Chickenbackside 1st Gear September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 Great advice! Now, need to start training to not have any need for speed... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 EXACTLY! What are you guys talking about man? It was useful in the past but due to the rate cuts by FED last Wednesday, USD took a plunge and since crude oil price is reported in USD, it is only naturaly that it climbed. I am expecting FED to cut rate further so you can see crude price surging again. Maybe in the future they will choose to use Euro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 lucky my hybrid coming in mid oct Maybe I should switch my target liao. What is the realistic FC of Civic Hybrid? Aiyah.... put in a rev limiter and set it to 2K rpm max..... should be able to save a considerable amount of fuel.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 (edited) Crude oil prices have now surpassed both the 2006 peak and July 2007 peaks and if it holds high, prices WILL increase. Complain as much as you like, it looks inevitable to me. Demand is still high. Supply is not keeping up. Don't be surprised at paying $3 or 4 per litre by 2010. Thank goodness I drive very economically - from observation, most people here have NO idea how to do it. They think they know in theory but have no idea how to put into practice. Everything got a price ceiling. Dun think it will hit $3-$4. If it really does. Everything else's economic will go down hill. They are not stupid. I think a recession can be usefull now... Edited September 24, 2007 by Thug Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 Thank goodness I drive very economically - from observation, most people here have NO idea how to do it. They think they know in theory but have no idea how to put into practice. I think a real saving fuel deal here is not to travel in car so much. Not really about how you drive. Lately due to overloading of work, I had no life. Go work-go home-go work-go home. The whole tank lasted mi a total of 8 days. My milleage is about 420km per 37 litres. In turn, I save alot of fuel and money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 I feel tat the ever increasing traffic jam also coz a lot of fuel wastage in the long run. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 u lookin at the extreme of things. if someone juz looking for a low cost car, then get a qq. dun even looking at anything else! fuel savings should be one of the consideration for hybrid, not the only. i want a mid sized sedan, something nice. civic comes to mind, the rest dun really turn me on. but between civic 1.8auto and hybrid, hybrid makes more sense cos of savings in fuel and road tax. oso help to save environment cos it has one of the lowest emission around. 1. I doubt the savings is alot for a Hybrid car especially non CNG, given the upfront higher acquisition cost and questionable maintenance in the long run. I go JB pump petrol better than go get a Hybrid at least for now. 2. But if you are getting a Hybrid to save green then I'm all thumbs up . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 Yeah, agreed. Unless your monthly mileage is above 3k per month, i don't see just how hybrid would do substantial savings Alternative fuel....Natural Gas Poooot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quekahwhye Clutched September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 Good day, Someone must invent car use air to run. If Singapore air are better, may need to paid air consumption tax (7% GST + Quality air Tax + ................) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 (edited) u lookin at the extreme of things. if someone juz looking for a low cost car, then get a qq. dun even looking at anything else! fuel savings should be one of the consideration for hybrid, not the only. i want a mid sized sedan, something nice. civic comes to mind, the rest dun really turn me on. but between civic 1.8auto and hybrid, hybrid makes more sense cos of savings in fuel and road tax. oso help to save environment cos it has one of the lowest emission around. You are reading too much between the lines. Budget / small car does not imply a QQ. If one is so concerned with FC, then can consider 1.6L Lancer basic. Or mabe 1.5 Latio. How long does one need to break even the cost of owning an expensive hybrid with the fuel savings and road tax? ** I applaud your greenie mentality and effort but it will take more than you to save the world. Edited September 24, 2007 by Thermodynamics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 Yeah, agreed. Unless your monthly mileage is above 3k per month, i don't see just how hybrid would do substantial savings Exactly! Now who clocks such a milage with passenger car to justify the fuel savings? Not many. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 Then let us pray for a great Depression. All will be converted back to stone age, and all manual power Like Flintstone?? You can read my mind ... Flinstone, more environmental friendly, no pollution ... our descendent have chance to see more trees and animals ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 I think i saw a few Hybrid Lexus MPA around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 These people are not ordinary folks who need a car to ferry their family around and have a financial constrain. These rich folks have cash to burn. They want style and want good FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 (edited) here is the math on hybrid. assumption based on civic hybrid vs civic 1.8a becos a) power/torque is most similar b) similar trim level c) same car body d) cvt and auto e) we try compare apple to apple, although not exact cos one is 1.3, the other 1.8 f) omv is estimate from lta website g) price based on km list price at 17 jul (when i bought), @$16,000 h) 10 years of use i) insurance is the same j) guesstimations are out, e.g. cost of mtce. we use hard figures or figures derived from somewhere/something. model hybrid 1.8a price 78,200 79,500 omv 24,918 19,458 coe 16,000 16,000 parf 8,721.30 10,701.90 DEP/yr 6,947.87 6,879.81 road tax/yr 695 1,150 (rounded off) COST/yr 7,642.87 8,029.81 how on earth is it that people keep saying fc savings is not worth it? we have not even added in the fc savings yet. like i said, compare hybrid with its equal. if im looking at latio, i wont consider civic hybrid becos it is 2 different cars. and if u keep comparing hybrid to other make, stop! it is like comparing mini cooper to kelisa. both small car but world apart. but if u r looking at civic or similar car, then do the math. dats wat i did. cheers! Edited September 24, 2007 by Arowana1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redwood Neutral Newbie September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 Not quite. I wouldn't compare the hybrid civic with a 1.8 car, which is already in another road tax category. It would be fairer to compare the hybrid with a 1.5 or 1.6 car, which typically goes for $50k or so. In which case, the hybrid's fuel consumption savings cannot cover the price difference. IMHO, the hybrid civic is overpriced, and we all know why. The authorities want to recover the $ from your petrol savings. In the interests of protecting the environment, it should be priced cheaper. I'm not sure if hybrid vehicles are overpriced only here in singapore, or elsewhere in the world as well? How about in japan, its country of origin? Is it priced similarly to a 1.8 civic, or a much cheaper car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear September 24, 2007 Share September 24, 2007 when u buy car, u go for looks, size and power. if these are equal, why bother which tax bracket they are in? wat im saying is, if every car model has a hybrid equivalent, it is cheaper to get a hybrid. im using civic as example cos prius got no petrol twin. in states, we have camry hybrid, accord hybrid, wat nots. so many petrol and hybrid equivalent. if our market is big like states, im sure we will have them too and comparing cost wise, hybrid makes sense. hybrid is not overpriced here. look at the omv for hybrid. tat tells you why it is more expensive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...