Slowjack Neutral Newbie May 24, 2003 Share May 24, 2003 Hi everyone, I'm new to dis site, so cut me some slack if i sound blur ok. Read some postings n tot there r some mod gurus here. Jus got a brand new sunny ss le mt bout a month ago, went for 1st servicing 3 days ago. 1 n 2 gear damn sluggish. Is it normal for this make. Plonk in a k&n filter and changed to ngk g-power platinum plugs. only slight improvement and i really mean slight. Planning to diy grounding, installing direct air intake hose this weekend. Any pointers? Which is better, fuelmax,calski,broquet or any other gismos ?Is it ok to rev it to 3500rpm at 1,2 and all the subsequent gears in this early stages of running in? Tried ramming 5th gear to 3000rpm but speed already reached 110kmh. Always wndered how u guys redline yr rides? Whats yr speed then? Damn, should have waited longer, and can get the new civic 1.6 vti. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astralee 2nd Gear May 24, 2003 Share May 24, 2003 hi. welcome here. for the first few thousand kilos, try not to ram the engine above 3000rpm. its bad during the run in stage.. tink u refering to the 1.5 model izzit? red line very easy, juz step the throttle to full till max rpm b4 the red zone then change to next gear loh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowjack Neutral Newbie May 24, 2003 Author Share May 24, 2003 Thanks for the advice. It a 1.6. So that means I've to wait for a few more clicks before doing some serious drivings. will redlining often kill the gearbox n engine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luke721 Neutral Newbie May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 Thanks for the advice. It a 1.6. So that means I've to wait for a few more clicks before doing some serious drivings. will redlining often kill the gearbox n engine? Hi there, Red-lining twice or thrice a week is good for your engine, but do it too often and it becomes 'overkill', which could lead to the early decommissioning of your babe Is your ride (A)? Cuz if it is, it takes a little longer to redline because of the tranny, and also cuz your babe is not a performance/turbo car IMHO, stuff like fuelmax and broquet do help in reducing consumption, but your surest bet is always your right foot Join us for our gatherings - guarantee you'll learn more there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redliner Neutral Newbie May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 Thanks for the advice. It a 1.6. So that means I've to wait for a few more clicks before doing some serious drivings. will redlining often kill the gearbox n engine? Hi there, Red-lining twice or thrice a week is good for your engine, but do it too often and it becomes 'overkill', which could lead to the early decommissioning of your babe Is your ride (A)? Cuz if it is, it takes a little longer to redline because of the tranny, and also cuz your babe is not a performance/turbo car IMHO, stuff like fuelmax and broquet do help in reducing consumption, but your surest bet is always your right foot Join us for our gatherings - guarantee you'll learn more there Somebody called? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 Hi... congrat on your new car...I am sure you have evaluated on difference cars before you decided on the one. Again, cars are like human..they are never made the same, even cars of the same make and model might be difference..so direct comparison is abit difficult. Normally comparing ones expectation to the car performance is more realistic. For those wanting to buy a car, a proper planned check list would be great probably breaking into difference sections like 1. exterior a) looks b) quality c) features 2. interior a) looks b) quality c) features d) accomodation-space/storage 3. performance a) power b) handling c) ride d) potential of 'mods' 4. aftersales service/technical support a) reliability b) servicing c) spares support d) warranty each section can be broken down into even more details. and finally you have a check list. ok.. so much for the blar blar blar hehee as for your 'power' upgrade kit 1)a direct air intake kit would help to boost some improvement in torque but very little on power, a cold air intake system would be best but then it would normally affect the torque in the lower rpm range but improve on the high end. 2)changing performance plugs would help to make your engine feel smoother but would not add much power. In order to have a power increase, the whole ignition system must be considered. 3)as for other gismo like cakskim borquet and fuelmax etc...I believe it will probably provide a more pyschologic improvement than actual improvement...but if technical we want to consider it, probably it helps to some deficiency of the current engine and hence being seen as an improvement, dont expect a drastic improvement from such things. As for your redline thingy....all cars with difference engines have difference peformance characteristics. Take a look at the engine performance characteristics of your car and know what rpm give you the highest torque and power, reving past that time would not give you any advantages as most engine would see a tapping off characteristics. OK... enough of my blar blar again...happy searching and good luck in your quest for the 1.....100HP gain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 (edited) I agree with both WRXBlue and Luke .... Bro your car is still new .... dun bother so much on powerlah. More power means more fuel, there is just no 2 ways about it. The Sunny is a good reliable "family" car, no need to turn it into a Nissan GTR, not just yet anyway. However I do realise of the need to mod a bit here and there, but for the amount of $$$ spent, and u gain only slight improvements like 5 bhp ... not worth it lah. I give WRXBlue 110% vote on the physchological improvements that u think u feel after putting in gadgets like Calski , Broquet , SuperFuelmax .... in actual facts under dyno testing, horsepower increse is nothing much to shout about. Go for the proven ones that will do the engine good instead. I vote for 1) Drop in K&N or CAI (Cool Air Intake) -> K&N can buy / CAI check with Turtle how to do. 2) Grounding would improve the car's electrical flow but dun expect horsepower gains. 3) Cosmetic changes - upgrade to 15/16 inch wheelers and some bodykits. 4) Iridium Plugs and Free Flow exhaust is more going to the extremes already. Hope that helps .... Edited May 25, 2003 by Hitman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 Hi, Welcome to MCF, Do join us for our weekly meetup.... Let the car run in first...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowjack Neutral Newbie May 25, 2003 Author Share May 25, 2003 [thumbsup]thanx bro and to all who had given me very sound advice. question, for how long do i need to run in my ride? As for meet ups, I've got 2 kids age 2 & 6, how? tow them along? How to discuss mods? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 bro, i not so expert lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 Hi everyone, I'm new to dis site, so cut me some slack if i sound blur ok. Read some postings n tot there r some mod gurus here. Jus got a brand new sunny ss le mt bout a month ago, went for 1st servicing 3 days ago. 1 n 2 gear damn sluggish. Is it normal for this make. Plonk in a k&n filter and changed to ngk g-power platinum plugs. only slight improvement and i really mean slight. Planning to diy grounding, installing direct air intake hose this weekend. Any pointers? Which is better, fuelmax,calski,broquet or any other gismos ?Is it ok to rev it to 3500rpm at 1,2 and all the subsequent gears in this early stages of running in? Tried ramming 5th gear to 3000rpm but speed already reached 110kmh. Always wndered how u guys redline yr rides? Whats yr speed then? Damn, should have waited longer, and can get the new civic 1.6 vti. bro, congrats for your new car ....it's good u got a all new car that u can manage all the way whatever things u do, but i believe u should know your own reasons for choosing this car.....if u are looking for power wise, i don't think u will have a slightest thought of a nissan sunny... let's be frank, a sunny at most have a on-wheel power of 100bhp at most...and torque is abt 14.6kgm...which is quite optimal for singapore normal cruising....if u were a hardcore power addict, u will be looking for EK4/ DC5/ Rex/ Evo already, rite next thing is that i see u intend to put in alot of those "so call" power efficiency devices...which has a balance of both power and fuel economy ...but the sad thing is that if u want real power, there is no compromise of the two things.... more power = less efficiency last thing is that it's never advisable to rev your car till red when its NEW!!! this is especially important for you....as the engine block and piston are both new, they need time to sit in ....and if u rev at early stage, u might lose your compression faster in abt a year or two and that makes your car even more sluggish...and at that time, u will be even more headache wondering where has your car power gone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 Great check list ! We've also got a writeup on selecting a new car in the RESOURCES folder also here.. http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=202900;sb=post_latest_reply;so=ASC;forum_view=forum_view_collapsed;;page=un read#unread://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...=un read#unread://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...=un read#unread://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...=un read#unread Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 Alamak .... I got 6 year old also. He tag along everytime ..... u wanna come meetup, no problem your 6 year old sure got friend one .... Your 2 year old I cannot comment lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowjack Neutral Newbie May 25, 2003 Author Share May 25, 2003 ouch! wat you said is sad but true. the boy in me wanted a rex or evo or at least a dc5 but the family man that i am had to go get a typical family car. Anyway wifey wanted me to get a 'safe' car, whatever that is. anyway all those demon rides are way above my budget man. i'm not asking for much, at least a car that won't fall too far behind when the light turns green. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 hi slowjack, welcome to MCF. hope to see you at meetups Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowjack Neutral Newbie May 25, 2003 Author Share May 25, 2003 yr 6yr old is a boy or a girl? mines a girl. she's not very interested in car talk leh maybe i will try to drop her off at mom's and wifey and me can join you guys for the meetups. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Failuredrill Neutral Newbie May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 hi to all bros!I m new to MCF,and had always enjoy the write-up of MCF,I used to drove a Daewoo Nubiru 1.6M but has since sold off e car.Currently waiting for my new ride in mid july,it is a 1.6A 323 protege,any comments on this ride? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie May 25, 2003 Share May 25, 2003 Hi Welcome to MCF, enjoy your stay and do meet us at our meetups. There are a couple of 323 owners here, Hitman is one of them. maybe you can start a new thread with a more eye catching title to your question. In fact, i do remember someone asking the exact same question as you a couple of weeks ago. You may want to do a search on it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...