Expect more pump price increases

Russ

1. I've been pumping petrol in JB during weekends. I spend about S$10~15 to fill up in between 3/4 and 1/2 in SG. The rest fill up in JB for around RM50 to reach full tank.

2. So if there is 4 weeks in a month, I would have spent at most S$60 plus RM200. Hence, currently no immediate drive factor to use CNG yet.

Regards,

RM 50 = 26L of petrol, how do you do that? [jawdrop]

How big is your tank?

I agree that it is not economic to drive the big MPV around on weekday and MPV is not nice to drive. I have an OPC small family car (1.4L) for family use on weekend. Now I intend to get the Daihatsu Copen (660cc) for week day use. It saves petrol and road tax. I told my wife to get a 2.0L car but split into two. I calculated the expenses and find is not high compare to driving a 2.0L MPV.

Whatever the fuel price is, it's definitely not stopping people from buying cars now. Once the coe drops, people start going to the car showrooms to book new cars.

Crude oil prices have now surpassed both the 2006 peak and July 2007 peaks and if it holds high, prices WILL increase. Complain as much as you like, it looks inevitable to me.

Demand is still high. Supply is not keeping up. Don't be surprised at paying $3 or 4 per litre by 2010.

Thank goodness I drive very economically - from observation, most people here have NO idea how to do it. They think they know in theory but have no idea how to put into practice.

within this year we could probably see the highside of 2 dollar per litre.

However 3-4 DOLLARS per litre is unlikely to happen in 2010 - most asia oil refineries expansion program will be completed and till then the petroluem products output will be much higher than current.

Edited by Santa

Crude oil prices have now surpassed both the 2006 peak and July 2007 peaks and if it holds high, prices WILL increase. Complain as much as you like, it looks inevitable to me.

Demand is still high. Supply is not keeping up. Don't be surprised at paying $3 or 4 per litre by 2010.

Thank goodness I drive very economically - from observation, most people here have NO idea how to do it. They think they know in theory but have no idea how to put into practice.

[laugh][sunny][flowerface]

$3 to $4 per litre is impossible. Let's say if prices really hit this level, those who suffer are not just car owners. Everyone will feel inflation.

lucky my hybrid coming in mid oct [cool]

Maybe I should switch my target liao.

What is the realistic FC of Civic Hybrid?

No offence to anyone but buying a hybrid is almost equivalent to paying all the price increase in petrol upfront and then later on still pay for additional price increase. Paying more upfront to buy a fuel saving car? Unless one uses his/her hybrid for delivery or taxi, the fuel cost savings are not really that substantial, not forgetting the possibility of expensive maintenance. If fuel saving is really a concern, should get a budget or smaller car with decent FC (not necessarily better in FC than hybrid).

u lookin at the extreme of things. if someone juz looking for a low cost car, then get a qq. dun even looking at anything else!

fuel savings should be one of the consideration for hybrid, not the only.

i want a mid sized sedan, something nice. civic comes to mind, the rest dun really turn me on. but between civic 1.8auto and hybrid, hybrid makes more sense cos of savings in fuel and road tax. oso help to save environment cos it has one of the lowest emission around.

My Fuel Efficiency Tips (in order of effectiveness) since somebody asked

1. Avoid traffic jams / peak periods

2. Minimise braking - I don't understand why there is a need to rush to the next RED light - I have found that to be a huge fuel burner. Take it easy. This technique means I get 10 km/l in city driving with my 2.0 litre car. In my last car, I did 90000km and my tyres and brakes were still less than half worn.

3. Slow down on eways. 80 km/h on the left lane is quite therapeutic and only costs me 3 minutes more for my City to Pasir Ris journey. I average 15-16 km/l on these runs on my 2.0 litre car. Reckon the lower stress of relaxed driving will add 2-3 years to my life....

4. Don't accelerate hard.

5. Slow down in town. Western cities are starting to get strict on speed limits in towns to lower pedestrian deaths. I always comply with the 50 km/h limit. - this also helps point 2 above...

6. Keep tyre pressures 10% above recommended

End result - 30,000 km on my Subaru Legacy on 2,100 litres of petrol.

--------------------