Poor turning at junction

Cumzilla

lor chuan to braddel road is one good example

morning see a lot of cockanathans who like to drift 3 lane

best drift up the kerb and kiss the bus stop

What ticks me is that these are basic requirements EVERY driver should have, be it new or experienced. Signaling is the first & foremost basic thing, but how many people actually do it?

Oh, BTW, any taxi drivers out there, PLEASE know that your taxi's hazard lights are not almighty, possibly even mightier than God (sorry, don't mean it as blasphemy). It doesn't mean that with your hazard lights on half a second before you hit the brakes, the world stops revolving for a minute & everything else freezes. We NEED reaction time too. While you guys are out there trying to make an honest living, don't forget the lives of other road users are also hanging in the balance. [;)]

Speaking of poor lane-discipline, I once encountered an incident in a roundabout.

I was going towards the ECP from Parkway Parade, so as you all know, there's a roundabout you'd have to take before turning into Amber Road, then to ECP. Now, this particular roundabout has no lane markings, but has 3 lanes ENTERING from PP, with 2 lanes EXITING to Amber Road, Amber Gardens & Marine Parade Road (each). In other words, the innermost lane of the roundabout is for those who wish to stay in it till their desired exit.

I was on the center "lane" & there was this silver Mazda on my right. As I was about to exit the roundabout into Amber Road, this Mazda driver decided to exit as well & just cut into my lane without so much as a flash of the signal light. Not surprisingly, I jammed on my brakes but still got hit. I horned the Mazda driver & we both stopped at the side of the road to assess the damage. A lady emerged from the car & the first thing I asked was : "Mdm, do you HONESTLY THINK that you can just exit the roundabout from the rightmost lane without even signaling & checking for cars?!"

Guess what her response was? "Why not? It's a roundabout what!"

Argued with her for a short while before we decided to exchange details & contact each other regarding the damages. I decided on a private settlement as all my car suffered was just a small paint nick at the edge of my front right wheel well. Her car on the other hand, had no damage as it was her rear left mud guard that caught my fender.

A QUALIFIED driving license holder can vehemently insist that turning out from a roundabout's innermost lane is "nothing wrong since it's a roundabout", makes me wonder how this kind of people managed to get through our supposedly stringent driving tests!

Oh, the end of the story was this lady got her husband to call me later that evening. He was another one, insisting that his wife did nothing wrong & refused to pay for the damage. He told me to just go IDAC & claim insurance, even though he was SURE that the claim against her would be refuted. Loving hubby huh? No matter. In the end I just informed him that I was in a gracious mood & that I'll let his wife off. No point blowing up the whole thing over issues like this & wasting my time on this kind of people.

Sorry for the long rant. I guess this underscores my distaste of how some Singaporeans have no common sense, basic courtesy, as well as total disregard of other road users. Simple things like staying in lane, checking blindspot & signaling also so hard to do? Qualified drivers my @ss. I'd take 2 L-platers sandwiching me on the road any day. [thumbsdown]

Bro. i agreed with you on that coz i'm too regular driving on that roundabout , seriously i also encounter many kalang kabo drivers downthere especially ladies. 'No hard feeling' this is my personal experience and encounter [thumbsdown]

Edited by Mlimhs

lady driver. forgive them. they know not what they do

i am training one now. her lane discipline also CMI. but P-plater and first few times driving la. will ensure i instill proper lane discipline in her at all times for the good of everyone [nod]

For me, it's like "why bother"? Afterall, it's just one small nick. I'm not going to waste my time running here & there, filling out form after form, etc etc etc over this. I'm sure this kind of people's luck will run out one day, only that I'm not going to be the one sweating over it. [:p]

My ultimate experience.

2 lanes turning right on a junction that also allows U-turns.

I was at the right most lane. MPV w/lady driver on the left.

We were both first cars on our lanes.

When the lights were in our favour. I proceed to turn right and immediately jam brakes.

Why? The MPV is making a U-turn and cut into my lane.

hur.gifgorgeous.gif

This always happen at the Jurong Town hall exit at AYE. Draw lines for turning also no use. Most people only care about how their cars point, rather than the behind wheels also. Hence rear scratched rims are quite common.

I was held at the traffic junction at the Marymount Rd towards Thomson Rd, on the 2nd right lane. I was the first at the junction and there was volvo that stopped on my right (on the extreme right lane). Ahead of us, the road bend slightly to the left and there is another traffic light 20m ahead.

So when the light turned green, I accelerated and the volvo started to drift into my lane; mistaking the 2nd right lane as his as the road start to bend. I hit the horn and the brake, hoping for the best as I saw his pax's door was going to hit my right head light. At that moment, I presumed either he realised that he has entered the wrong lane or he saw me at the last minute, he then swerved to his own lane and sped off.

My instructor taught me an important lesson while I was undergoing driving practicals. If I am held at the traffic light junction, make the best use of this time to study the roads/lane markings ahead (provided I am the first car at the junction) to avoid this type of 'parallex errors'.

this always happen when the road is curved or not aligned to after the junction.

good example is KK hospital juction towards Novena.

kena so many times there, its a 3 lane junction with left bend.

drivers dunno how to count lane

leftmost lane go to leftmost lane after junction, centre go to centre lane

and right go to right lane.

a lot of drivers on right lane head towards centre lane bcos thats the shortest and straightest route

I will try to use either the extreme left or right turning lane so that I only need to watch one side of the car.

May not work all the time. I was on the extreme left turning lane to the right and this cxxk on my left in the straight-going lane and tried to turn right beside me. Nearly had a collision with him coz I was paying attention to the right.

Me Kanna yesterday, was driving side by side with sleeping.gifBlur Fxxk Axio Driver along Tiong Bahru road, suddenly he just swerved into my lane i siam & horn him, next my rim scratchedbigcry.gifbigcry.gifbigcry.gif. he then try to speed off i manage to catch up & pull him over & lecture him. Just to check with MCF Bro/Sis, can i claim him on the damage?

Why? The MPV is making a U-turn and cut into my lane.

hur.gifgorgeous.gif

at least it is a big MPV, i ever see motorbike do so

Signalling in foreign countries are part of driving. In spore, drivers here do not like to signal because other cars simply speed up to close up the gap to prevent others from cutting into their lane? I have seen too many cases of these happening on the road. Our society is not gracious enough so we cannot totally blame the way our drivers behave on the road. Their behaviour is shaped by their experiences and reactions of others on the road. Personally, I feel this problem is here to stay. No campaign nor advertisement can change this overnight. It can never be eradicated unless spore becomes a kampung third world country one day.

encounter many times already.. some ppl think tat they r driving truck so u-turn need to cut into others lane! [sweatdrop]