Boxster 2nd Gear May 25, 2007 Share May 25, 2007 If this is the case guranteed COE makes no sense.But so far I've seen 3 PI car dealers sales conditions only 1 write that they have the right to adjust the price due to increase in shipping, blah blah blah but not COE. If they don't deliver and return the deposit that is quite OK except your inconvinence w/o a car no point doing business with them. But I know a reasonable 'big' PI car dealer have guranteed and non guranteed package. The non guranteed package is the type which I call "Gurantee no COE" coz when COE was 12k the package's COE was peg to 10k and cannot be topped up. Seems that they want ppl to place a deposit so that they can get interest free loan for 3 mths. in that case, AD also same mah.. my wife's car bought during tht low time oso cannot get yet.. n from LARGEST AD in sing.. SE can say, u buy price low, wait for e car.. n also ask wanna top up for COE, can get car faster... strange thing.. but no one complain against AD, only complain PI.. scared AD sue?? I think you did not read carefully I am not complaining about PI ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Explorerii Neutral Newbie May 26, 2007 Share May 26, 2007 Me too ,I also have experience good service from one PI listed above. The one with 7 and 9 complains.My agreement with them is very simple. 4 bid guarantee COE no top up and one to one exchange for the trade in car. Thats all. Other FOC things also did not list down but all was promptly done swee swee. Car was collected last Saturday . Everything promised was nicely done. Delivery date also spot on . Petrol half tank. All in all hassle free and if change car, will buy from them again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carforun Neutral Newbie June 3, 2007 Share June 3, 2007 (edited) Actually, PI are good. They bring in the latest JDM cars. Increase competitions against the Agents so as consumers have more options. Good PI can deliver the cars really fast. Agents are typically quite slow, inflexible. But it's sad that PI have too much free play and some are really havocs and ended up in the infamous list. Edited June 3, 2007 by Carforun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viberzdae Neutral Newbie October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 no.. some PI dont bring in the cars lor.. they book from local wholesaler.. haha. bbut anyway, I have very bad experience with C*R*AX My 1k was forfeited. I am lodging a complain against them to get back my 1k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohdj Neutral Newbie October 16, 2007 Share October 16, 2007 bro... can ask you wat is price very steep and very cheap? well... honestly.. i dun think this report is really fair to the PIs... one thing for sure if they are so bad.. where got so many WISH or STREAMS and FIT on the road? I personally bought a Honda Fit from a PI and he told is no matter how high the COE go its 1 bid only for my car.. so i asked him.. how long do i have to wait for my storm grey fit? he say 2 weeks.. with bodykit, rims and sound system all in.. so honestly.. at that time i told myself.. i give you 1mth... haha.. make myself feel better first mah.. then 2 my surprise.. he called me today.. after 2 weeks.. i really got my car.. and everything is in order. Really impressed with them... so i think the report is not really showing the true picture.. for 1 thing i m sure.. the reports will give face to AD. share which PI leh. The SE? Price you paid? OMV? Your comments very give face to your PI...share share leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear October 16, 2007 Share October 16, 2007 Actually it all depends on what is the expectation of each party. It would be interesting if the data is available to see the demographic of those complainer. If the PI is not able to secure a loan for them, then they should go and get it from the banks or finance house themselves. And what was the "deal" said when they booked a car between them and PI ? I believe PI open door for business will not be so stupid to stoop so low to con them of the deposit of 500 to 1K. From a strict biz point of view, PIs dun return the deposit immediately cos they also dun wanna lose the customer. As long as they can hold their "monies" with them...client is still theirs and onus is on them to deliver. Unless the buyers wants to chicken out of the deal OR got a lagi better sweeter deal from someone else...then they will want out no matter what reasons the PI gives to retain them. Maybe there are those that really kenna taken for a ride by PIs can tell us what really happened. Cos a few of my friends who bought cars from PI did not have such problems....car was delivered on time...all promises were met. In short...rather painless lah. But they do have complain about the aftersales service....(which to me is to be expected...PI vs AD well equipped workshops) I just bought a car from Hua Yang....so far it has rather been painless...loan...insurance....COE etc...have been taken care by them...till now no problem yet lah. Let me see if they deliver the car to be by Nov...cos if they dun....they will have to provide me with a courtesy car till my car is delivered. I already know what is my chassis number....now just cross finger that COE tomorrow will kenna... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjkp Clutched October 16, 2007 Share October 16, 2007 I bought a Toyota from Chip Guan and was waiting for registration by end of month (as Promised) but receive call today that I could get it most likely by this week ! See ? Not all that bad lah ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evilernie 4th Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 I guess this could be due to the PI and something becos of the paper work which delay the handing over, end of the day, just have to be careful and request things to be written in black & white to safe guard the interest of both party. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hubwee Supercharged October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 Me also no problems lei . Brought a Rav4 from LEco , everything done nicely , no delays , no top up , delivery on time . Then this year , brought a Prado from V-NCAR , 3 door , pearl white , one bid COE , delivery 3 and half month as need to indent . Got my ride within 4 months . Not too bad la so both PI also good la . Think all depends on which PI you go to . Not all PI are bad or dishonest . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 wow dunno spore can be so "transparent" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wira 1st Gear March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 Hi Am looking around for a Toyota Harrier with CNG / Any PI to recommend ? appreciate the help. ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 (edited) Yahhhh I was quite surprised when my PI delivered the car on time as promised without any hassle or delay.... to you Guyver if you happen to read this. IMO when you do business with PI you are virtually unprotected. Dunno sign what contract or put what terms and conditions or whatever, doesn't change the fact that if the PI in particular want to play punk with you or run road, most of them time you can only lan-lan suck thumb when kaopeh-ing on an online forum. True, maybe the terms and conditions are in your favour and there is an obvious breach of contract on the part of the PI, blah blah blah - but do you have the time and resources to take the case all the way to court and fight it out? Don't forget the time and effort spent, as well as the related transaction costs you'll incurr when pursuing your case with the PI... if they really wanna play punk with you, they can really bleed you dry if they want to and drag out the case for as long as possible. At the end of the day you have everything to lose if you really do encounter a rogue PI. Unless there's anything to indicate a large scale case of fraud, the police isn't of much help as well... and i think most rogue PI are smart enough to not take it so far. So it's very important to do your research beforehand and not get seduced by the "best price" and all sort of offers and promises made before signing on the dotted line... and it's always best to fork out a little more for a guaranteed COE and compromise a little for ready stock models if possible.... cut the waiting time down as much as you can to minimize the risk that you'll get played out. Sad to say a lot of people aren't very well-acquainted with how civil law works and is applicable to their own interest in Singapore... a contract is virtually useless unless you are prepared to take it all the way to court... and the cost and hassle can be really high! Unless you're some towkay with your pet lawyer on hand to do everything for you... getting justice in a modern legal system that is skewed towards citizen control and marginalization (damn obvious which one im talking about right ), more likely than not you will end up on the losing end. Edited March 22, 2008 by Lightbringer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 I recommend Guyver! You can find him in the Merchant thread in this forum... just got our ride from him without any hiccups. Not sure if he does CNG conversion though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched March 23, 2008 Share March 23, 2008 IS there are statistics on complain against AD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fisher_man Neutral Newbie March 23, 2008 Share March 23, 2008 what car did you get from guyver ? how long is the waiting time for your car ? i am thinking about getting a car but the complaint cases really puts me off. yeah, CNG is a good option to have, thinking on long term. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear March 23, 2008 Share March 23, 2008 Got the Mark X from him... and it was roughly between 2 weeks to 3 weeks waiting time. But we chose the guaranteed COE and ready stock option lah. The faster the better, less chance for complications, hehe. You can find him in the merchant thread here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear March 23, 2008 Share March 23, 2008 The only thing I can suggest that if anyone have bad experience with PI...Just post the name & the SE in this forum and update all the time to warn others. But good one also must recommend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie March 23, 2008 Share March 23, 2008 Case said complaints against PI often pertain to a refusal to return deposits. Typically, the vendor assures consumers that they will have no problem obtaining car loans and ask them to pay a deposit for their cars. But when consumers find out that their loans are not approved, they are unable to get back the deposit. Other common grouses include delays - sometimes for months - in securing a COE. and more.... that's why the last time, I made them put down in writing 'Deposit to be refunded if loan based on x% interest not approved' then they wanted to pull a fast one. initial loan (lower interest) not approved. asked me take another loan which has higher interest. I refused and asked for refund. they say cannot and still say I will lose my deposit + pay penalty. I just asked them, loan of x% interest approved? No right? Not approved means not approved. no need to talk so much. if you don't return my deposit, I'll get a lawyer to get back my deposit. just put everything in writing. then won't have any dispute or discrepencies. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...