Fivegear Clutched May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 Hi, Am wondering if anyone of you obediently follow the traffic law by making sure filtering after the double white lines even when there is no car on the other lane? Some of the double white line stretches so long until you might face problem in filtering left or right when you need to do a turning soon. Stupid design of roads One of which is at the CTE exit out to Havelock road. I got a big problem every morning trying to filter to the left for a left turning about 30metres ahead. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lengendcf 1st Gear May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 The double lines are there for a reason.. I will not cross them even no cars around.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 (edited) Yes I follow the double white line rule. In fact most of the cars I see follow the rules. I was wondering why you ask this question. Edited May 2, 2007 by Beei Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 I do. Even when there is no cars. I do not always agre with some traffic rules...but I believe the double white lines rule should be adhered to. It's like the traffic lights...you will still stop even tho there is no a single car in sight. Btw, crossing the double white lines will kenna fined and demerit points. The part of town is indeed difficult to filter to the left. I use it almost everyday too....I just have to take my time or just drive on and make a u-turn along eu tong sen road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nazaki Clutched May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 (edited) The double white line at CTE exit Havelock rd CANNOT cross! Alot of ppl kana fine for crossing it. Don't be the next victim. Even TNP got report before that there's more than 20 offenders within 30minutes. Edited May 2, 2007 by Nazaki Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 The reason for those lines is so that you have to go further ahead to make the turns. It prevents people from cutting across 3 (or was it 4) lanes to get to the turns. It only stops to allow people to turn right to filter in the right most lane. IMHO it is a very good design because allow the people to filter across all those lanes will result in them slowing traffic down not to mention increase the chances of an accident and cause inconvenience to the people behind. If you would rather travel less than to make the few right turns further up, I would suggest you turn right into the carpark for the subordinate courts and use it as a big u-turn and come out again. You'll find that it makes it extremely easy for you to get to the left most lane, and probably in less time than it would take for you to filter, but a bit more than making the few right turns. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mubarakrashid Neutral Newbie May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 Hi, Am wondering if anyone of you obediently follow the traffic law by making sure filtering after the double white lines even when there is no car on the other lane? Some of the double white line stretches so long until you might face problem in filtering left or right when you need to do a turning soon. Stupid design of roads One of which is at the CTE exit out to Havelock road. I got a big problem every morning trying to filter to the left for a left turning about 30metres ahead. i used that stretch almost every day too...have never encounter any issue.. guess its my driving.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NipponJohn Neutral Newbie May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 Suay Suay Bo tio say.... Jialat.... Points plus money. Don't ever try. Just obey the rule. Don't challenge the law. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched May 3, 2007 Share May 3, 2007 Please obey/follow the traffic rules. There is always a reason for any kind of road signs and marking. Aslo not worth to pay silly fine $70 for crossing over it .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear May 3, 2007 Share May 3, 2007 i do follow the double white lines... but i hav to agree tat sometimes the double white lines stretch too far long already... actually, muz as well they put a curb there if the double white line they intend to stretch very long.... if not, ppl will tend to cross it halfway cos they will find it troublesome to follow all the way till the lines end... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched May 3, 2007 Share May 3, 2007 The lines are there to prevent accidents. Usually cars exit from the expressway at higher speeds, so if they don't force you to slow down and filter further ahead, collisions might happen between cars exiting CTE and those filtering from the left to the right. One similar example is at the Bukit Timah CTE exit. It jams up the place a bit, esp when the lights are red, but it's for the good of everyone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear May 3, 2007 Share May 3, 2007 Hi, Am wondering if anyone of you obediently follow the traffic law by making sure filtering after the double white lines even when there is no car on the other lane? Some of the double white line stretches so long until you might face problem in filtering left or right when you need to do a turning soon. Stupid design of roads One of which is at the CTE exit out to Havelock road. I got a big problem every morning trying to filter to the left for a left turning about 30metres ahead. i bother.. its for safety mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chromas 1st Gear May 3, 2007 Share May 3, 2007 That's a very good suggestion. I also faced this problem in the past when I had to turn left as well. Even with my car, I found it to be hazardous to do so. Good thing is that I don't have to make that left turn anymore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 3, 2007 Share May 3, 2007 Bro, my practice is follow the traffic law You'll never know who would be hiding around to take a pic of you committing the offence Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie May 3, 2007 Share May 3, 2007 The double white lines are there for good reasons. I respect its presence and follow the laws not to cross it anytime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mbabypony Neutral Newbie May 3, 2007 Share May 3, 2007 Ya agree that Havelock exit one too freaking long. Sometimes there are already cars at the traffic light and by the time u come to the end of the white line to filter left, u cant cause already block by cars at the Traffic light! At times have to make almost 70-80 degree left filter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear May 3, 2007 Share May 3, 2007 well.. a few occasions, there are really near misses.. and other few occasions, there are some serious accidents. One i saw was a bike and a cab. Ok, the lines are there for a reason. 1st to pick up speed (or to slow down) to match that of the oncoming traffic. 2nd, FOR OTHERS TO SEE YOU!!!! Jeez... follow a bit can die har? If you dun follow, you might die leh. Worse, if u dun.. others might Take a pick Rgds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 3, 2007 Share May 3, 2007 I always use that area last time mah. So learn all the kelong tricks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...