The01 Neutral Newbie September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 Visited the site and I personally think that more could be done to include sizes of tires available and maybe more info. Cheers! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 I just changed my tyres to Hankook K415 recommended by Robertoon. So far I like the tyres grip and quiet. Yes, it is new and hope it can last longer than my stock tyres ( last 1.5 years ). Had to get some petrol @ SPC along Hougang, didn't know they carry Hankook tyres at the Speedy Care. Saw a poster on K415, I was surprised that it's rated very highly in German Mag Auto Bild. From memory it beat Conti, GY Hydra Grip & Pirelli P6. haha, maybe I'll fit this on my car round abt 'marketing' car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 today i finally did it! discarded my F tyres for Hankook K415. and i must say, i shld have done it long time ago! road noise had been greatly reduced, but let's see wat happened at 5K and 10K respectively the set of tyres do somehow give me a reassuring feeling straight from shop, the tyres really feel good wet road grip cannot be tested as i left Toh Guan at abt 7.30pm and the rain had stopped and road almost dry but i reckon it can only be better than my previous Z326 which is after only a year will have the tyre scrub in and see wat it can do at some wet condition cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helloworld88 2nd Gear October 15, 2007 Author Share October 15, 2007 Just came back from Genting a week ago....was doing 150/160km/h (average 140), not much noise from the tyre, but all wind noise (maybe it overlaps). At 120km/h, damn quiet, I think I have made a good choice, thanks everyone who had advised me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondapower Neutral Newbie October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 Hello, can I get directions from you to Genting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helloworld88 2nd Gear October 15, 2007 Author Share October 15, 2007 I cut and paste this guide posted from a bro in another thread, you can do the same by searching in this forum. I am always keeping a hard copy in my car. Assuming you know how to enter NS highway, then : Drive all the way until you reach Sungei Besi to pay a toll of about RM 37+. On exiting the toll booth, keep to the 2nd lane from left. Keep a lookout for the sign to "Cheras" (it is a signboard in blue, I think, on the left kerb of the road). After you pass the 1st Petronas station on your left, filter to the left and you will see the signboard to take a left turn to Cheras. This is a steep curving turn to connect you to the Cheras flyover. On this road to Cheras, keep to the centre lane. You new destination aim on this road should now be Kuantan. Keep driving straight ahead (landmark: you will pass zoo negara), and use the overhead lane-guide for Kuantan/Genting Highland (usually the 2 farthest right lanes - use the middle lane as I do not expect you to do much overtaking during your first drive here, but also you will have to exit on your left to join the Karak Highway to Genting Highland. You will need to pay RM4 toll at Karak Highway. After the toll station, it is a scenic drive with roadside stalls selling lemang, fruits and plants. Do not be tempted to speed here because some parts of the highway here are downhill and curvy. Keep on driving and keep left for the turn off to Genting Highland (the sign will read as Genting Highland and also a teachers training college). After the turn-off, it is mostly uphill but there are also steep downhill on some strtches. Use engine brake (lower gear) on these stretches. You will arrive at the peak and Genting. It may seems a little daunting from what I write here but it is actually a very easy drive. Returning is even easier. From Genting, look for sign and drive towards KL. After the RM4 toll again at Karak, look for sign and head for Seremban (no longer KL). Keep left when possible as there is an abrupt left turn-off for Seremban. When at KL outskirt, do not head for Sungei Besi but keep on heading for Seremban. You will still join the NS highway at Sungei Besi. From there, just head south for home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 Do update us on K415, I may be getting it soon on my 'marketing' car I'm pretty sure with the result of K415 which is high rating in AutoBild will match GR80 perf. My personal 'butt' test feel is V8RS being V rated out performs H rated GR80 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 got a quote from Continental, it charges 2times more than GR80, I know the German tyre is good, but does it worth ? In my view, I'd rather change the tyre more frequent than paying 2x more. GR80 rocks my picnic is using Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 ohh... any idea how much your kaki changed his GR80 for? I'm not sure about the price for GR80..is $580 just right? or can go lower? go to SOH brother he'll give u good quote honest old chap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 Hi bro, quite reasonable as this will be around the cheapest range u can get for GR80. To get the full picture, you can try calling to get quotes from major workshops like comfortdelgro, star, stamford tyres, myharmony, etc. their quotes will be at least $90 - $110 ea (excluding GST) for GR80, at least that's what i got for my 185/60R14 sizes quote. GR80 is under Bridgestones, there is no other GR80 model for any other brand. Soh bro quote includes GST and installations, only those scheming one will quote u a price without wheel balancing, GST & installation charges etc, then hamtam u when presenting the bill to u one... wheel alignment not so necessary for your new rio if unless you change the tyre size profile. see u at kia forum, i am driving a 03/04 1.5 rio hb! am shopping for new tyres too, heard about the rave reviews about V8RS but unfortunately no more such sizes. am considering between GR80 & new hankook optima K415 which is around the same price... ya man. the hype ard V8RS is amazing. GR80 really good man. and btw, i love Kia Rio. i have a m3sp and picnic. i nearly bought kia rio (blue) in place of my m3sp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 hiyo, decided on GR80 and just changed it. while driving back tried 110km/h decided on GR80 cos it is proven quiet lasting after being in the market for few years, while K415 is relatively new, so even though there is good review, it has not passed the time trial yet. satisfied with the low noise level, just a little bit less comfortable than Aspec DB. grip wise on dry road acceptable but not tried on wet road yet. was on BF goodrich sports before this, $50 cheaper than GR80 and the grip on wet road is . after 1 yr on it, i find that i am driving faster on wet days due to the good grip and short braking distances by this tyres. Downside is it will become noisy after 6 months. so noisy until my ear drums buay tahan cos my kia lousy on sound insulation... but seriously, those who have good sound insulation or dun mind noises, this tyre is really good on dry and excellent in wet road. even uncle frankie at soh tyres acknowledged that this tyre is good. before BF goodrich, when 1st received car, was on Yokohama Aspec DB, at first was very very happy with the low noise and comfort! but after 6 months started to sweat! many times when i did e-brake, the f.ucking tyre take a long braking distance and skidded to the side everytime! and the noise level grew louder after 1 yr... i learned to drive slower and keep a long long distance from the front car on rainy days. that's why i took 6 months after changing to BF goodrich to drive faster in rainy days. now even if u pay me $, i also dun wan to buy this tyre cos i dun wan to forgo safety for low noise and comfort by using this tyre. i like ur replies man. very truthful and informative. anyway i tried eagle f1 thai, its the same. initially very very quiet then the noise started becoming very loud! grip is excellent though both wet n dry. GR 80 is really good . all rounder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 16, 2007 Share October 16, 2007 ok bro, will take some pics too but will start another thread dun think it's good to discuss a completely different tyre under a diff thread title as i realized it only after i posted last nite cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rasserie Neutral Newbie October 16, 2007 Share October 16, 2007 hi. need to change rear tyres. does gr80 have 175/70-r13? thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 31, 2007 Share October 31, 2007 (edited) been running on the GR-80 for the past..60k km liao..pretty good tyres, but very noisy after sometime..i have went thru puddles of water at 80kmh before without any problem..so the aquaplaning resistance is quite good anyway, it's time for me to change tyres..i'm looking at something either quieter or more grippy as compared to the GR-80..so would like to ask bros here for recommendations..my budget is about $100 per piece.. Edited October 31, 2007 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear October 31, 2007 Share October 31, 2007 use back same Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 31, 2007 Share October 31, 2007 wanna give others a try leh..feel like upgrading 1 class higher Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear October 31, 2007 Share October 31, 2007 p-zero Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 31, 2007 Share October 31, 2007 how does the ST115 compared to GR-80 ah? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...