Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 It might take a while for any changes to take place though . . . if any ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 CNG conversion cost plus usage,compare 1 year using to petrol,can fetch back the capital liao..good ROI and its contracted that a local petrol company provide this topping up in all thier stations...thats even better but curious..will affect the performance??actually not a bad idea to convert Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 will void warranty or not ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spartan 1st Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 I agree with you , but i personally think that there isn't any service personnel capable to service diesel engine in Singapore as you can see even Euro 4 bus and vans are emitting back smoke. So I think the technical know-how part still need to catch up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 I guess those bus or van with black smoke are lack of maintenance because owner mindset is this is a van. But if this is a private car, owner are more willing to spend time and money for maintenance since this is their 2nd wife Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jwho Neutral Newbie December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 hi all, I was abt to buy a SUV ndo the CNG conversion due to the lower running costs and rebates. However, things came to a halt when I called NEA and LTA and got the following facts from them: 40% OMV rebate from government : when you deregister your car, your parf value will be affected to "return" some of the rebates you received. Eg. after 10 yrs, Normal car parf = OMV*55% CNG bifuel car parf = OMV*35%. This will affect your car resale value as you will most prob have to deduct this to your selling price for your potential buyer should you sell your car before 10 yrs. Another potential issue is that the car cant be registered back as a normal once you registered as bifuel car. The road tax for bifuel cars and normal cars are the same, so no savings. I end up buying a SUV without the conversion. Just some points for pple who might be interested in how the system works. I might still take the CNG conversion after I collect my car but I wanted to check with LTA on how my Parf and registration will be affected. have a merry Xmas, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 (edited) Improper gear up/downshifts, using the wrong gear ratios, use of industrial diesel (aka OEM diesel) are some of the easiest means to produce black smoke in a diesel vehicle. Edited December 25, 2007 by Koolaba Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 eh...this one hor..i didnt notice...but conversion cost $3.5k and per kg CNG is $1.10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear December 25, 2007 Share December 25, 2007 (edited) Blame it on our domestic politics. WHAT politics? Singapore got politics one meh, not someone say already that's it. Edited December 25, 2007 by Falc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic December 26, 2007 Share December 26, 2007 (edited) A lot of transportation company are supplying industrial diesel to their fleet of bus, van, lorry. In Germany, Shell is selling V-power diesel Edited December 26, 2007 by Tohto Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic December 26, 2007 Share December 26, 2007 If more owner convert to CNG in the future, I think our garmen will up the CNG tax or implement some new law/rule to collect back the money lose on petrol tax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 26, 2007 Share December 26, 2007 thats why strike iron while hot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtrider_ak Neutral Newbie December 26, 2007 Share December 26, 2007 CNG conversion cost plus usage,compare 1 year using to petrol,can fetch back the capital liao..good ROI and its contracted that a local petrol company provide this topping up in all thier stations...thats even better but curious..will affect the performance??actually not a bad idea to convert Want to save $ dun think about performance lahh.... if you want press the button u get back your petrol performance + extra 1 passenger..... LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear December 26, 2007 Share December 26, 2007 hi all,I was abt to buy a SUV ndo the CNG conversion due to the lower running costs and rebates. However, things came to a halt when I called NEA and LTA and got the following facts from them: 40% OMV rebate from government : when you deregister your car, your parf value will be affected to "return" some of the rebates you received. Eg. after 10 yrs, Normal car parf = OMV*55% CNG bifuel car parf = OMV*35%. This will affect your car resale value as you will most prob have to deduct this to your selling price for your potential buyer should you sell your car before 10 yrs. Another potential issue is that the car cant be registered back as a normal once you registered as bifuel car. The road tax for bifuel cars and normal cars are the same, so no savings. I end up buying a SUV without the conversion. Just some points for pple who might be interested in how the system works. I might still take the CNG conversion after I collect my car but I wanted to check with LTA on how my Parf and registration will be affected. have a merry Xmas, My understanding is that as long as you do not take the 40% OMV rebate, you will not be penalise for converting to CNG. According to LTA website, your PARF rebate is based on the ARF "paid". Thus, if you have already paid 110% when registering your new car, your PARF will not be effected. However, for bigger car with much higher OMV like $35000 (Estima), the 40% rebate is $14000. Minus the conversion, that still leaves you with $10000 worth of "saving". Using the above example, for the first 5 years of a car with $35000 OMV: PARF rebate without conversion = 82.5% = $28875 PARF rebate with conversion = 52.5% = $18375 (diff $10500) Paper saving = $10000 x 2.5% (interest) x 7 yrs = $1750. Running cost saving = to be determined based on usage. So much for the 40% rebate. Anyway, I feel CNG conversion is not mean for those who wanna change ride every 2-3 years. The actually saving should be after 1.5-2yrs based on annual milleage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jwho Neutral Newbie December 27, 2007 Share December 27, 2007 <<<<<<<<<<<<<< My understanding is that as long as you do not take the 40% OMV rebate, you will not be penalise for converting to CNG. According to LTA website, your PARF rebate is based on the ARF "paid". Thus, if you have already paid 110% when registering your new car, your PARF will not be effected. However, for bigger car with much higher OMV like $35000 (Estima), the 40% rebate is $14000. Minus the conversion, that still leaves you with $10000 worth of "saving". Using the above example, for the first 5 years of a car with $35000 OMV: PARF rebate without conversion = 82.5% = $28875 PARF rebate with conversion = 52.5% = $18375 (diff $10500) Paper saving = $10000 x 2.5% (interest) x 7 yrs = $1750. Running cost saving = to be determined based on usage. So much for the 40% rebate. Anyway, I feel CNG conversion is not mean for those who wanna change ride every 2-3 years. The actually saving should be after 1.5-2yrs based on annual milleage. >>>>>>>>>>> Hi, I called up LTA and NEA for clarifications and they told me a different story. They said that when you scrape your car, your PARF will only definitely be affected as it is a CNG car. Can share with me where you got your information from? I am still very keen to convert to CNG if my PARF is not affected as I dont want to affect the resale value of my new car. I am still waiting for it so still have time to do the CNG conversion and register as bi-fuel car. I an intending to sell the car away after 5 years. Wondering if I would still be able to get the dealer to export the car after 5 years since its a bifuel car and not too sure about market demand then. Thanks for sharing. Have a good day, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear December 27, 2007 Share December 27, 2007 Hello bro, Check out the link, http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/mot...ax_electric.htm I believe they may have misunderstood you. Quote, "If ARF rebates are enjoyed at the point of registration of the natural-gas driven, electric or hybrid car, the ARF paid is the prevailing ARF rate at the point of registration, less the rebates received." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear December 27, 2007 Share December 27, 2007 So up front, one "saves" 40% on ARF, but lose 30$ on the scrap value at the 5th year mark or lose 20% on the scrap value if drive to the 10th year mark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jwho Neutral Newbie December 27, 2007 Share December 27, 2007 Hi, thanks for your link. I will call them up again to verify. have a good day ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...