Cumzilla 4th Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 3 lanes, turning right at junction, box lane marking draw on road somemore, i wonder why some idiots can still drift into the other lanes while turning, encounter this many times and always check left and right to ensure these idiots dont langa onto yr side... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 i know this type of driver exist so i am always looking out for those while i'm turning also, and normally HORN them till they go back to their own lane while keeping a safe distance.. Horning them so that they learn while in shock... they will remember to keep to their own lane as shock will embed this newfound reflex instinct onto their brain better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 I think these people have problems keeping to their own lanes while driving straight so what can you expect from they while they are turning? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mach Clutched July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 A lot of Singaporean drivers have poor lane discipline and/or cannot think ahead. Eg If they need to keep left after the turn, they should take the outside turning lane, but many prefer to turn "wide" instead and eat into other people's lanes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncp91 1st Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 I will try to use either the extreme left or right turning lane so that I only need to watch one side of the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 It is normal. Usually I keep a lookout for such drivers.... Apparently this seemed to be a bad habit for many drivers..... They drive and filter into such lanes "out of convenience". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumzilla 4th Gear July 2, 2007 Author Share July 2, 2007 (edited) its not so bad when they filter just before completion of the turn, its the "drift" in the midst of turning that u have to look out for cos its kinda hard to check both sides while turning as compared to going straight... Edited July 2, 2007 by Cumzilla Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 drift out a bit still not so bad, this morning i was at this right turn junction where both lane 1 & 2 can turn right. As we are turning into a 2 lane road, the extreme right car should keep to the right, but instead she actually cut in front of me, into the left lane. at the same junction on different occasion, when i was in the extreme right, a car on my left again cut into my lane while turning and guess what? both drivers happen to be female Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed2win2 Neutral Newbie July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 This is common when the 3 turning lanes is going into 5 lane road like those exiting from expressway. The middle turning lane suppose to move into lane 4 but tend to shift into lane 2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 Agreed with you. It is more harder or some might say more challenging when it happens in the midst of turning instead of straight roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iceshelterx Neutral Newbie July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 well just remember!!! at junction look at car beside you... not the ladies standing/crossing under traffic light. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear July 2, 2007 Share July 2, 2007 Not onli women do that, men also. Rem kena 2 time at same location, i was in 2 right turning lane after paya lebar MRT (turn right into Geylang). This idiot (abt 30-40yr) was on the extreme right lane, green light and we start to move, this bloody idiot just cut into my lane despite me blasting my horn. i had to brake to avoiding kena from him and this idiots just drive off. forget his license plate but he is in silver camry. 2nd incident is taxi (exactly same scenerio) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bossbthk Clutched July 3, 2007 Share July 3, 2007 erh plz dun hate me if im wrong ... normally if got 2 lane to turn ... i prefer take the left lane ... then coz got 2 lane to choose later ... either take the extreme left or the centre lane ... ( mostly will take left lane coz later need left turn or wat ... ) --> coz in car training take extreme right lane then muz slowly cut left... sibeh SHAG ... lazy to do so much work .... if 1 lane turn ... should be better ... can choose lanes ... and sometimes i check no cars behind me ... i will maybe from extreme right cut to left lor ... is this okie ??? but have u ever consider this scene BUS on your left .. turn right tgt ... then got one car infront super slow ... u cant out accelerate the bus then bus always take more turning radius ...then i forever scare bus will hit me mah... i agree with the above brother ... such behaviour like changing lanes when turning ... super S-hole sia ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear July 3, 2007 Share July 3, 2007 Or the lady driver inside the car.....Haha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwchan 1st Gear July 3, 2007 Share July 3, 2007 anyone tried the 4 lanes left turn junction from Marymount lane going up to Lornie road flyover? http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel...&level=5?190,46 There are markings that drawn on the road to tell the driver which lane to go to, but no one ever following the markings as those on extreme left will immediate filter right to go up the flyover. Thus everyone else on lane 2, 3 and 4 are forced to shift one lane to the right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 3, 2007 Share July 3, 2007 Hold on to ur horn when turning, then everyone will turn properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blu_g Neutral Newbie July 3, 2007 Share July 3, 2007 Ya.. I always keep to my own lane n there r always idiot who eat into my lane! Always have to watch out for them.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched July 3, 2007 Share July 3, 2007 Speaking of poor lane-discipline, I once encountered an incident in a roundabout. I was going towards the ECP from Parkway Parade, so as you all know, there's a roundabout you'd have to take before turning into Amber Road, then to ECP. Now, this particular roundabout has no lane markings, but has 3 lanes ENTERING from PP, with 2 lanes EXITING to Amber Road, Amber Gardens & Marine Parade Road (each). In other words, the innermost lane of the roundabout is for those who wish to stay in it till their desired exit. I was on the center "lane" & there was this silver Mazda on my right. As I was about to exit the roundabout into Amber Road, this Mazda driver decided to exit as well & just cut into my lane without so much as a flash of the signal light. Not surprisingly, I jammed on my brakes but still got hit. I horned the Mazda driver & we both stopped at the side of the road to assess the damage. A lady emerged from the car & the first thing I asked was : "Mdm, do you HONESTLY THINK that you can just exit the roundabout from the rightmost lane without even signaling & checking for cars?!" Guess what her response was? "Why not? It's a roundabout what!" Argued with her for a short while before we decided to exchange details & contact each other regarding the damages. I decided on a private settlement as all my car suffered was just a small paint nick at the edge of my front right wheel well. Her car on the other hand, had no damage as it was her rear left mud guard that caught my fender. A QUALIFIED driving license holder can vehemently insist that turning out from a roundabout's innermost lane is "nothing wrong since it's a roundabout", makes me wonder how this kind of people managed to get through our supposedly stringent driving tests! Oh, the end of the story was this lady got her husband to call me later that evening. He was another one, insisting that his wife did nothing wrong & refused to pay for the damage. He told me to just go IDAC & claim insurance, even though he was SURE that the claim against her would be refuted. Loving hubby huh? No matter. In the end I just informed him that I was in a gracious mood & that I'll let his wife off. No point blowing up the whole thing over issues like this & wasting my time on this kind of people. Sorry for the long rant. I guess this underscores my distaste of how some Singaporeans have no common sense, basic courtesy, as well as total disregard of other road users. Simple things like staying in lane, checking blindspot & signaling also so hard to do? Qualified drivers my @ss. I'd take 2 L-platers sandwiching me on the road any day. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...