Yuan 6th Gear October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Hi Gimmy, after reading through all your posts, I can understand your concerns. To me, if a person post such advertisements and sell over the net and I met him and he confirmed that the stuff is genuine, I will take it from there. In the event that the product is discovered to be fake or somehow one party to the transaction has misrepresented the other party, there is cause for concern and a course for further legal actions. There is always a risk to every transaction we take, be it sellers through advertisements or even authorized dealers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Dear Sir, I know that there is risk involved. all we need is just once, one good mis hap, Excess Wear and tear will be involved, new car will have an OLD engine. If really want to test , we need to take out the piston and check meausure how much MICRO meter has it wear abnormally. We take risk all the time when we are buying stuff, a book , a maganize , a newspaper, the Damage done will not be so impactful. But a Car engine.. the significant damange could be done , how can i risk it? Over haul Engine is how much? That is how I weigh it. I might seems paranoid, in my post , but I have legitimate reason for that, well. In there makert there are too many fakes and recycled Engine Oil. SOmetimes I do not know the work shop are blinded by the cheap engine oil they can get and high profit they can sell their customer. If they are being CON , we as end - user do not need to say. We all have heard stories before of HORRIBLE Workship that do not integrity , and ask you to change a lot of parts say this spoil and that spoil. I will go for 2nd opinion then can save more money. I personally have experience in a paint job issue, I go for a few quote from diff shops , shops from AMK Auto point, Shops from UBi, shops from Yishun Industrial ESTATE, and shops from PAndan loop. All quote me different prices, ranging from 200 - 800. Why like this... ? that means among these shops have some crocodile right? This is just my opinion. Cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Hi Gimmy, noted your concerns and I am glad to have someone like you to share your concerns for our car engines. How nice of you to do that. By the way, no need to be so formal and call me sir..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Hi, what cheap 5w20 are you using? I'm also interested. Hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 last time there was only RP 5w20, then schaeffers appeared Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant13 Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Dear sir, I fully understand your concern and I dont blame you for being so careful with your car. Of course, you had your rights to chose. Just to clarify, this oil is just my sideline. Being a salesman, one of my close client happens to be the authorised distributor for ELF and TOTAl products. Hes willing to sell me privately at a competitive price for my car servicing. After using this oil, I find it really good and decided to share this lobang among the forums and make some small money. I cant provide any letter because I am just a private seller. I cant afford to register a company just because I wanna sell this one product! Moreover, I dont earn big bucks over these and wish no trouble. I think pple whom bought from me will koe whether is the oil good. Please buy from me only if you trust me. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 (edited) Dear Sir, Since you justify the authenticity of your Source of Oil, I appreciate it. Pardon me for being direct and blunt on the other RISK factor. Dun mind me saying further. In my opinion , it is like buying IBM Laptop without Warranty. 1) You buy from your Client, as a personally LEVEL. Anything goes wrong with your Engine... Your client as an Authorised Dealer can help you make claims from Elf manufacturer. 2) Since he sell that to you, and You Re-sell that to your side line Customers. If anything goes wrong with their (side line client) Engine, like seriously over hauled. Their Warranty from KAH MOTOR or MOTOR Image Void etc. Would you be able to ensure your Client (Supplier) will be able to do all the claims from ELF manufacturer for all your Side Line Customers? 3) IF really things goes wrong, and the fire start burning, will you stay or will you 跑路 is still a Question mark. Nobody knows the answer, majority of people before the fire burn, will stay " I shall never run one, lah. blah blah blah" But when the real things happen nobody knows. You have mentioned [Moreover, I dont earn big bucks over these and wish no trouble.] 4)I would rather deal with your Client who is the Authorised Dealer, and pay a bit more I dun mind as I am Elf user, Even as a Brand Loyalty user, I will make claim when my loyal brand SPOIL my engine. (Who knows manufacturing got BATCH problem ) -- This is common in the electronics industry, genuine mistake from manufacturer) Mercedes Benz A-Class was recalled when they have issue with the handling, at corner they over turn. They were recalled and end users are being compensated in one form or another. This is what I called ASSURANCE. No offence to you, I am direct when I address real issue and real stuff and real risk Factor. You are just doing your part of making a living, You will always have customer who interested in buying special prices Elf Engine Oil. Unfortunately assurance of warranty does not have enough strength in this case. I am just addressing the ISSUE, nothing personal. As I always stand on consumer side. Very disappointed ..... CASE TRUST .. of Singapore is Quite Lousy, have lousy experiences with them. So no choice, as consumers we need to protect ourselves first. Cheers Gimmy Edited October 22, 2007 by Gim_ong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Defelio Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Disclaimer I am not here to re- published any material which is not mine and my own IP for my personal gain. I will not post any material which is the Intellectual Property of others without giving reference. I am here standing on the consumer side. To protect , to educate, to serve the consumers out of good will. I hereby pledge to post all knowledge that I have acquire via the course of personal re-search and ultimately wants to benefits the Car loving Consumers to make a wiser purchase. Archive Sin Ming Daily 18 July 2006 Eh Bro, can translate and sum up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 but Trex bring in 5w30 & 5w40 only for schaeffers leh.. actually at $11/quart is very attractive, cheaper than Amsoil which is at $13/q for 5w20 n $15 for 0w20. how does schaeffers compare to amsoil? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 (edited) dear "dear sir", just my opinion, no offence hor: u r either being too careful or being too paranoid. we r talking abt engine oil here. I agree that fakes r rampant overseas (i'm frm overseas btw so I know abt the whole issue), the examples that u give is a way off topics here. u sound like e world is such a dangerous place. u Need to chill and unwind a little lah.. by the way, I found it very amusing that u keep addressing others "sir" all the time. we r not a ang moh 'gentleman' society . I think it sounds rather weird instead of polite.. Edited October 22, 2007 by Chucky2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyberet Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 thats the schaeffers #9000 is it? schaeffers #7000 is $9.25 per quart amsoil should be better, haven't try with UOA yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 (edited) Dear Mr Chuck Sorry about being Wierd as u find me,... I address my fellow Brothers in MCF with "Dear Sir, " because I felt that I should repect others I believe the both the Chinese language and English have their beauty in them. In Mandrin we addresses as 先生。 I do it out of mutual respect. Cheers Gimmy Edited October 23, 2007 by Gim_ong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 (edited) Dear Sir, Do you mean the news paper article? IF u are refering to the news paper atricle summary, 1) KL police busted a chain of Syndicate 2) They Sell Recycle Engine Oi. Just go through oil Filter --> till Old Engine oil colour looks new. 3) Repackage it in " Famous Brand" Engine Oil bottle and sell. 4) Engine Oil Spare part shops are selling these imitations, because they do not know how to differentiate. They are the victim as well. 70 % of imitation is in the market. 5) Bad guys earn approximate SGD $15 per bottle. Disclaimer The above is summary is accoriding to my own understand, I do not profess to be the Chinese language Expert. PLease get a second opinion. Well according to the New paper article, that explain , why the Engine is ranging from RM$40 - $50, I went there recently, intending to buy some air - filter or even spark plugs. After reading the article , i have decided not to buy any Engine Oil from any of the Spare part shops or accessories shop up north, they may have some 'OLD' stock they are trying to get rid. Well there is not such things as RECALL back to manufacturer. The only way is to ambush innocence consumer who have no IDEA and sell cheap to get rid of them. Especially who are impulse buyer, buy at the cheapest price. These category of consumer, they ready to be CUT " Cai Tow" anytime. JUST my thought If you got cheated, then you know it now... why are u hurting your customer? Shouldn't you stop selling them to protect your Business reputation? Cheers Gimmy Edited October 23, 2007 by Gim_ong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 (edited) hi guys ... how to ...... upload pictures,,,, Within Text?? Up load but.. one kind one. nmmind... I go and post it another place later in the even... Cheers Gimmy Edited October 29, 2007 by Gim_ong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elstinka Neutral Newbie October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 Hi guys, sorry to ask this question. Whats the difference if i use a 0W30, 5W30 or a 10W30 oil? i knw the first number represents the wt of oil at 0 degrees or something. But does the first number have any real effect on our cars in our climate? Am i right to say it doesnt make any difference for us S'poreans. Kindly enlighten me. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear October 30, 2007 Share October 30, 2007 the first number refers to Winter (hence the W), you are correct, it is the viscosity of the oil at 0 degrees Fahrenheits. technically there is no effect as we do not have that kind of temperatures here. BUT, having a lower Winter viscosity generally means the oil is able to flow more easily when you first start the engine. this is also when most engine wear occurs. at the end of the day, there are many factors to consider when choosing an engine oil to suit your needs/car. there's no one right or wrong solution. everyone has different opinion. try to Google "BITOG" - loads of info there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie November 10, 2007 Share November 10, 2007 hi guys ... According to this link I cannot find SHOGUN Engine Oil, OWS Engine Oil, and even REV X is not Register with the link http://eolcs.api.org/FindBrandByViscosity....iscosity=10W-30 Just a question Since some of the Engine Oil DOES not have the Licence by EOLS How come they can put in the API standard in their packaging? After this I realized that even HONDA and Toyota are registered. Toyota one is TRD. I wonder the Redline is registered under EOLS? Could anyone share some light... how can the OFF the Shelf , Engine Oil like Shogun , OWS , Rev X etc Print their API standard on their Packaging when they are not even certified? eg : http://x-lube.com/All%20frames.htm Cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear November 10, 2007 Share November 10, 2007 It seems that words are OK but not the official API donut or starburst. This has been around for a very long time. Perhaps now you why I post and ask whether the engine oil has API donut or starburst printed! Just some information, check if the engine oil from Mobil and Shell stations have these logos. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...