Would you still take cab inside CBD during peak hour?

Fddd

Would you still take cab inside CBD during peak hour?  

35 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes,just claim company
    • Yes, no choice
    • No, take train/take taxi elsewhere
    • No,do not want pay for ridiculous charges

With all the new hikes, such as CBD charges of $3 and 35% of the total fare.

Would you still take cab or take cab from elsewhere to save the 35% and $3?

Comfort is just creating more problems after this hike but will earn alot fr it as well.

NO!

Last time yes, provided you can find one. Although I drive, I still take taxi if running within or around CBD.

Now, with all the surcharges and what have you nonsense charges, a one way trip will cost you easily $10. [mad][dead] The last time I took a cab from Funan to Hilton Hotel during morning peak cost me $8+ liao! And that's $16 for two way! [sweatdrop]

So I would rather drive. Cheaper! So expect CBD to be jammed again with people sharing my same sentiment!

MRT? Forget it! Try carrying suitcase, notebook bags, plus presentation materials if any (worst is architecture drawings) on a MRT + walk like crazy for places not near to MRT.

jus came from a cab and was chatting with the driver. He say doomsday liao. Comfort is smart to cash in during the Xmas, yr end and CNY period. but after tat? if takings is low, he n frens intend to return the cab. no pt driving empty cabs. and let comfort suffer the cost of having to pay half yrly road tax on the car while the car sit inside the carpark. apparently there are like 4000 unused cab parked at braddell waiting for hirers. say kumfurt's an idiot. jus lower the rental and use a low margin high volume strategy to earn rather than let the cabs sit n rot.

he for one is not rooting for the cab hike. so wat if u earn a bit more per trip. you got lesser customer pool who are price sensitive.

Funan if you park from 10am till before midnight is $16+ only [thumbsup]

but Funan I also cannot get season. Only for tenant OWNER [mad] I had to park at Armenian street near ROM that side. But still beat taking taxi.

Maybe I should ply around CBD and put "Free Car Pool within CBD! Donation appreciated!" [sly] earn some pocket money [laugh]

Eventually,comfort will have more empty cabs with no hirers.Money is also not enough for transport and govt. [hur][hur][hur]

And to the big transport company,don't bother to add more cabs to their fleet and falsely drive up the COE for consumers.

I think ppl who work as auditors have no choice. They have to travel to and fro to clients' place. Of course can claim from coy but still have to fork money to pay first b4 claiming at month's end. [:/]

LL

thk most who take cabs inside cbd are on work purposes so usually can claim?? so i guess increase or not such pple wont care...

but if from own pocket, i will def take the mrt its so much smoother...and cheaper... laugh.gif

CumFark tio pwned....

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../317056/1/.html

CNG engines help Prime Taxi to keep overheads down

By Hoe Yeen Nie, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 12 December 2007 2157 hrs

phpqNViv6.jpg Photos 1 of 1 dotline_240.gif

SINGAPORE: Prime Taxi bucked the trend this week when it announced its flag-down fares will not be raised for three months.

But come 1 January, meter rates and city area surcharges will go up.

Prime Taxi drivers said the company's decision is due to the fact that overheads are still manageable as rental rates of Prime's taxis are 30 percent below the market average.

Moreover, Prime's fleet of 100 taxis run on compressed natural gas (CNG) which costs 5 cents for every kilometre, compared to diesel which costs an average of 12 cents per kilometre.

But despite the lower costs, there are practical reasons for the low take-up of CNG cars, which make up less than 1 percent of the 23,000 taxis in Singapore.

Tan Soon Chye, General Manager of Taxi Division, Prime Taxi, said: "Currently, if they want to refuel CNG they will need to go to Jurong Island. However, this will cease to be a problem come January next year when more CNG kiosks are set up in Singapore."

Nonetheless, the company does not think there would be more CNG taxis on the roads anytime soon.

"99 percent of the taxis running on the road now are powered by diesel. In order to convert to CNG, they need a substantial amount of money and time," said Mr Tan.

Prime said it is raising meter rates and city area surcharges

Problem Solving the Elite Way.

For one moment yesterday- I totally forgot about the pain in my swollen toe. The moment was when the doctor stuck a big fat needle into my vein to draw blood for the blood test. The sharp pain of having a needle stuck into me was able to actually shut out the dull pain from the swollen toe for a few brief moments.

And that is exactly how the elites in the government solve our problems these days. They create a bigger problem somewhere else so that you will forget about the current problem that you

With this drastic increase in cab fares, what is going to happen is more people will now have no choice but to use the public trasport system. Anyone seen the MRT during rush hour? The last thing we need is more people taking the trains and buses.

This one i totally agree, the problem had to be shift elsewhere.

[scholar][scholar][scholar]

haha have la bro....act i dun hv much good things to say abt our mrt laugh.gif

but during peak period cbd area, its really smoother than driving....the jams, finding carparks etc... sweatdrop.gif