Chucky2007 Turbocharged October 19, 2007 Share October 19, 2007 I dun use shell n mobil anymore, whether they cost $100 or $30 for 4litres.. I rather spend $60 on amsoil, or $80+ on Redline or $100 on Motul. I dun bother with this whole recycle oil story.. maybe true or myths.. doent affect me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie October 19, 2007 Share October 19, 2007 Congratulations YOu just found the Engine Oil that suits your Car at its best. whether Recycled Oil is truth or Myth, the ultimate goal is to treat our cars with Care and pride. Cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie October 19, 2007 Share October 19, 2007 Just a warning, even Malaysians themselves dare not even buy those brand oil. They rather travel to Sg and pay more for it. Just do a search in autoworld forums and you will understand how deep the problem is in Malaysia of imitation oil. Good to see that they are people that understand the Recycled and Fake Oil issue in this thread. Cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged October 19, 2007 Share October 19, 2007 bro, I dun believe in theory of certain oil suits certain car better. I believe in using well-known international brand, with good test reports. I choose the oil base on the reports. that's y I dun us shell.. hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lube Neutral Newbie October 19, 2007 Share October 19, 2007 U mean Shell are not well-known international brand? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 19, 2007 Share October 19, 2007 The current promo for Shell Helix Ultra 5w40 is $47.20 @ NTUC Hougang Point not $47.92 Anyway still lots of Authorised Workshop using Shell Helix Ultra.Can get Amsoil & Castrol @ $48-$60? u can get regular Amsoil for $52 for 4quart, pay $60 can get amsoil extended life oil, it's damn worth it bec the oil is still very good when I change at 12000km+, in fact I felt I waste good oil when I change out at 12000+km. for SHU, I have no comment. I can only say I dun use this oil anymore for past 80000km after I tried other brands. Whether Amsoil or any other brand, they usually don't stay in my car for more than 5K. Last 2 oil used were Redline 10W30 and Amsoil OW30. Now I'm using Ultraman 5W30. To me, engine oil needs not be expensive. Don't have to buy expensive brands and wish to use it as long as possible. Since someone mentioned that cars are precious to us, so no need to save this kind of money just pamper the car lor. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie October 20, 2007 Share October 20, 2007 Agree with you .... that We should not use Engine Oil for too long.. anyway .. every 5 K ... Change Engine Oil. instead of the Recommended 10 K (Syn Oil) In the process of doing that... i will not use 2nd class Engine Oil. I am paying a little more for a better Lube, Mobil 1 Gold Orignal cost SGD$115.00 Pay a little more, change Engine Oil more often, So that Do not have Headache in the long run. Cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie October 20, 2007 Share October 20, 2007 I agree with you , man.. Shell Hylix Unltra , sux... How is the Ultraman Lube .... that you are using>? Cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged October 20, 2007 Share October 20, 2007 bro, u pay much more on matkups if u buy mobil n shell in workshops here. if u r paying S$115 for mobil go d 0w40, then consider using Redline 5w20,5w30 or 5w40, around $80+ for near 4litres. Redline is 1 of the best oil brand around giving solid protection, proven on test papers to be much more superior than mobil. do a search on redline, dun believe me, believe facts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 20, 2007 Share October 20, 2007 bro, u pay much more on matkups if u buy mobil n shell in workshops here. if u r paying S$115 for mobil go d 0w40, then consider using Redline 5w20,5w30 or 5w40, around $80+ for near 4litres. Redline is 1 of the best oil brand around giving solid protection, proven on test papers to be much more superior than mobil. do a search on redline, dun believe me, believe facts. Let's put it this way they are all good oil. Up to 5K, they are all sama sama. I'm not brand loyalist, anyway. Redline is good, no doubt about it but for common drivers, other known brands are just as good. Redline is good for those who can appreciate it. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lube Neutral Newbie October 20, 2007 Share October 20, 2007 Wow Pay a little more, change Engine Oil more often Most drivers prefer Pay a little less for a Semi or Synthetic Oil if possible change Engine Oil more often.....U are opposite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie October 20, 2007 Share October 20, 2007 Dear Sir, I believe, in feeding good stuff in my Engine. Many driver prefer to pay less, I have a news paper article on the KL police , stomp the FAKE Engine syndicate group. I am looking for a scanner so that I can post the NEWs up for the brothers here to see. So Cheap does not mean it is good. This is something always happen in Asia, look at all those imitation LV and Prada, you can get in Bangkok. and KL . It is because of the Mindset of Asia, that is the reason why IMITATION prosper. Just want to buy cheap and throw. However our car is not cheap in Singapore, and we cannot throw anyhow. therefore I do not use lousy products. AS for as I am concern , my ride is my wife. CAr is like Woman, If you do not treat them well, They will KA* Pe Kao B* Some times they throw temper, you do not even know what happen? YOu need to bring them to their IN LAWS(Car workshop) and they will tell you what happen. I never wants to feed inferior stuff, I will spend on Engine... but the cosmetic is not something that i will be concern. I can have sxxt car ... look damn ... lousy ... but my Engine must be top notch condition. Engine overhaul cost how much ? Car Look ... Crap, just go for re-spray ... go JB pay them RM $1000. Get a new looking Car. Just a thought cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gim_ong Neutral Newbie October 20, 2007 Share October 20, 2007 http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i:ELF%20En...0nett:236217710 I think this guys is selling Elf that is from BATAM, Carry in from BATAM. Well, I saw the prices in Batam , it is the range bettwen SGD $30-40. per 4 litre. I went last month I went for a spin on Malaysia NS high way last week, stop by Malacca, when to see Car accessories maybe can buy some stuff, U saw ELF is selling from the range RM$ 40-50 per 4 litre. Maybe we should clarify the sources. Very simple, if you use engine oil that are not from the correct source, Anything goes wrong in your car then ... ha ha.... You can claim from no one. It is like buying ROLEX from Sincre Watch Co and buying Rolex from Bangkok Flea market. If Engine Goes KAPUT... Who are you going to look for? Just a risk people here have to weigh. To save a bit of money maybe max save $50 , per Engine Oil change. OR Engine Break down, PAY more than 20K. maybe after that you may consider to Scrap your car. Just a thought for the Bros here to think about. Cheers Gimmy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lube Neutral Newbie October 21, 2007 Share October 21, 2007 In that case u must always go to Mobil Petrol Kiosk and buy the Most Expensive and comfirm REAL Mobil 1 @ $115+ / bottles that will be geniune and not recycle oil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear October 21, 2007 Share October 21, 2007 (edited) But got API donut or starburst or not? Edited October 21, 2007 by Kklee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lube Neutral Newbie October 21, 2007 Share October 21, 2007 Are u refering to Shell Helix at NTUC Xtra? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear October 21, 2007 Share October 21, 2007 Mobil? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged October 21, 2007 Share October 21, 2007 Most drivers prefer Pay a little less for a Semi or Synthetic Oil if possible change Engine Oil more often.....U are opposite he probably plans to keep his "wife" for 20yrs or more but seriously, i wonder how many engines need overhauls within 10yrs even though they use manufacturer-recommended type of engine oil & oil/filter change interval. kiasi & kiasu is usually nobody's business but it's just not environmentally friendly to waste engine oil like that. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...