Disappearing Car Door technology

Dualie

Quite cool leh... Good for some ridiculously tight HDB carpark lots... Also can prevent those idiots from banging their car door into your side panel...

Unless all are using these doors... But how is one going to retract your door when you don't have ground clearance? Maybe you are parked between a hump?

I would think that it is a big compromise to safety during a crash.

In the event of a frontal crash, I doubt there will be power to operate the doors. Even if there would be power, the chassis will be deformed and the door will probably be inoperative because I think the mechanism is based on a guiding rail which needs to be precisely fited.

And in the event of a flat battery, I don't think you will be able to get into the cabin to pop your bonnet to jump start with another car [dead][dead][dead]

i tot they demonstrate 1 which they raise the floor of the vehicle to accomodate the door while not reducing the ground clearance?

where got raise floor board...

look at both sides.. one door up and one door down.. floor board still same level..

disappearing_door_07_qjpreviewth.jpg

I think the video is fake.

even if it is real, it might really compromise safety.. esp for those with kids or pets on baord.

looks more for coupe rather than 4 passengers doors sedan leh....or they convert 4 doors to 2... Anyway no more taking revenge on others liao [laugh]

I wonder how much extra weight?

I wonder is saftey is compromise?

I wonder how much?

I wonder who will be doing this in SG?

I wonder if the gamen will ever approve this (imagine Viacom guys shock face)?

I wonder if Cybertron is indeed coming to earth too fast?

Edited by Sirbrian

Ah ya, why so much trouble to design a new technology, just make both the car door open side way like some MPV, then "Gao Tim" liao. the front door slide in front and the back door slide backward. ha ha.. just push the door open a bit, then slide to the side, just make the rail extend to the front and back... need to pay me Patent right for this design if the future car copy my idea.. He he..

Edited by Carseeker