Bearbear1494 Clutched October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 Precisely. The main flaw in our current traffic policing system as I can see, is that due to our roads being quite narrow, lots of junctions & traffic lights, crowded roads & all, TP can never really chase a car down safely unless it's on the open highway. And when they don't give chase, the most they can do is note the vehicle plate & send the summons to the owner. The flaw is this ; When a summons is sent to the owner, he/she can always give another driver's particulars & claim that this driver was the one who committed the traffic offence. Thus, any demerit points would be deducted from this driver. Even for court case, as long as the actual driver isn't caught red-handed by the TP, can always find a scapegoat to die in his place. Which only means, THE RICH can get away with all this, cos they can offer like S$200 a point in order to use another guy's license for the deduction while keeping theirs intact. Or offer like S$10K to have the other guy's license suspended while they can carry on being a menace on the roads. Some justice eh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 (edited) generally they don give chase nowsadays... just follow lor until that driver makes mistakes... a classic case up with Mr SSS Keng-Jio... Singapore can run to where??? although some lucky ones do get away... Edited October 8, 2007 by Vidz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 Actually, my point is that it's not always necessary to chase a car down in order to catch someone. But yeah, given some daring (or perhaps foolhardy) hard driving, the TP won't try to catch up with you for fear of public safety (and their own). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 ....the main flaw in our current traffic policing system as I can see, is that due to our roads being quite narrow, lots of junctions & traffic lights, crowded roads & all, TP can never really chase a car down safely...I feel it's more cos most of our drivers will not give way. I have seen case where there is a 'real' emergency where the fire engine want to beat the red light..but the car in front refuse to inch forward. So in the end, the fire engine LL have to wait for the light to turn green. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superblackbox Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 there is even a bigger flaw...which was wht happen to my fren.... he was turning right at a traffic junction.he can go but got traffic. so he waited for the green light. When green light was on. he turn. One car beat the red light and bang into him. N run off. farker rite tht fellow.. but tht fellow smart to run off.. I cnt say FUll details cause the flaw maybe be use & abuse the flaw in the system (sorry) End of the day, tht fellow was nt caught for "HIT & RUN". and my frens, kenna 3 points and $150 for inconsiderate riding.. Some Justice eh??? I belive experiance bro/sis can figure out wht happen when investigation was being done...lucky my fren can still recover n walk back again... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bearbear1494 Clutched October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 Yes, that is also true. Which is why for safety reasons, it's not always possible for a TP to give chase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 seriously.. how many TP bike or cars dare to speed and chase..... if anything happen... life is at risk and some more must write report... PLUS now no more pension liao... i believe TPs are taught not to chase after offenders. at least follow them at a distance where they can still see the offender(s). defensive driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rhys11 Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 (edited) i know a way for certain rides how to outrun the wrxs and the tp bikes but if i say here, the kangtao will be kenna picha but even can run and hide, cannot hide for too long unless one is on false number plates aiyah, y so mysterious, u know the way, but dun wan to say, might as well dun say. anyway how about trying going the opposite direction of traffic flow (if really desperate liao, die die must not get stopped, then once tp out of sight, abandon car/bike and run, then call police and cry, 'someone stole my car'), dun think tps r allowed to pursuit in opposite direction anyone has a better solution for desperados Edited October 8, 2007 by Rhys11 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 actually, thats a smarter move. because this will cause the offender to panic and make mistakes. then TP will just roll up slowly to the smoking car and compound him along with the list of offences offender makes along the way when he is followed. 0100hours 1. exceed 10km/hr (4pts + fine) 2. flag offender to pull over 3. offender did not pull over 4. reckless driving (pts+fine) 5. no signaling when changing lane (pts + fine) 6. exceeded 20km/hr (pts + fine) 7. exceeded 30km/hr (pts + fine + court) 8. no signalling when changing lane (pts + fine) 9. dangerous driving (court) 10. run red light (pts + fine) 11. crashing into barrier (forward notice to LTA) 12. drunk driving (court + fine + pts) signed by xxx 0200hours. actually if pull over on offense #1 maybe won't be so jia lat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 mischeivious mah.... ok here goes the shiit: if wrx or tp is catching you in mandai or sembawang area and you got a 4x4 bingo wrx got no way to follow you thru the jungle trails even if the fellow don bother about about the condition of his wrx, there is no way for a wrx to catch up with a 4x4 thru jungle tracks especially thru light streams.... but of course you got to be much more familiar than the tp chaps with the layout of the tracks cause when you emerge from the other end, you may have a big welcome party waiting for you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 (edited) and if you lucky, you wander into the live firing area. then good luck loh! or largi best you meet a APC, then your 4x4 maybe become 1x1 Edited October 8, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rhys11 Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 haha, i tot my idea was dramatic liao, urs is inspired frm movies one. sekali the wrx 'ki siao' and think how those wrx rally cars can go thru mud tracks and decide tat jungle trails are jus as possible then jia lat liao, kena catch also dun got what charges applicable to charge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 i hope you like my idea cool eh confirm wont kena much points....bec tracks got no speed limit (anyway i dont think would hit more than 50), no lane so signalling don apply....but if hit tree must report mistry of env not lta Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 oh no just hope the army boys are not having excercise on sat nights cool ah...my idea....really original ah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 so u r saying u can only play punk in mandai area.. u r damn wrong.. so u think the police cannot block the whole area up? and u know that's a sembawang air base with a super puma standby 24/7? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 yes can outrun.. only in his dreams... once TP radio other cars.. u see how many good friend in front road block that joker liao.. too bad, it is proven that he CANNOT outrun.. oei.. our fellow mustank thinks he can outrun tp ley.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vince69 Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 tell you something.... me last time NS doing weekend "recovery" standby duty, kenna activated once to take the APC into the training area to "recover" some civilians who "wander" into the training area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 ok... TP's new target the SSS... I'm not surprised, many SSS on the roads very agressive driving behaviour. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...