share same technology as toyota liao lor Have you check thoroughly on the Geely A160, it is using the old Toyota chasis and design. Check it out and you will know it yourself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 For your info, the first few batches of Civic FD is from Japan and subsequent batches are from Thailand, don't believe me, check out yourself. This info was told by the SE in Kah Motor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 For your info, the first few batches of Civic FD is from Japan and subsequent batches are from Thailand, don't believe me, check out yourself. This info was told by the SE in Kah Motor. Are you certain about this? Those who bought a Honda Civic always take pride their car is MIJ Seriously the prices paid for is quite alot.. Ranging from 73k to 81k... If its made in thailadn... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 U r rite, when i get my civic fd, my SE already inform me that after a few more batches, no more japan civic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 (edited) so its a fact ah... i always looked upon honda as a premium "overpriced" ride.. justifable as its Made in Japan now its made in Thailand.. think those who kept thinking Honda cars = Made In Japan Cars, especially its flagship car Honda Civic FD got to think twice before commenting anymore about theirs being a true nippon ride.. for me, i dun mind coz my is really a tomyam ride mah... well known.. but for Civic FD Okie.. Its also a tomyam ride... the price is .... $73-$81k for a thailand civic... Think i really ignorant about this... $73k for a made in thailand 1.6litre honda civic FD Edited April 7, 2007 by Weixiang_06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 They are very clever in having such a marketing strategy cos when people check out the car when they first launched, they will have a deep impression that it is made in Japan which is the fact. After that, they replaced it with the Thailand batches and noone will ever ask about it anymore cos they know in mind that it is made in Japan so willing to pay such a high price for it. Kah Motors are good and earning big bucks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weixiang_06 Clutched April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 They are very clever in having such a marketing strategy cos when people check out the car when they first launched, they will have a deep impression that it is made in Japan which is the fact. After that, they replaced it with the Thailand batches and noone will ever ask about it anymore cos they know in mind that it is made in Japan so willing to pay such a high price for it. Kah Motors are good and earning big bucks! Which is why i set up a thread to inform potential buyers that the Civics they are getting or intending to buy is from Thailand! And yes, its at an atrocious price... liddat might as welll buy from reputable PI like Ricardo, and get Toyota Axio instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carforun Neutral Newbie April 7, 2007 Share April 7, 2007 (edited) Yah, talking about the QA, this is the part that you can see with your naked eyes. What about those we can't see? Edited April 7, 2007 by Carforun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie April 8, 2007 Author Share April 8, 2007 It is still heavier than the current Vios which weighs around 970kg and using same engine so guess the pickup and FC will be affected slightly. pick up still quite good during test drive, at least better than avante 1.6A. Not sure about FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie April 8, 2007 Author Share April 8, 2007 Guys, if you are thinking of getting the New Vios so do think twice as I have information leak out from Borneo SE that the new Vios is no longer from Thailand, it is from China. Even all the engines in Toyota cars including those Japan models are made in China though they might be assembled in Japan. If you notice on the engine performance, you will notice the newer engines from Toyota are much rough and noisy compared those older VVTI engines. Just my sharing, it is up to you to believe and good luck. Guys, if you are thinking of getting the New City so do think twice as I have information leak out from KM SE that the new City is no longer from Thailand, it is from China. Even all the engines in Honda cars including those Japan models are made in China though they might be assembled in Japan. If you notice on the engine performance, you will notice the newer engines from Honda are much rough and weaker compared those older vtec engines. Just my sharing, it is up to you to believe and good luck. Talk is cheap! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shern25 2nd Gear April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 With the new Vios G version only $1.5K less than Altis, and comparable or slightly more expensive than Nissan Latio and Honda City, among these 4 choices (vios G, Altis, Latio, City), is there any good reason for getting the new vios G version? I can only think of the looks if one prefers the new vios looks. Otherwise, getting altis, latio, or city seems to be a more sensible choice than vios G. Anyone care to comment on this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaka23 3rd Gear April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 my dad was very interested in the new vios cause it looks like the camry. but when he went to the showroom he was utterly disappointed. considering either the camry or accord currently Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear April 8, 2007 Share April 8, 2007 that china cars can say they share same technology as toyota liao lor Have you check thoroughly on the Geely A160, it is using the old Toyota chasis and design. Check it out and you will know it yourself. I think few mths back on the sunday times, they did a article on china cars. The journalist did wrote that that they went to Geely's factory and saw they have toyotas cars there. IMHO china is catching up very fast as compared to 10 yrs back. The japs were also once a "copycat". Of course there are good ones and bad ones. Even for good ones there might be hipcups along the way. I believe most S'poreans here will say china goods cheap skate. I think mentality plays a part & it takes time for a brand to be established. I am even aware that there are european car parts maker who make parts for VW &... in china. I happen to know chery is also negotating to get parts from them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 9, 2007 Share April 9, 2007 Guys, if you are thinking of getting the New Vios so do think twice as I have information leak out from Borneo SE that the new Vios is no longer from Thailand, it is from China. Even all the engines in Toyota cars including those Japan models are made in China though they might be assembled in Japan. If you notice on the engine performance, you will notice the newer engines from Toyota are much rough and noisy compared those older VVTI engines. Just my sharing, it is up to you to believe and good luck. Talk is cheap! Guys, if you are thinking of getting the New Vios so do think twice as I have information leak out from Borneo SE that the new Vios is no longer from Thailand, it is from Singapore. Even all the engines in Toyota cars including those Japan models are made in Singapore though they might be assembled in Japan. If you notice on the engine performance, you will notice the newer engines from Toyota are much rough and noisy compared those older VVTI engines. Just my sharing, it is up to you to believe and good luck. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...