Celicar Turbocharged June 28, 2009 Share June 28, 2009 Anyone knows how to choose durians? I feel kind of lost and at the mercy of the sellers when I'm looking to buy some to eat and I don't want to buy those that are opened as far as I can. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galileo Neutral Newbie June 28, 2009 Share June 28, 2009 Anyone knows how to choose durians? I feel kind of lost and at the mercy of the sellers when I'm looking to buy some to eat and I don't want to buy those that are opened as far as I can. You can ask them to open on the spot and pack them in styrofoam box. This way they will not have the chance to sell you 生番薯 or rotten one. Try not to get those that are already in the foam box. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear June 28, 2009 Share June 28, 2009 Anyone knows how to choose durians? I feel kind of lost and at the mercy of the sellers when I'm looking to buy some to eat and I don't want to buy those that are opened as far as I can. Look out for the stalk,torn appearance,smell....shake shake....smell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldawn88 2nd Gear June 28, 2009 Share June 28, 2009 猫山王 (Kunyit) is now around RM20/kg. Went to Gan's plantation at Segamat yesterday. After 'briefing' by the owner, now know how to identify authentic Kunyit. Damn, should have known few years earlier. Many sellers here sell fake Kunyit. Today went to few sellers at Geylang and JW... not selling true Kunyit, cannot even explain to me how to identify even the appearance of Kunyit. If you go to durian farm, the 猫山王 is about RM15~16/Kg (price as of last week). Tomorrow I will be going in JB to my reliable stall to checkout and update the price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mars_Puah Neutral Newbie June 28, 2009 Share June 28, 2009 hmm guys nt sure if u guys/sis came across... my cousin say there durians with pink flesh... and taste nt bad.... maybe u guys/sis can gif it a try if u are going to M'sia... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galileo Neutral Newbie June 28, 2009 Share June 28, 2009 猫山王 (Kunyit) is now around RM20/kg. Went to Gan's plantation at Segamat yesterday. Kunyit has increased to RM20/Kg??? I thought it should go down? I check out my reliable stall at Johor Jaya tomorrow and update the price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear June 28, 2009 Share June 28, 2009 猫山王 (Kunyit) is now around RM20/kg. Went to Gan's plantation at Segamat yesterday. After 'briefing' by the owner, now know how to identify authentic Kunyit. Damn, should have known few years earlier. Many sellers here sell fake Kunyit. Today went to few sellers at Geylang and JW... not selling true Kunyit, cannot even explain to me how to identify even the appearance of Kunyit. care to share how to id a mao shan wang?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galileo Neutral Newbie June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 (edited) care to share how to id a mao shan wang?? coming soon.... later when I have made my trip to JB. There is a prominent brownish star shape at the bottom and the 5 lines is very unique from others. Edited June 29, 2009 by Galileo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galileo Neutral Newbie June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 care to share how to id a mao shan wang?? Hi, Pls see this thread on how to differentiate the genuine MSW http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?s=&...t&p=2796277 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 猫山王 (Kunyit) is now around RM20/kg. Went to Gan's plantation at Segamat yesterday. After 'briefing' by the owner, now know how to identify authentic Kunyit. Damn, should have known few years earlier. Many sellers here sell fake Kunyit. Today went to few sellers at Geylang and JW... not selling true Kunyit, cannot even explain to me how to identify even the appearance of Kunyit. wah got lobang for plantation ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galileo Neutral Newbie June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 There is a discussion in MSM forum about durian makan @ Segamat http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopi...51&start=61 You can find out how to get there from the thread. I will be bringing a group of friends to the plantation this weekend. Meanwhile I will checkout the latest pricing of the varieties of durian. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 There is a discussion in MSM forum about durian makan @ Segamat http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopi...51&start=61 You can find out how to get there from the thread. I will be bringing a group of friends to the plantation this weekend. Meanwhile I will checkout the latest pricing of the varieties of durian. hmm cos I contacted a plantation in Pagoh, they said no more liew lian liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 can share your JB reliable stall location? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galileo Neutral Newbie June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 (edited) can share your JB reliable stall location? Here, http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopi...51&start=27 Today just bought the MSW at RM18/Kg and mangosteen at RM10 for 4Kg from that stall. Edited June 29, 2009 by Galileo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galileo Neutral Newbie June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 hmm cos I contacted a plantation in Pagoh, they said no more liew lian liao zhun bo bro? It could be 2 batches of harvest, maybe break for 1 or 2 weeks then next batch coming? For this I will call to check out whether any supply this weekend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear June 29, 2009 Share June 29, 2009 zhun bo bro? It could be 2 batches of harvest, maybe break for 1 or 2 weeks then next batch coming? For this I will call to check out whether any supply this weekend. yea, juz called today... no more liew lian :/ sian1/2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear June 30, 2009 Share June 30, 2009 zhun bo bro? It could be 2 batches of harvest, maybe break for 1 or 2 weeks then next batch coming? For this I will call to check out whether any supply this weekend. bro, I abit blur looking at the maps.. can I check with u on the exit number on NSHW? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear June 30, 2009 Share June 30, 2009 How much to prepare for the tolls? thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...