Man in month-long coma after traffic row dies

User12343

Used to be the storeman of 2 Signal during my NS days.... veri strong character... when he believes he is right he would go all out to prove you wrong...maybe that brought his downfall... Life is so fragile....

No wonder he looked so familiar when his face appeared in the ST today....

Taxi driver should be jailed for taking another's life. As a warning to all future road bullies that if you try to threaten people or want to run ppl down. Prepare to go jail and a big fine. For this case, its very sad to see someone in his prime. Leaving this world just bcos of a stupid and dangerous taxi driver. Not worth it. But what done is done. Stop to think that such incidents might happen to any of us. But when you are angry, you might do something that will leave a lasting effect on you. Just hope such incident will not happen again.

Edited by Speed_ong

It will probably take the the relevant authorities another 2 years to investigate...by then the roads would have changed, people's memory would have been lost...before they decide to charge the driver.

If u got passenger sit beside u can ask him/her to wind down window and give hand signal for the vehicle to give way. I always do that in very crowded road, nv fail once before. I think they see ppl hand go out, they also scare to accelerate as worry the hand will be gone if kena hit by their vehicle.

Most of the time I am alone lor. Hmmm, maybe I can come up with a fake hand that drivers like me can use, just wind down the passenger window and stick it out ! Maybe can sell alot of it ! [:p]

With so many accidents recently involving deaths or ppl with high profile maybe TP can also sub-contract these work to 3rd party. Like they do with summons.

Maybe we can take up the case for them? Just look at the MX5 case Im sure we all had some affect on the case.

As for this case. WELL DONE to the witness aka passenger. Otherwise forever u cannot sleep in peace for sure.

As for the cab driver which company he from? He will no go visit him lah.....want to get killed izzit?

AS for GF should have gone out and drag the mazda driver away before it escalated to what it is. Is just wrong time wrong place....maybe the mazda driver....was very pissed for whatever reason and decided to take excessive action. Cab driver maybe same also.

Then again like what many ppl here say many cab drivers are A.SSholes. For me is 10/10.

Details of the case i dunno but what can the mazda driver do to make one to kill him. Anyway is not drama here. The cab driver is walking away....the mazda driver is DEAD. This is fact....what crap when ppl say....dramatised...what pinch of salt. NNB...the poor fellow is dead...for me....is a eye for an eye....law will at most jail him. For me I wish he will suffer the same sxxt and die. He will have KAMA!

Once again condolences to the mazda driver's family.

I also feel the cab driver is running becos he got something to hide. Like no licence or vocational licence or previously already have case. As he is only a relief driver. Many relief drivers no licence one.

In all fairness, taxi drivers are human beings out to make a decent living too, and not helped much by escalating diesel prices and increased taxi rentals too.

There are hundreds of thousands of taxis on the rd at all times and 'cos of their long hrs on the rd, some may end up being impolite on the rd.

Because some motorists are unhapppy with their encounters with taxi drivers, they condemn all taxi drivrs, which is wrong.

That taxi driver out there could be anyone's father, mother, spouse, sister or brother

May the Mazda driver rest in peace. [smallcry]

ST 14/5

EARLY yesterday, as women across the world celebrated motherhood, Mr Alex Lim's mother watched her son die.

The 30-year-old financial adviser had been in hospital since he was allegedly thrown off a taxi on April 9.

Despite multiple operations, he never regained consciousness.

Even if he had pulled through, he would probably have had to live with major disabilities.

The tragedy was the result of what started out as a minor traffic dispute on the night of April 9.

Mr Lim was driving his girlfriend home for dinner, but along Paterson Road, his red Mazda was involved in a minor collision with a taxi.

Both drivers then parked along Scotts Road and got out of their vehicles. An argument ensued.

Before it was resolved, cabby Lee Yuet Kong, who was carrying a passenger at the time, allegedly got back into his taxi and tried to drive off.

Mr Lim, wanting to get Lee's particulars, stood in front of the cab, but Lee reportedly drove away, throwing him onto the bonnet.

He later allegedly braked abruptly, causing Mr Lim to fall backwards and hit his head on the road.

Lee, a 68-year-old relief driver, has been charged with causing grievous hurt with a rash act.

As a result of the accident, Mr Lim's brain swelled so much that the pressure on his skull was believed to be more than six times that of a normal person.

After he was warded, doctors operated on the right side of his head and cut out part of his brain.

In a second operation, blood clots were removed from the left side.

After doctors told the family Mr Lim's vital signs were weakening on Saturday night, about 60 to 70 friends rushed to Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

He died two minutes after midnight, his girlfriend, 24-year-old Ms Yvonne Lin, said.

At the wake yesterday, a 24-year-old cousin of Mr Lim said: 'Deep down in our heart, he's won the battle, fighting for more than a month.

'He fought all the way until past midnight on Mother's Day. That's the best present he could give,' she said.

It is not known whether the charge Lee faces will be changed as a result of Mr Lim's death.

erm....there's something wrong here......... Alex Lim did came awake after the 3rd ops. His eyes did open n move his hand b4 he went back into the coma. Infact, Alex was recovering after the 3rd ops but infection came in......and took him away.........his body was cremanted this morning.

Yeah man how will the parents feel yr own flesh and blood gone

Has the 68 years old ah pek kenna charged yet

The taxi driver left singapore. Not sure if he left with good conscience or not. [lipsrsealed]

If the cabby has good conscience, then y when he's on bail, he paid additional 20K + to leave Singapore to go China with his WHOLE FAMILY FOR TOUR????

I agree with u. we need to be rational on the criticism on our cab driver. On the road, there are many taxi traveling 24/7 days and nights hence the probability of them being kena in accident and hated by other road users is high. Its not ez to drive for long hour on the road, esp spore road with full of jam, cars, roads, traffic light, hazard, idiotic drivers etc. Some more take a look at the traffic condition nowadays, everybody buy cars to jam up the road and this also affect their biz to some extend. As we know, cab driver hate traffic jam as they earn lesser with all the jam around the island. Maybe we can spare some thoughts on them and look at this matter in another prespective.

bro, ya......I now also cham.....I just known from my mum yesterday that Alex n I r long distance cousin........his grandparent n my grandparent is sibings..... i mean all this yrs, even in sec sch, we din know that we're releated....

Yes....already been charged but he deny all charges....n claims that he will engage a lawyer to fight the case

How could he be allowed to leave the country?

He may charbot and never come back to face the music!

[whip]

he can leave the country as long as he paid additional bond.....20K +

and his case is traffic offences not criminal case

Yeah man how will the parents feel yr own flesh and blood gone

Has the 68 years old ah pek kenna charged yet

Think on bail currently [:|]

As a parent myself, i can feel the pain which Bro Alex Lim's parent is going through [:(]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

if i am the cab driver i would chose to leave too.

so as not to let the family hear all the bad things. Not to stress them and also to destress myself too.

Staying in SG wun make things any better.

Well... on the bright side, it is better for Alex to passed on and to live but with major disabilities. Tha is worse then death if u ask me....

[reply]

Well... on the bright side, it is better for Alex to passed on and to live but with major disabilities. Tha is worse then death if u ask me....

I have seen my fare share of bed-ridden ppl...and i thoroughly agree with you.nod.gif

May Alex rest in peaceangel.gif