Yc86 Clutched May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Check this out... The short ans is to Run it Hard http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 what is the exact way to run in my car for the first 1000km ah? the ideal is not to run in a engine at a constant rpm, you need to vary the rpm, best is to redline a bit but don't stay there too long, it's not the duration but the frequency that counts, combine a bit of city and highway driving so that the engine can vary thru' out the rpm range. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Dat means CVT not easy to run in? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 what the.. cannot imagine people start revv-ing their car away the moment they collect from showroom.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackhouse Neutral Newbie May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 I'm running-in my car also. My SE reminded me not speed up to 90km/h during running-in period. But one of my colleagues who knows car a lot said, I should not start-stop engine very frequent. i.e. should keep it running for reasonable long time before stop. Not sure true or not. I found it's hard to follow, b'cos the distance between home and office is only 4km. BTW, if running-in gotta so complicated, why not auto makers do it for customers before delivery? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 (edited) some of my technically inclined friends told me the following for run in: 1. when collect car, immediately for 1st 100km or 200km (cannot remember actual distance), go malaysia, drive at consistant rpm.. can be 3000-4000, speed can be 120km/hr. but must make sure no big fluactuation of rpm like rabbit hop pickup, aggressive overtaking etc. then after 100km, immediately change new engine oil and oil filter. if you want to run in asap without the hassle of driving like a turtoise for 1000-2000km, then try the above method. but i kiasu.. i run in 2000km at around 2000rpm most of time.. pick up from stationery and cruising. that's what i stick to.. Edited May 29, 2007 by Chucky2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 (edited) For normal run in, jus vary your RPM not exceeding 3K though sometimes might accidently exceed a bit but not til red line lah for the 1st 1000Km Speed is not importantly Do an oil change at around 800km or 1000km then you can start to increase your RPM to 4,000 for a few ten clicks then to 5,000 for a few ten clicks, 6,000 til redline It's just like slowly break the virginity of your ride For hard run in, you may wanna immediately lut all the way once your ride is out of the collection centre This is jus like raping Edited May 29, 2007 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legendary Clutched May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 I dun really bother. Just drive normally (common sense driving) but dun whack the car hard. After 1,000 km, redline all the way ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prozac Clutched May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Check this out... The short ans is to Run it Hard http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm interesting link... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 what is the exact way to run in my car for the first 1000km ah? Try not to hard brake. Other than that, just drive as usual. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 what is the exact way to run in my car for the first 1000km ah? With so many conflicting views, it is best to follow the owner's manual. Owner's manual will say what you should NOT do. Other than that, you can do anyting. But many will interpret that if manual did not say, means cannot do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Check this out... The short ans is to Run it Hard http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm True enuf...I have quite a no of friends who told me the same thing too. Some are even mechanics & they say it is fine so long we dun high rev the car constantly. Ocassional revving still fine & harmless. But not so for my bro-in-law who is really a slave to his car. Since new, his car not even hit 4k rpm. 2 yrs into ownership already & not even a small little dent...really kow tow & kudos to him for scouting a good fengshui parking lot everytime as he really got the patience & time. Very kan chiong spider everytime he drive, when reach 2.5krpm, he straight away let go throttle then step again so that car quickly change gear...long journey sure vomit & car sick if in his car. For me from collection centre, it is normal driving up till now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 (edited) But not so for my bro-in-law who is really a slave to his car. Since new, his car not even hit 4k rpm. I think his ride sure 'Diao' alot of carbon inside Never lut is also unhealthy for the ride Edited May 29, 2007 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Dat means CVT not easy to run in? if 4 speed then just go thru' L, 2, D then OD, just like driving manual like that lor go down slope from ECP to Rochor, just switch off OD, then from D down to 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 I'm running-in my car also. My SE reminded me not speed up to 90km/h during running-in period. But one of my colleagues who knows car a lot said, I should not start-stop engine very frequent. i.e. should keep it running for reasonable long time before stop. Not sure true or not. I found it's hard to follow, b'cos the distance between home and office is only 4km. BTW, if running-in gotta so complicated, why not auto makers do it for customers before delivery? got, if you buy Porsche, Ferrari, Lambo, Lotus, BMW M3, M5, Benz AMG and many other high rev, high BHP cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear May 29, 2007 Share May 29, 2007 Agree...sure it is unhealthy. But u see no point explianing to ppl who treats their cars like precious gems. Actually so much so for proper run in discussions. Before we know it, our cars have all been driven by the ppl from the logistics company in the port. If u see the way they drive, u will forget about what proper run in already. They have already run in our cars for us. Cheers.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 30, 2007 Share May 30, 2007 Agree Bro That's why most of our rides are already 'Pre Run In' before they are handed over to us by our SEs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear May 31, 2007 Share May 31, 2007 I find that a hard running in tends to allow the piston to seal better thus improving power. Totally agree. In fact the initial 50km is the most crucial for running in. It will read ur driving pattern. In fact a lot of ppl got midlead into thinking driving at low rpms and slow speeds is the right way but actually the opposite. You know the correct method. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...