KapitanE 1st Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 I have nvr used PPS for discount anyhwere else..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 strange....will check it out on next Mon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangz 3rd Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 (edited) UA -> star alliance. Why can't redeem SQ flights? If KF members pay 40K, I think maybe you pay 50K from your FF. I know lufthansa's can..... Check this out. http://www.staralliance.com/en/travellers/...ade_awards.html I was surprised when I saw that..apparently one cannot redeem miles for upgrades across the entire Star Alliance carriers. For e.g., if you are a member of the Asiana Club or Mileage Plus, you can't use your miles for SQ flights. Edited August 17, 2007 by Kangz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vollov Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Actually, 7 hrs cannot be considered long haul. Also, if you talk to the SQ cabin crew, they will tell you these flights are the worst. Every service is rushed because they only have a limited time window to serve everyone. If you take away the 1st and last 30 mins for take off and landing, and another 30 mins in the beginning once in the air for them to give you drinks, before they start the meal service, they really have very little time to serve around 200+ passengers. And because it is SQ, the expectation by the passengers are also higher and, thus, they have more work to do. Be nicer to the cabin crew, they really do not have an easy job. Just saw your posts after I posted mine. Guess we are on the same wavelength. I actually hope they get paid better than other airlines coz thruout the flight, they are almost busy thruout. For long hauls, other airlines' stewardess probably will be sitting at the galley most of the time. I think the SQ stewardesses are being shortchanged. They don't get some of the perks the stewardesses get...plus their hours are insane. They basically suffer from jetlag as the norm for the course of their career in SQ. If you ask me...that's scary...don't care how much their allowance is because, it it was for me, that kinda money not enough man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vollov Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Whats the difference between the new and old biz class? Sorry to ask this mountain tortoise question coz I always fly economy. Only 2 times I was late for flight and was upgraded to biz. Even my CEO flys economy. only the newer 777-300ER planes have the new biz class configuration...and it's now on the flights to Frankfurt, LA, Barcelona I think. Never tried before coz the price over budget for my company. :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vollov Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 ya same. I always book a middle isle seat myself. Infact, I don't like side isle seat that much coz you get 2 ppl walking pass you. For middle isle, on long hauls, you sometimes get no disturbance at all especially if the other 2 are a couple. But I believe there will be some times where the PPS member did not book himself and was probably late and got a middle-in-nowhere seat.... maybe if that happens then there will be no specials. actually...if a PPS member is late or whatever...chances are they will get upgraded tp 1st class. Usually lar. PPS on SQ really treated like god compared to other frequent flyer programs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spenz Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Correction... New PPS members from 1 Sep will be treated like demi-gods... now just upper class cattle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Huh? I thought the SAT Premier lounge is the ones for SQ or StarAlliance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 ahh...ok. But I guess you mean for LA it's direct flight. Thats one of those I broke it apart. Went to taipei / narita before going to LA. Not so siong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 which lounge you normally go to? At 2nd level, once up the escalator, do you go straight or turn right? My understanding is the one straight infront is only for first class or business class. (maybe PPS also only) For staralliance gold, you go to the Sats premier lounge which is on the right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 but the seats on these direct flight to LA or NY are bigger thus more comfortable. there's a refreshment counter at the back of the plane where u can get snacks & fruits. and it takes only 14hrs to reach LA as compared to 17-18hrs if u were to transit in taipei or narita. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 Yes it's a quicker path. But ... sigh. I called up SQ and asked whats executive economy and they said it's exactly the same in terms of seats and blah.....so I did not go for it. Anyhow I only wasted the going trip coz that time I had to stop over at Narita on my return. Maybe next time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 the SQ rep ought to be ... and dun even get me started on krisflyer's service level they hv screwed up my transactions couple to times liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 The direct flight from SIN to LAX is 16 hrs 20 minutes...... From Singapore Changi ( SIN ) To Los Angeles Intl. ( LAX ) Depart Departure Time 1605 Arrive Arrival Time 1725 Distance 8771 mi, 14033 km Duration 16h20m and if fly via NRT or TPE it is 18 hours plus, which then will translate to something like nearly 24 hours before arrival. The seats on the executive economy on the direct flight is not as comfortable as in biz class.... yes, there is a snack counter at the back.... but it gets really boring and spending so much time in the air is very taxing to the body.... Have done the flight and return from Newark, which is 19 hours in the air.... told myself I will never again go on that flight again, ... a stop over for a smoke and to visit a real toilet will be good..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 from SIN to LAX direct flight, u will reached there at least 1.5-2hrs earlier, been there done that. it's oso less crowded on the plane coz lesser passengers. and if u r lucky to get a seat in the front cabin, there r only 21 passengers thus less rowdy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 good for you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 screw up your transactions? As in they gave you more miles for nothing?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie August 17, 2007 Share August 17, 2007 didn't u noticed most of their staffs are not local (from their accent)?? & they are not very realli familiar with the booking procedures. at times i even hv to tell them what to do really CMI ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...