Barachomp Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 any bro/sis here thought of migrating? i m in serious consideration of moving out of SG. sick n tired of the gahmen here, just trying every mean of squeezing $$ from the peasants. wats the diff from monachy? simply put.. it is lim peh money.. u r not going to tell me in any way how should i or should i not spend it.. but basically.. it boils down to wat u wan in life.. can SG provide u with wat u wan.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 -Security - Food - Systematic - Order =========================== 1. Security -> yes we have rather safe environment here and relatively good police security. But we see same level of security in other countries like aussie. 2. food -> ermz our north neighbour beats us in this anytime, like bak kut teh, kfc, etc 3. systematic -> or rather autocratic although it is declared we are "democratic" with no say 4. order - what order? order from gahment...yeah man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spas Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 personally, i can live comfortably in the forseeable future with my kind of spending (stay 3 rm flat and drive cheepo car). but i dunno abt the "lower class", those may have a really hard time Shakehead No offense intended, but perhaps try thinking further than your current "comfortable" lifestyle. What if someone falls seriously ill? Meets an accident? Hospital bills can easily go up to almost a six digit figure. With the so-called "safety nets" that our medisave and CPF provides, you still have to foot a huge part of the bill. What then? What happens to your three-room flat and cheapo car? What happens to your simple spending habits? And what about the possibility of other factors? Loss of employment? Bad investment choices? Crazy inflation? Massive layoffs experienced by many members of your family? Your three-room middle income lifestyle could easily become the "lower class" that you mentioned you "dunno abt". Then perhaps you may have a first hand account to speak of. Sadly, many Singaporeans share your perspective of life. The lack of foresight will be the death of those without it. By death I don't mean literally. But sadly in some cases that word holds too literal a definition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spas Neutral Newbie December 14, 2007 Share December 14, 2007 (edited) Singaporeans really have a hard deal against foreign talent. Of course we have certain exclusivities that FT sdon't have. HDBs... and... well nothing else. Unless you wanna count NS as a privilege. The government is ever-increasingly opening our doors wider to Foreign Talent. The gap between citizens' benefits and foreigner's benefits is getting narrower. While we toil two years (or more) in NS, FTs are working their way up the corporate ladder. By the time we ORD and graduate from our local Unis - which incidentally are also flooded with foreigners - we are well-timed to become subordinates of the FTs who had a headstart. To make things worse, we also have to compete with the foreigners who graduate from our local unis for the same jobs. Our children will also face the same difficulties. Singapore is really great. We have a booming tourism industry, and skyrocketing financial services sector. So how do we benefit fully from our nation's wealth? Become an FT. Migrate to Australia or the US. After five years, come right back to Singapore on a worker's visa. Stay long enough perhaps get a PR. Get the benefits and cash without having to suffer through reservist. Let your children keep their foreign citizenship so even they can enjoy the stability and tranquility of Singapore without having to spend a day in BMT and still have the option to run if cost of living in Singapore gets too high or stuff's simply falling apart. In fact, some FTs are leaving cos things are getting too expensive. FTs can run. Singaporeans just have to bear with it. Really, need I say more? Grow with Singapore. Become an FT. Edited December 14, 2007 by Spas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 i do appreciate ur concern. maybe i did not specify that i hope to keep my simple spending habits even after my wife and i start earning our combined will be abt $5k gross for starters, not a big deal but comfortable for thrifty, early 20s pple. we don't intend to have kids. that's why i say i feel secure . there are many people who earn abt there, stay in a bigger house and have kids. foresight? i shall not take offense at the fact that u conveniently assumed i've revealed my full financial planning in that previous post. i may not be rich in the next decade, but i know i have nothing to worry abt. btw, we qualified for 3-room flat by the virtue that my wife and i aren't working yet. gonna start pretty soon . strike while the iron is hot. otherwise the moment we start work cannot qualify for 3-room liao i feel secure, but the gist of my prev post is that i am concerned for the folks who are really not so well off Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 (edited) haa. i can see no end to this... theres always 2 sides. lets not try to put our own label on someone else thinking. Cheers. Edited December 15, 2007 by Wind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 yes... bangc0ck... dun believe ask QPik or LadX. NKPeeSai sure Q 1 week ahead to go. i've been to Bk. fun place to be in. cars are cheap too and things cheap. but the pollution is terrible. jam is ten times worse than sg. i love bk, hk. but to live in these cities, i rather not. of course, its down to each own preference Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 not smack in the city center lah... along the outskirt, or downskirt.. i mean not down town. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sickscientist Clutched December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 Downunder or Brunei maybe.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sickscientist Clutched December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 (edited) No, its not the procedure... Family issues... Edited December 15, 2007 by Sickscientist Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 i suppose financially, if u get a job there and get paid in SG dollar, and similar to pay in SG, u can really get along very along. Buy a nice car and its yours forever. fuel cheap too. u prob can send home at least 1k a month, also get a beautiful Thai wife. from what i understand, most thai chinese are teochews and my, i was quite stunned by what i saw. mostly better looking than sg. but the locals dont live that well. quite a lot of poor. even the outskirts is not all that pleasant and language barrier is a headache. but with the kind of money we earn in SG, spending power in BK is great. so i guess its mainly, financial & some fun thrown into it that makes Bk better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 Yeah, try migrating to a danish country... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 Different leh. NZ/Oz farmer manage the land. Asian farmers till the land. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 well if u like to move on.. middle east is the place to b at now. triple the pay, no tax, chirp medical, chirp fuel and good pension but high housing cost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 How is the security at Middle-east? Risk of war? Any language problem? Which are the more lucrative industries besides oil? What types of talents are most sought after, over there? Sorry, my head is full of question marks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 NP.. plenty of Quitters there, competing with FTs. Qatar and Duabi definitely the place to b. wat talent.. all forms. construction, finance, etc. no risk of security although a couple of dude/ dudette kena sexually assualted even in saudi. but heck, in some niteclub, u might b wondering which part of china tat place is... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 NP.. plenty of Quitters there, competing with FTs. Qatar and Duabi definitely the place to b. wat talent.. all forms. construction, finance, etc. But I am trained in microelectronics R&D and semiconductor. There seems to be no wafer fab there. With my humble skill-set, I can't even qualify to be a construction worker there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear December 15, 2007 Share December 15, 2007 ya.. tough. u may find opp there. can try pudong shanghai, pay sud b higher then singapore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...