Mac Mini - Media (or whatever service you wanna run) Server

MacBook - Mine

iMac - Wifey (Later xfer to Kids)

iMac (next) - Wife

See... fully utilized. [thumbsup]

Edited by Dm318

Bro, you can use those "magic sponge" to clean up the dirt. I usually wet one corner of the sponge with a few drops of water (enough to barely wet) n brush off the stains. Gotta use all the protective gear together too.

Hindsight... should've gotten the black MacBook.

To be honest, if i could get rid of windows I would, unfortunately there isn't any other platform that has such strong external software support.

Come Jan 08 when Office:Mac 2008 is released AND if the new Entourage comes close to Office/Outlook 2003 (or even Outlook 2000), then that would be one step closer to eliminating Windows in terms of day to day use for users. If you deal with Windows' domains/enterprise/exchange, etc then that's another story of course.

Black MacBooks really more discrete... makes me wanna switch to the black one. One silly thing about the whole Black MacBook is that they supply a WHITE power supply. DUH!!!!! [crazy]

can always get a mac mini and buy your own screens etc...

Mac mini's spec is quite low right?

Mac Mini's specs are not the highest end of course, but the current specs are sufficient for general use (NOT GAMING).

One comment about the Mini - there aren't a lot of computers that pack so much in such a small form factor. And that it consumes only 65W vs the humongous 400W full towers... that saves a lot of electricity $ if you run it 24x7 or anything in between.

And it looks really nice too...! As compared to some of the current available non-Apple models. Just my 2 cents hor.... PCs and Macs are quite personal items like Cars so different people got different tastes. [inlove]

Unfortunately i still have to deal with windows exchange servers right now... can't wait to finish work next week and be rid of it [laugh]

Anyways my only real pet peeve with Macs back when i did use them was coz i couldnt do video calls over MSN. Skype has solved that [:p]

My first consideration right now is with the extra ease with vista, is it worth going mac. the second is that I love my ubuntu and i'm not sure if i can run both osx leopard and that at the same time, same with vista coz i'm running ubuntu and xp concurrently now. I have a nagging suspicion that i'm going to go with Dell's 13inch XPS laptop.

Oh btw, do you have any idea how MS office for mac handles syncing with windows mobile??

You can always run Vista on Parallels as a workaround. You won't get some of the eye candy of course... [:p] You can also run Ubuntu within a Parallels VM. [:p]

OR

You can run Vista via BootCamp n Ubuntu in VM.

OR

You can run JAS OSX on a Dell and triple boot OSX/Vista/Ubuntu! I heard of some Mac folks managing to do that!

Speaking about WinMo syncing... I don't do WinMo syncing with Office:Mac (via MissingSync), etc. I use Exchange's EAS as the syncing "mechanism". Everything dump on Exchange no worries.

Besides, Office:Mac 2004's Entourage dun handle fonts very well when received in Outlook. I've never been able to solve that so I stopped using Entourage - opting to use Outlook 2003 in a XP VM via Parallels. You happen to know anything about fonts' issue and how to solve it?

i love my macbook!!!

Macbook screen is 13" and 14" only right?

Kind of small right?

mine;s the 13" white one

and yes i have lobang if u looking for one....

[:)]

Got lobang ah .... good leh ...

The only problem is that all the PCs at home and office are all Mac .... need to share files etc .... so just wondering would that be a problem?

i was able to use mac s/w on windows too

coz i'm using mac at home but the school uses windows

so when i need to do presentation using school's system, i juz export and transfer the format.. and viola!

[;)]

Black MacBooks really more discrete... makes me wanna switch to the black one. One silly thing about the whole Black MacBook is that they supply a WHITE power supply. DUH!!!!! [crazy]

ya ya my fren got the black one, and her power supply was white

abit out...

white ones u can get to change the protector and clearly see the new change

but the protector (hard plastic) costs about 90 bucks!

Buy at computer show lor... can get it at far cheaper price.

Black still more discrete. [thumbsup] And lesser fingerprints since its matt finish.

Whitish lines? No leh, one of my colleagues has one and its pretty worn. No whitish lines leh. Not 100% sure, but the black is not spray painted I think. Its black plastic using black plastic pellets during manufacture ba... If its spray painted, it'll end up like the famous Zire 72 (scratch & win [laugh] ) PDA.

I never really liked emulations so i so i shall have to find out more about running multiple OS's in tandem with the new ones.

Another issue from what i've heard is that Office 2007 is very different from its previous versions, and i've noticed a huge change in outlook 2007 vs 2003. For the rest, i can't really say as up till earlier this year, I've been using star office as my office suite... not to mention its been just as long since i used a Mac [:p]

ah well... dilemmas dilemmas... nvm... wait till after xmas then i shall think about this [laugh]

As for your font issue, i'm sorry but i can't help since i've been stuck on outlook for a while now. The closest to it would be issues with tabs, indents and spacing between MS office suits for Macs and Windows from yesteryear... finally solved in later releases, but it was too late for me by then [laugh]

P.S. I want vista only because of windows flip when the aero theme is used!!! [laugh]

Edited by Elfenstar

hey, i sorta agree with u... i use only mac currently.. but if anyone would to show me something better and better ease of usage, i will jump boat straight away.. i used to be on dual platform just like u, after i change my workflow, i switch completely to mac. i see it more of a choice then a fanboy. have u tried the new osX leopard?? i'm still on tiger now.

i have tried linux too but it doesn't suit me especially the lack of a few certain softwares i crucially need for work.

I was trying to give the mac uses a bit of sh|t for fun [:p]

I feel that at the end of it all, the choice should lie firstly in which platform allows us to run our applications, followed by how well. everything else should come after if not we're sure to regret it.

The biggest problem with linux right now IMHO is that each version is different from the others which means I shouldn't generalise on it [laugh]

Anybody here into Linux to comment?

To be honest, if i could get rid of windows I would, unfortunately there isn't any other platform that has such strong external software support.

Come Jan 08 when Office:Mac 2008 is released AND if the new Entourage comes close to Office/Outlook 2003 (or even Outlook 2000), then that would be one step closer to eliminating Windows in terms of day to day use for users. If you deal with Windows' domains/enterprise/exchange, etc then that's another story of course.

Do you mean that the files that is created or done on a Office on a Mac is not transferable over to the Office on a Windows PC?