Creative_tec 2nd Gear December 20, 2007 Share December 20, 2007 If you can make 1m a yr why leave Sg, any country will be a paradise to you. The problem is if you make 60k a yr, with our "super hidden taxation system", what quality of life can you expected here? How much disposable cash will you have after having 2 car with a twin garage house? Oops, here can only afford pigeon hole HDB and maybe 1 car, the wife and kids got to take our world class public transport system. knn, somemore have to pay season parking.... There is a reason why Australia or European country have high taxes. The monies is to take care of the young, old, sick & less unfortunate citizen (social safety net). Over there, you are being taken care of be it you are rich or poor. Ang Mo "Ah Gong" will cover your asses... Your last para is the essence of the whole thing ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear December 20, 2007 Share December 20, 2007 To Trex, no harm done, no hard feelings. To Boyboy, i would at times like to think the expression "frog in a well" is a matter of how our heart receives outside world. It does not matter how much we see, how much we travel, its how much you believe in yourself. We never see aliens, but could you believe that humans are the most intelligent beings in this wide universe? Life could be hard in Singapore, some may still think its the rite lifestyle for them, while others decides on an alternative. There is no rite or wrong, and as i say, we respect each other. i think its all relative to each of us........ depends on how we see we want to lead our lives...... not everyone likes to eat the same dish. even those who likes to eat the same dish, each wants to eat it differently in terms of taste and the kinds of ingredients that goes into the dish..... but one thing we all can agree on abt spore is it is not a place to retire..... we can work and earn our $$ in spore, but to retire with no work, its a NO NO...... even those FTs who came here, they ALL share the same sentiments... they only come here to earn as much $$ as possible, then they will BYE BYE to spore and take all their $ and go back where they come from...... our garment is still hoping to keep FTs as citizens.... hey, those FTs are not stupid. 1 thing that i really HATE our garment is they are holding on to our money and refuse to extend assistance to us when we grow old..... in other countries where they tax u high but they will take care of you when u are old and jobless.... free medical, free assistance..... in spore, the garment forces us to give CPF, and still expect us to work and they give limited assistance.... where's has our CPF $$ gone to? do u know that, in spore in a recent case, just to ask for additional $100 per month to the old ppl, the ministers got to talk abt this in parliament and didnt even get the funding approval, while when the issue abt giving another $1-2 million in salary increment to each minister got immediate approval in parliament hearing? and the worst thing is this additional $100 funding and the ministers' pay rise matters were in the same timing? to give $100 more to the poor is not approved, but to give $1-2 million in pay rise, is approved immediately do u see what are the real objectives of our garment? for me, i dun mind to go to another country, kena tax high on my income, and i feel assured that the garment will take care of me when i'm old.... been old is the most critical stage of life where u are helpless and weak. to die in a dignified manner is the most impt of our life. in spore, been old and helpless, u will still be wondering if our garment will take care of you or not. in other countries, u are assured of garment assistance are in place for aged ppl. of course when we migrate to another country, migrate to a better country with better benefits....... dun be stupid to migrate to a worse-off country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear December 20, 2007 Share December 20, 2007 I still find 40% unacceptable... Moreover, everything you buy, they tax another 17.5% VAT again... Which mean your total tax is around 57.5%... WTF, more than HALF of your hard earn $ goes to tax . At London, I cannot drink 60cent koppi O and 60cent yummy rotti prata... and also my $2.50 Lasak and Lor Mee. You have your own destiny, some ppl find there better which I also think London is a wonderful place except the tax system. But my choice is clear (S'pore) as I don't want pay so much tax and I don't want depart with my friends and family. dun think so short term. u are thinking abt the present when u are still young and working... think abt when u are old and jobless.... that's where u need the garment to take care of u.... in spore, u CAN BE ASSURED that the garment will not take care of u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Creative_tec 2nd Gear December 20, 2007 Share December 20, 2007 good one bro.. Everyday we see elderly in their 70s or 80s, picking up paper cardboard and drink cans just to earn a living... and these people are the one who build the country to where we are today... but what have been done to them? Think of the investment in Shin corp, the aust telecom.. all the money lost... do they really think before doing anything? just divide the amount of $$ lost to the number of elderly who need assistance, i think it is enough to cover their daily expense till they go heaven!!! Everytime when i see old people walking in the rain, carrying and pushing those heavy cans and cardboards just to earn a living, it just make me think of something that the government said.... NO ONE WILL BE LEFT BEHIND! and talk abt democracy, do we really have it in singapore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged December 20, 2007 Share December 20, 2007 do u know that, in spore in a recent case, just to ask for additional $100 per month to the old ppl, the ministers got to talk abt this in parliament and didnt even get the funding approval, this one u can give credit to miss vivian. read my siggy. when i came across the article with his exact comments, i did a double take... just another hypocrite...the little red dot (powerhouse GDP/capita) cannot afford an extra $100 for 3000 NEEDY families/mth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lufu 1st Gear December 20, 2007 Share December 20, 2007 I had initially resisted from responding. I been living in down under region for the past 2 years. There are always flip sides of things. Taxation is high and there are people whose fulltime job is to give birth and collect money from Govt. SG Govt hires all the intelligent scholars, so Govt policies are a lot more intelligent. Taxation is well designed so that you won Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 yeah bro.... i was awfully shocked abt this $100 per month and the $1-2 million pay rise for ministers.... i mean... its bloody disgusting to even think abt it. from this, we know what's in the minds of our garment how to trust them to take care of us when we are old..... and there are so many of us still thinking tat our garment is good, blah blah, will take care of us, blah blah blah, our policies are so efficient, blah blah blah..... take another thing, why our old ppl are not given really special SBS/MRT fares? yes, there is some special concession fares now, but i noticed it comes with alot of T&C... limited time range to enjoy the special fares. why cant it be special for whole day/night? how much can MRT/SBS lose by just giving whole day special price for the old ppl? this brings me to another point..... see those handicapped lifts or whatever ramps that MRT had recently built? this kind of benefit should already be built when they were making the stations and trains.... only recently when they 'upgrade' the stations for these handicapped ppl, they made a news headline 'whooha' abt it.... claiming to spend $1-2 million just for these handicapped come on..... they only built it when some public had to write in to 'complain' or request for them. Nickname "ncss", i hope u are reading this....... this will open yr mind abt how our garment is been run. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 i noticed u were in UK for a short while. just to further add on what u have said abt london and the benefits.... the UK garment has learnt to be smarter in giving out free 'dough' to those jobless. in the past, those jobless ppl just collect the free 'dough' from garment. now, the garment had fine tuned this welfare system by making those jobless ppl to justify why they need the free 'dough' while waiting for a job. those jobless ppl got to register in the jobs centre, making efforts to go for interviews, talk to the job counsellors, write in to apply for suitable jobs. it means the free 'dough' is not that FOC anymore..... the jobless ppl got to report to the garment that they did make efforts on a regular basis to find jobs, before the garment agrees to give the free 'dough' to them. this is good coz it cuts down on social burden and it makes those jobless ppl not to be lazy, and yet the garment is still having this social welfare system for those truly unfortunate ppl. another labor law in UK is those companies are not allowed to sacked or retrench those old ppl or those on maternity leave. the garment is very strict on this. even for a general retrenchment of staff, the garment will step in and make the companies justify why they need to retrench ppl, and the garment will make it hard for companies to retrench. in UK, its very difficult for companies to retrench or sack staff. the MOM ppl there will often make surprise companies visits to check on their HR records (to check on the minimum wages, staff welfare and the conditions the staff is working in). they dun ask the boss to go down to MOM to lim kopi. they, out of surprise, will bring this surprise kopi to the company office and lim with the boss there. in spore, WTF.... there is no min. wages companies can suka suka sack old ppl companies can suka suka retrench ppl our MOM doesnt care abt the companies HR policy or records, until someone write in to complain 'ncss', this is more info for you to see what other countries are doing, comparing to our spore garment is doing.... its a world of difference......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 iirc ,in UK,they also want to raise the minium part time hourly rate from $5+ pound $7+ pound.. btw came across this that their annual wage of 19k pound for a newbie nurse in UK is considered the lowest... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 imho, its pretty difficult to compare policies with different countries without considering other factors (eg. the cost of living, std of living). i wouldn't say london is -the- place to be, as even though they have the min wages and union protection, the costs of living is pretty high, so as to justify their own staff's salary. eg. macs in UK costs 7pounds rather than 7SGD. if we were to head overseas and work then the money sent back to sg is pretty significant... but if we were to spend our money there, imo, its really a different thing altogether. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched December 21, 2007 Share December 21, 2007 (edited) I stayed in UK with "ang mo" for 2 years. You see only the green part... there is red spot also. In S'pore there is some bad policy but there is also good one. I believe no matter how poor a S'porean is... they will not stave to death because you can eat chicken rice at $2.50. But if sick jialat... Actually, it is not as easy to live in UK also if you do not have a decent job due to high living standard. You can see many british beggars around. There are many robbery and break-in which you can easily experience over there. Okay, PM me if you decide to go for election... I will support you with my little effort on my vote. I have confident that you can make the world better by helping ppl. Edited December 21, 2007 by Ncss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear December 22, 2007 Share December 22, 2007 (edited) oh yes, of course u will get higher crime rates in other countries, compared to spore. but u just have to be more street smart in other countries (something that we sporeans are lacking totally, coz our environment is so protected and we are so 'stupid' in other countries) in fact, this point also make us to be a better person in handling difficult situations. dun u want to be a better, more street smart person? its like talking about our own biz men going into china markets and getting conned there of $$. Why? coz our environemnt is so protected here. we never see frauds or dishonest biz practices in spore, and we thought that the rest of the world is the same. so its a good lesson to learn to be more street smart......... u cant use this point of wanting to stay in a protected environment, to avoid learning to be a better person. somehow we got to go out and hit a few times on the head to learn the real facts of life and to know that life in spore is so "fake". u know about the recent case of those overseas phone frauds from china that call u and tell u abt High Court is checking on yr money laundering matter and ask u to key in some number and some chinese gal will talk to u and ask u for yr account numbers? my friend ever ask this china gal why are they doing this to cheat sporeans? u know what the china gal say? she said "because u sporeans are so stupid and so easy to cheat. so naive to this scam and we already cheated so much from sporeans. we will continue to call sporeans" yes, this is the exact words she said. this brings out the point that we are in so protected environment that foreigners see us as stupid ppl...... and another point, WE DO HAVE BEGGARS ON THE STREETS....... we dun see them coz the garment chase them from the streets, coz our spore law prevents beggars to be on the streets. its not that we do not have beggars...... u cancel this law, and u will see as many beggars as in other countries, coming out and sleeping on our spore streets.......... our law cant even allow buskers to be on the streets, without a proper licence. u still think we dun have beggars in spore? Edited December 22, 2007 by Jusnel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear December 22, 2007 Share December 22, 2007 Any country you intend to go to got good and got bad. In Sg it's good for the rich and bad for the middle and poor. Certain oversea country like Aussie will be better for middle and lower income while bad for High income. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 22, 2007 Share December 22, 2007 (edited) ...somehow we got to go out and hit a few times on the head to learn the real facts of life and to know that life in spore is so "fake". ...she said "because u sporeans are so stupid and so easy to cheat. so naive to this scam and we already cheated so much from sporeans. we will continue to call sporeans" ...yes, this is the exact words she said. this brings out the point that we are in so protected environment that foreigners see us as stupid ppl...... (1)When I first stepped foot in Shanghai, the first thing I needed to learn was how to cross the road. Yes, literally. We have been too protected by our "right of way" here. (2)Not to mention native Singaporeans. I have China friends who came to Singapore 10 years ago and raised their kids here. When the parents bring their kids back to China, the kids asked their perents why don't the China people queue up and why do they always spit on the floor. The China kids (raised in Singapore) have problem integrating back into China. Edited December 22, 2007 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched December 22, 2007 Share December 22, 2007 I don't think cheaters and dishonest practices are smart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear December 22, 2007 Share December 22, 2007 i'm saying knowing abt cheaters and dishonest practices is been street smart.... not doing it, bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged December 22, 2007 Share December 22, 2007 save your breath bro, you cannot make him see your point of view. every little bit he can argue his point and weaken your point, he will. look at his one liner telling you cheating and dishonest practice is no good. obviously you are trying to tell him about being street smart to avoid being cheated. when he cannot argue win you, he will resort to PAP tactics. use red herring, strawman and FUD. pointless arguing, some people will always think they are "right". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched December 22, 2007 Share December 22, 2007 (edited) okay... I am not so street smart... that's why I want to stay in protected place . Actually I am not protecting S'pore and I agree with some of your comments... just that I don't want to migrate at the moment as I feel good living here currently. Anyway nowadays transportation is so advance... I If like any place, I will go there tour a few days. Maybe when I gets older, I will migrate depends on situation... Edited December 22, 2007 by Ncss ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...