Migrating

Yeshe

Don't need to migrate lah. Just work on an overseas assignment. Better still, stay in a different country for a couple of years at a time. Then at the end of it all, see whether your point of view has change....

This is a wise approach.[thumbsup]

It is all relative lah....

I am working overseas right now and I personally know many Singaporeans that are working overseas and I got to tell you that not everyone is thinking of migrating when they are out of SG.

Personally I feel that working overseas offer much more flexibility rather than simply migrating.

So I am not sure what push factor are you talking about?

frankly i think u shouldnt be referring to the rest of us here as in well. I do find it offensive.

every country has got its good and bad. at the end of the day, there could be just something such as families that makes u want to stay. or u could say we have had our roots here.

having live in another country for a few years probably does not say much of anything, u are still a visitor there. perhaps when u becomes a citizen of the place then u will realise that u do need to contribute to the society just like in sg, and not being able to enjoy the place anymore as much as a visitor.

at the end of the day we respect each other's decision.

You are right, i apologize for the insensitive remark. I also agree with you that most ppl are reluctant to migrate mostly because of family or aged parent here.

[sweatdrop] And what are u going to do to survive? Become a farmer?

Surely u have to do sth and occupy your time. Looking at mountain and grass all the time can go [dizzy] . [laugh]

yes become a farmer. Each dairy farmer in NZ getting $800K payout [jawdrop]

http://www.stuff.co.nz/4322796a6430.html

changes my entire perspective about farming. Want to become a farmer, do it in developed countries like Aust/NZ obviously not asian farmers

Edited by Lufu

wat u say or feel is only becos u think u r at the bottom of the food chain and it dun feel good to b squeezed out.

most of us dun mind work hard, slog our butts, play hard, act mutt but dun pay us dud. bottomline: dun shortchange us.

i've seen this coming a long long time ago but nobody believe. just like pple who still doubts the integrity of the clown CSJ.

but hey, did he make sense outta the book on the "new Poor?"

if u hv voted for the RP, it is time to stand up as ur obligation to tell them and keep reminding them of their election promise. u got to keep them working day in and day out, just like a indo maid. make ur every ct worth. otherwise it is no diff now coming back to ur home, the maid laying naked on the sofa with her blanga cleaner bf, and asked u to make them dinner cos he's staying for the nite. the maid become no big no small.

do some traveling. not just to first world countries but 3rd world. don't forget that at most, we are a tiny dot w/o a single natural resource. you've got some countries with fuel, diamonds and gold and worse off. i'm not saying SG is perfect. But would u rather live elsewhere in east asia?

Have been thinking also, but

my parents no speak England, so if migrate cannot go to Non mandarin speaking countries, ie... only HK, Macau, PRC... [:/]

Maybe another 10 years more when China become POWER and sak sak bo chio country and migrate with my folks over there.

i know he apologised, but i must say that many pple here are like frog in the well, or worse.

i am one, for e.g. [flowerface]

there's one type, who think singapore is the best place, never see true 1st world countries before.

there's another type, complain stuff here ex, but dun dare to even go malaysia, say malaysia too dangerous..

just examples for u... but of course not everyone falls into these two categories. for me, i have not travelled much (occasional family holidays dun count).

To Trex, no harm done, no hard feelings.

To Boyboy, i would at times like to think the expression "frog in a well" is a matter of how our heart receives outside world. It does not matter how much we see, how much we travel, its how much you believe in yourself.

We never see aliens, but could you believe that humans are the most intelligent beings in this wide universe?

Life could be hard in Singapore, some may still think its the rite lifestyle for them, while others decides on an alternative. There is no rite or wrong, and as i say, we respect each other.

... only becos u think u r at the bottom of the food chain and it dun feel good to b squeezed out...

I want to climb to the top of the food chain!!!

wat u say or feel is only becos u think u r at the bottom of the food chain and it dun feel good to b squeezed out.

most of us dun mind work hard, slog our butts, play hard, act mutt but dun pay us dud. bottomline: dun shortchange us.

i've seen this coming a long long time ago but nobody believe. just like pple who still doubts the integrity of the clown CSJ.

but hey, did he make sense outta the book on the "new Poor?"

if u hv voted for the RP, it is time to stand up as ur obligation to tell them and keep reminding them of their election promise. u got to keep them working day in and day out, just like a indo maid. make ur every ct worth. otherwise it is no diff now coming back to ur home, the maid laying naked on the sofa with her blanga cleaner bf, and asked u to make them dinner cos he's staying for the nite. the maid become no big no small.

i agree with you. too bad, my area always walkover during election, no chance to even smell opp. so rather than hope and pray for some new good opp party to surface, i rather look at the survival tactics to employ in SG, all these while planning for retirement in the new country. laws in SG are such a way whereby it will always benefit the rich and attract investors. the normal working peasants will just be the pawns to sustain this infrastructure. at the end of the day, u will just keep hearing more pay rise for the ministers.

there's one type, who think singapore is the best place, never see true 1st world countries before.

no offence, but there are some people who prefer to be pawn. its like in MATRIX, do you wanna to be the battery?

Life could be hard in Singapore, some may still think its the rite lifestyle for them, while others decides on an alternative. There is no rite or wrong, and as i say, we respect each other.

actually the typical singaporean is educated to think this way, kiasi and kiasu. thats wat the government wants and thats the process of how the population is transformed into an obedient 'workforce'

actually i dun mind being pawn if it is comfortable.

personally, i can live comfortably in the forseeable future with my kind of spending (stay 3 rm flat and drive cheepo car). but i dunno abt the "lower class", those may have a really hard time [shakehead]