Is sound proofing the car a road hazard?

Tiek

Thinking of doing sound proofing to my car.. but I'm afraid that it masks out so much of the surrounding noise that you can't hear horns coming your way.

What do u folks think?

I think that it is quite impossible to soundproof a normal car such that you cannot hear a car horn from outside. The glass windows and windshield will still transmit sound.

hmm.. dun tink so .. i mean as a road hazard... if not how the high end cars would be dangerous to drive rite... [sweatdrop]

anyways how this sound proofing thing works.... sounds good idea to do to my ride too.. [laugh]

Road hazard ?

You add weight to your car = consume more gas = not environmental friendly.

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Just do it lah bro

Thinking of doing sound proofing to my car.. but I'm afraid that it masks out so much of the surrounding noise that you can't hear horns coming your way.

What do u folks think?

dun worry if ur whole car do sound proofing still can heard out vehicle sound or horn one becos sound proofing cant totally masks out all the outside environment sound.

What do u folks think?

A lot more hype than actual reduction in noise.

Too many people making too many claims that don't really measure up.

I don't think whatever you are planning would mask out that much noise.

Which SP material/installer are you using?

I've done double insulation on my doors and wheel arches etc... couldn't really feel any improvement....

only improvement was that doors closed with a bit... only a bit... more resounding "whoomp"

hi bro,

i 100% agree wif Slowleg. i was thinking exactly when i read your initial post.

may i ask wat was promised to you ? pls dun expect fanatastic amt reduction... if at most 10% difference before and after is very very good liao... mine before and after results are about 7% diff. using double layer RaaMat BXT60. measurement done using a SPL meter, immed before and after sound proofing.

those sellers claiming 50 ~ 60 % improvement, pls ask to show proof of their claims.

mice

Agree with you. I find a lot of claims of great/super improvement are more a hype. SP will help, especially of you are into ICE, cos it help to reduce vibration. But to say that SP turn a noisy car into one which is so very quiet. In fact most noise comes thru glass, door gap, moving parts such as suspension, wheel, etc via the body, etc. SP the door, floor, roof, boot, etc are just a very small aspect to make a quiet car.

Edited by Silver_blade

cannot hear horn never mind. you will hear the "BANG" sound for sure. [laugh]

agree, long tio wu sia. [laugh]

What do u folks think?

no matter how much u sound proof yr car, u will still hear car horn, dun worry. remember yr windsreen, back window, passenger windows are made of glass and u cannot soundproof them.

the only time u cannot hear car horn is: WHEN U BLAST YR I.C.E MAX.. with or without additional sound proofing...

moral of the story, if u wanna hear car horn, dun blast yr car stereo

I tink u shud just save your $$$ and get a Lexus.

Or the cheapest way is to get yourself ear mufflers and wear them when u drive. Sound proofing your ears are cheapest. [laugh]