Davidklt Supercharged January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 (edited) Oh..if you are referring to that..i dont think theres much difference except for the salary part. Hey..you complained about the loss from investments..how come you didnt complain about the money made from investments? And do you even know that it far outweigh and outmeasure the the losses made? Are all investment 100% fail safe? Then again. thats just a singaporean thing isnt it? Edited January 8, 2008 by Davidtkl ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 hi bro, gonna reply quickly, as am on limited b/w.. Rule of Law Share with you another of my Car Accident in the year 2000 in Woodland. My Car was bumped from the back. The Lorry Driver refused to settle on the spot & thus was referred to Police " enforcers " & Insurer.Thereafter, the Insurer offered $3500 to settle Car Repairs & medical Bills but not WhipLash Injuries ( Neck Pain..just likes pinch nerve ) whiched lasted several weeks.. Engaged a Law Firm to act on my behalf. The Insurer finally paid & settled at $13500 two years later. Just remember the proper procedure & the Rule Of Law will act in your favour whether it is someone who punch you or record the Vandal & take tape to the Police. first have to bring up a few pts, 1) the driver didnt zao lang, and you are lucky in that sense. 2) you are in the event of the accident, and there is injury. If no injury, I've kenna before, people run, and I ended up have to bear the costs myself. 3) Not everyone can afford to engage lawyer like you , and in this sense you are lucky, because you are able to recover the money, ever thought if it's the other way round? Anyway, in terms of enforcement, like i said, someone punch you, you seek lawyer, and see how much $ you need to run up lor. I have a FREE Prostate Sceening Done in TTSH. Just look out for advertisement.Otherwise if Medical treatment is required. Go to OPD & if surgery or Hospital admission is needed...ask for C or B2 Class admission with 80 - 60% subsidy. I was warded in for a Sleep Disorder check for a night & bill was fully settled by Employer. to be a bit blunt, your employer is footing the bill, not you, thats why you are not feeling the pinch. remember that you may not be able to 'leverage' on the company as long, especially when you are beyond the 'ideal' employable age. Don't forget that some companies will investigate when you start to go too many hospital visits... esp physios. Blame it on our culture or whatever, but thats how some companies are like and not everyone works under the same benefit as yours. Just take a good look at the medical costs and see if you can afford to pay it when you are 60 for a couple of weeks. A Friend Wife was referred to Physiotherpy for a Frozen Shoulder @ $15 - $25 a session.He (Huby) followed along & noted the Physio Therapist actions & excercise going on. He came home & work on the Wife Shoulder at home 3 x a day. On the next visit, aweek later the Physio was surprised at the fast recovery. So we can & should help ourself to save on Taxi fare, Times & Physiotherapy or Hospital cost. It is manageable if we try a little harder. this is a case by case basis. frozen shoulder is not a big thing, i'm talking hospital visits like knee problems, worn out cartilages and generally the 'old persons' problems. A typical poly referred visit to the clinic is $40-50, each theraphy easily $40. Not to mention sometimes after theraphy you may not be able to walk. When you are working now, its not big deal. Try think about when you get to 60+. Think about your medisave a/c. With the prices per op now. How long before it gets drained out. Our Taxes are in good Hand. Recently LTA even send me a PARF PAPER for S$3XX for a car sold 3 yrs back. Found & Sold in Auto MegaMart "LAKE VIEW CREDIT" for S$3XX. You will never smell Refund in Mal or Ind country. I AM A Thankful S'porean. So far never find my car submerge under flooding water since 1973 or crashed into unlit road or pothole but I accepted Vandalism as part of Life in this Stressful City and there again it is much better than being CarJack or Extorted in Fuel Pump. Again ...I am the careful & take charge of my own safety. You can too! I think many SG people like to compare with those 'behind' rather than those 'infront'. But its just different perceptions i suppose... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 8, 2008 Author Share January 8, 2008 Oh..if you are referring to that..i dont think theres much difference except for the salary part. thats why i dun even bother about the survey; i wasnt the one who dig out the survey to prove anything true, every investment has its risk. so question is, IF the $$ made far outweigh the losses, then i believe the fruits should be enjoyed by ALL Singaporeans. So why am i seeing elderly hunting for empty drink cans/ cardboards in hawker centres when our successful gahmen is drawing million of dollars every year ? Ironic ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 (edited) Firstly, I think this question need to square back to Singaporeans themselves. Do they and are they taking good care of their parents? For a econonmy like Singapore, welfare system is not feasible.Even Kurgman agrees with it. Edited January 8, 2008 by Davidtkl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 that question doesn't hold water at all.. you should know that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Why not? why is there a need for the government to take care of grannies and grandpas instead of their own children? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 8, 2008 Author Share January 8, 2008 Firstly, I think this question need to square back to Singaporeans themselves. Do they and are they taking good care of their parents? For a ecomnony like Singapore, welfare system is not feasible.Even Kurgman agrees with it. what if those without children?? what if the children also cannot make it, struggling to make a living? collecting empty cans/card boards is not a DISGRACEFUL thing to do if it has to come down to doing it in order to survive. As what you said, our gahmen has made tons of $$$ in overseas investments, so surely can take care of these very small group of people right? remember, this elderly folks were the builders of our nation, do you think the gahmen would have succeed without their support? where is the gahmen when they needed help? so much about " no one will be left behind " Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 (edited) Lets put it this way. In Singapore, you wont die of hunger in the streets even if you really have no money. There would be proper channels to help. Similarly, if you have the capabilities and the brillance, there wont be a situation whereby you wont be able to get into a university if you havent got enough to pay for school fees. This is what they meant by "no would be left behind". Can you say the same for any other ASEAN countries? Edited January 8, 2008 by Davidtkl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 8, 2008 Author Share January 8, 2008 Lets put it this way. In Singapore, you wont die of hunger in the streets even if you really have no money. There would be proper channels to help. Those elderly REALLY have no money, if not, who want to collect empty cans ?? got help meh ?? the extreme ones i see will savage from those left over food, of cos will not die of hunger lah Similarly, if you have the capabilities and the brillance, there wont be a situation whereby you wont be able to get into a university if you havent got enough to pay for school fees. not everyone is cut out to be a uni grad. problem is, every profession need not require a uni degree. who states the law that only a degree holder will excel in SG? Can you say the same for any other ASEAN countries? Because i dun see any 1st world rated ASEAN countries around. If you wanna to be rated as 1st world, prove it! This is what they meant by "no would be left behind". No, this is how i feel short changed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limitedspeed Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Why migrate? Well, caused life is too tough here. I was having chicken rice lunch at a friend's stall this afternoon & when he's done with the peak hour crowd came to sit down with us for a chat. His food centre has just undergone renovation and a rent increase. He used to work from morning 6am to 2pm every day but says since renovations and competition business had been bad. He has to extend his current work hour to sell chicken rice into the evening till 7pm taking turns with his wife to return to the nearby home to rest and shower. Okay, why this chicken rice story. His son is currently studying overseas & he has been telling him not to come home and when his son has settled himself he & the wife wants to go overseas to join him. He thinks that life is too tough in Singapore and do no wish his son & future family unit of wife and children to be brought up here. Well, I would say I do agree with him & wish him all the best with the migrations Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Your chicken rice friend doing well leh, now a days oversea education for 4yr would have cost him 150k at least. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 anyone can advise on how to proceed to apply. not sure at 31 yrs old they willing to take me... somemore woking in bank type of job, sure no chance unless accountant? or should i try to apply and see what happens if they say yes or not/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newsman 1st Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Rule of Law 3) Not everyone can afford to engage lawyer like you , and in this sense you are lucky, If You understand yr Right & engage a Lawyer. You really don't hav to pay the Lawyer. You only foot a small part of the total lawyer bill. The loosing party will foot the major portion of the legal fee. Anyway, in terms of enforcement, like i said, someone punch you, you seek lawyer, and see how much $ you need to run up lor. See a Dr & inform Dr that you are taking legal action & will be making Police report to legal action. The Law will take it course & you will be compensated & the other will be charged in Court & pay up whatever is due to You...Medical fee, legal fee, Pain & Suffering etc etc. I have a FREE Prostate Sceening Done in TTSH. Just look out for advertisement.Otherwise if Medical treatment is required. Go to OPD & if surgery or Hospital admission is needed...ask for C or B2 Class admission with 80 - 60% subsidy. I was warded in for a Sleep Disorder check for a night & bill was fully settled by Employer. to be a bit blunt, your employer is footing the bill, not you, thats why you are not feeling the pinch. OK... maybe you are half right & i am half wrong. Yes my Employer foot 60% & balance i paid in CASH. So that my Medisave can remain in CPF to earn 4%. remember that you may not be able to 'leverage' on the company as long, especially when you are beyond the 'ideal' employable age. Yes You are RIGHT & THANKS for the concern....But I have fire my Boss & opted to Retires Early & now just take good care of the Body. Don't forget that some companies will investigate when you start to go too many hospital visits... esp physios. Blame it on our culture or whatever, but thats how some companies are like and not everyone works under the same benefit as yours. Great that you now understand that...now it is time to workout a plan to cover this grey area....No body plan to fail but some failed to plan.. maybe Eat Healthy & Daily 45 mins of Walk & Jog is a good plan too. Just take a good look at the medical costs and see if you can afford to pay it when you are 60 for a couple of weeks. Thanks again for the kind reminder. My whole Family is under a SHIELD Plan & may soon opt to buy a RIDER to cover the Deductible, Co-Insurance & sub-limited for Hospitalisation.......i plan ahead to provide the cover & the balance is really in GOD hand...He will decide. frozen shoulder is not a big thing, i'm talking hospital visits like knee problems, worn out cartilages and generally the 'old persons' problems. A typical poly referred visit to the clinic is $40-50, each theraphy easily $40. Not to mention sometimes after theraphy you may not be able to walk. Agreed ...Age related & can be a burden with regular visit $40-S$60 a visit....maybe see MP or the OPD social worker for a discussion to find some kind of charities or subsidy. When you are working now, its not big deal. Try think about when you get to 60+. Think about your medisave a/c. With the prices per op now. How long before it gets drained out. Oops! I opted for early Retirement & have plan for this contingency long ago too. I think many SG people like to compare with those 'behind' rather than those 'infront'. Only when the EYES can see, than one will realises where, what is available. This allowed one to draw up an action plan to decide going up, down , behind or be infront. It is really a choice indivi make everyday, whether in Sing, Mal, USA or anywhere on Earth. Maybe migrate to the South Pole... But its just different perceptions i suppose... [/reply] 100% Agreed.............just different perceptions .G'Day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Cos sg dun have any royal family to begin with. I thot got Royalee family? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limitedspeed Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Yeh, their chicken rice store's doing well! Think one of the couple parents left money for the kids education before passing on. Well, also don't underestimate a good stall earnings. They were telling me about the Poh Pian store near his stall whereby the the elderly couple take home each month about 3.8 to 4.5K/month. Average queue during peak about 4 to 5 customers mostly take-aways which means average order few per customer (just side track a little caused we're not really into food stalls). But, tough jobs caused many things else they have to be on their feet for long hours Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megatop 3rd Gear January 9, 2008 Share January 9, 2008 Well good hawker stalls can make quite a bit. In fact, very famous ones can earn huge $. Just look at Punggol Nasi Lemak. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...