Engine Oil

Archon

cars cannot tune one la. unless you have an after market ECU. any mech that says he tune is the biggest BS king.

Too general of a statement....shakehead.gif Carburattor engine can be tuned, even I sometime fiddle with the idling rpm or adjust the rpm when air-con kicks-in. wink.gif

=======================

Aiyah bro, don't ask newbie to fiddle with his engine. Wait he adjust wrongly then engine kaput. Our cars using carb so can play a little lah. [sly]

Their cars all using ECU leh. [nod]

hi,

All I did was to inform the guy that my fuel consumption was bad and he replied that he will do some tuning. Upon completion, the job statement indicated a certain "consult tuning".

My case was that FC for 1k & 5k servicing was pretty good @ 15km/l. However, after the 10k servicing the FC dropped to around 13, 14km/l. So I just reflect to the service centre about the case during servicing.

If there is no such thing as engine tuning, then it must be the oil i used (10W30) at 20k that helped my fc. still in my 1st tank after servicing last week. travelled 500km and indicator at last quarter. so maybe this tank can travel close to 600km. (70% HW) Will continue to monitor. pirate.gif

Cheers.

Did you managed to see how your mechanic tune your engine? For mine (old engine) I understand that by adjusting (turn) the distributor which is located at one side of the engine near the valves train, it can advanced or retard the timing.....not sure does this works on newer engines....

=====================

U trying to make him itchy issit??? [sly]

u should go getz club and ask them.. anyway i have stopped using Shell Helix many years ago. Mobil 1 also not often..using them are a waste of good $$. too much better oil at lower prices. search around engine oil discussion in this forum and u will get what i mean.

========================

[nod][nod][nod][nod][nod]

hi guys just reading up through the thread. wonder if any getz owners here on shell helix / mobile syn engine oil? any recommendations? thanks!

FYI, KMC uses shell oils if you service with them.

If i did not remember reading the manual wrongly, you should be looking at somewhere between 0-5w30-40 range.

Bro, Thanks for the reply first.

But my car oredi after 1K service. Now mileage is ard 1500km. do you mind to tell when the fully run-in will be completed?

My 1st tank (36 liter) after 1K only run 374km, FC=10.4km/l (20% HW).

Now my 2nd tank run 146km (50% HW), the needle is pointing at 62.5%. If continue like that, in the end I can only get ard 10.8km/l. I don't know how other Latio could declare those nice looking FC. For my case, Latio really sucks! [thumbsdown]. Very regret to choose Latio, should buy Sunny or even Korea car. (no offend to Korea car owner).

Can ask TCM change to the 10W30 for my car?

Many factors contribute to the FC reading.

give it another few months as the engine oil smooth out. You should better reading then.

can anyone recommend any good engine oil for FC for latio

Hi Bro,

Do you mind to share your Latio FC & Mileage? Since you are looking for good engine oil? Jus wonder whether you are suffering from the same FC problem as me?

Normally after 10K km is fully run-in. Wait till then & check your FC again.

Another thing is your tyre pressure, type of tyre, alignment, wheel balancing, brakes & wheel bearings. All these also have an effect on your FC.

If after run-in u still have lousy FC, maybe u can have these things checked too.

Edited by Pisces69

hi,

All I did was to inform the guy that my fuel consumption was bad and he replied that he will do some tuning. Upon completion, the job statement indicated a certain "consult tuning".

My case was that FC for 1k & 5k servicing was pretty good @ 15km/l. However, after the 10k servicing the FC dropped to around 13, 14km/l. So I just reflect to the service centre about the case during servicing.

If there is no such thing as engine tuning, then it must be the oil i used (10W30) at 20k that helped my fc. still in my 1st tank after servicing last week. travelled 500km and indicator at last quarter. so maybe this tank can travel close to 600km. (70% HW) Will continue to monitor. pirate.gif

Cheers.

Did you managed to see how your mechanic tune your engine? For mine (old engine) I understand that by adjusting (turn) the distributor which is located at one side of the engine near the valves train, it can advanced or retard the timing.....not sure does this works on newer engines....

=====================

U trying to make him itchy issit??? sly.gif

laugh.gif No lah, just curious if new engines can be tuned that way....rolleyes.gif

check your manual to see what's the minimum weight oil your car can use.

it should be w30 or even w20.

using the lower weight will give a bit more power and slightly better fuel consumption.

Hi all

My kia cerato is due for 40k svc soon.

will be a major svc as need to chge these:

engine oil

oil filter

gear oil

fuel filter

spark plugs

air filter

brake fluid

coolant

any idea where to get engine oil and gear oil of reasonable quality and price ?

thanks.

hi,

I just done my 10k svc for Rio 06 outside workshop using OWS oil and OWS double Iridium spark plug. Now car feel very light and engine rev not so rough. FC seem like same, need to monitor further. [:)]

guys, like to ask if there's any issue with using Mobil-1 5w30 mix with 5w40? Same brand but different viscosity boleh?

k tks! cos got 2 quarts of 5w30 left and my engine need abt 3L so need to buy another quart so tot of getting 0w40 to 'balance up' the less viscous 5w30. :)

Edited by Orixy