Is this considered beating red light?

Tiek

Hey folks,

I did a silly thing this morning. I'm a noobie driver (1 mth experience). Was travelling on PIE this morning, and I missed my exit. So I thought I could "u-turn" at the next exit, the type where it is a cross junction below the highway. Problem is when I doing that "u-turn" (not sure if this is legal or not), the light at the opposite entrance to the expressway is red. I was unsure what to do and just went straight past that red light and joined backed into the opposite direction of the PIE.

Is this considered beating the red light? Are there traffic cameras at this kind of junctions? So worried cos I just got my license and dun wanna it to be revoked. What a silly thing I did. Complete noob [smallcry]

Pls help / advise. Thanks a million.

Relax lah.... you didn't see any bright flash right?

Lights at opposite side entrance might be for cars entering the E-way from the adjoining road and not meant for you. What about the lights that were facing straight at you? What were they indicating?

Anyway, for such cases.... even if kena caught on camera.... you can get another of your family member as scapegoat lah..... [lipsrsealed]

No I did not see any flash. But it was bright daylight so I could not really tell.

The one facing me turn green, that's why I proceed. But instead of going straight, I 'u-turn' to join the e-way at the opposite end, in which the light was red.

So is this kind of 'u-turn' legal?

Oh... like that OK lah.... you were correct. No fault at all. That red you saw was for cars coming from the opposite direction.

It doesn't matter whether the lights in the opposite direction is red or not, as long as your side is green, you didn't beat red light.

As for the U-turn, normally there's a rectangular "U-turn" sign before the junction, if you are allowed to U-turn legally. If no U-turn sign, exercise initiative. If there is a "no U-turn" sign, then you have made an illegal U-turn.

Remember Mr Goh's words?

Dude... PIE which exit? im always familiar with PIE! U are gonna be okay. dont worry....

The cams are onli for those veh. going to and fro the main roads...but for slip roads on expressways, there is none! even if u u-turn, the camera is not in favour to that lane!

Cheers!

It's the Upp Jurong Rd/Pasir Laba Rd exit, the one after NTU Pioneer Rd Nth exit. I missed the Pioneer Rd exit so I 'u-turn' at the next exit.

So instead of exiting straight to Pasir Laba Rd, I 'u-turn' and join back the PIE at the opposite side.

So I conclude from all the responses that I didn't beat the red light, but that this kind of u-turn is still illegal (because no u-turn sign?). Just hope I didn't get caught on camera... [smallcry] . Haiz, will not try this kind of stunt anymore.

you're confirm + guarantee safe..i passed that traffic light every morning on my way to camp..that junction no camera one..and alot of people did U turns there..

No I did not see any flash. But it was bright daylight so I could not really tell.

The one facing me turn green, that's why I proceed. But instead of going straight, I 'u-turn' to join the e-way at the opposite end, in which the light was red.

So is this kind of 'u-turn' legal?

those red light camera flashes is like lightning bolt, in bright day light oso can see one! so if u din see any lightning flashes, then the red light camera is not taking any pictures so dun worry.

Hey folks,

I did a silly thing this morning. I'm a noobie driver (1 mth experience). Was travelling on PIE this morning, and I missed my exit. So I thought I could "u-turn" at the next exit, the type where it is a cross junction below the highway. Problem is when I doing that "u-turn" (not sure if this is legal or not), the light at the opposite entrance to the expressway is red. I was unsure what to do and just went straight past that red light and joined backed into the opposite direction of the PIE.

Is this considered beating the red light? Are there traffic cameras at this kind of junctions? So worried cos I just got my license and dun wanna it to be revoked. What a silly thing I did. Complete noob [smallcry]

The issue here is not whether you had beaten a red light or not.

The issue is whether you can legally make that U-turn at that exit and 'What you mean went straight pass that red light?'

Was that red light meant to control the flow of traffic which you inadverterably join into?

The simple question you need to ask yourself is : All is not most traffic signs and road markings serve a very vital and clear purpose. It is not for you to intrepret it your own way as and when you see it fit to do so. [;)]

Hey folks,

U r fine, no worries [thumbsup]

You shld be fine...no worries.

I always encounter the same thing when i u-turn at Outram Exit to go back to CTE (City). When i make the u-turn, the light facing me after the turn is red...but it is for vehicles that r turning from the main road. So if u encounter this at the outram exit, u dun have to worry too.