Yeshe Turbocharged January 6, 2008 Author Share January 6, 2008 darn... just heard 2 of my buddies are migrating.. earliest is end of this yr after the paperwork is done... they even bought house leow.. and the 3rd one, in 2 yrs' time so maybe you should join them ?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 frankly speaking, i'd love to.. but the issue is with our folks.. they wanna stick their butts here, and we (wife and i) can't simply leave them (4 of them ) here.. coming back yearly and visit them isn't an option too.. cos this means we can only see them about 30-40 times(?) before they enter heaven.. no way man.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 6, 2008 Author Share January 6, 2008 u know wat? there is an option that you could take. first, go get PR in the country of interest. after afew yrs, get the citizenship. you can come back to SG to be PR then, or on social visit pass. after your parents 'leave', you can move back to your own country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged January 7, 2008 Share January 7, 2008 yes.. its an option.. plans not firmed though.. btw, do u know anything about "security deposit", aka ransom $$$ if u got a son? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newsman 1st Gear January 7, 2008 Share January 7, 2008 My 2 cents... Some real life situation i came across over the past 35 years & you decide. 1986 S'porean man study & stay on to works & married in Aus. Came back with Kid to Sing & cannot adapt to Sing work culture. Die die mus go back to Aus. 1999 Sing Couple study & stay on in Aus & 2 Kids born as Aus Citizen. Only to return to Sing bcos want Kids to study Chinese Lang. Have to decide before Kids turn 17 to do Sing NS or give up Sing NRIC. A Few Singaporean Relatives migrate with plenty of S$ in the Mid 1990. Now fly to & fro bcos miss Family, Friends & Hawker Food. Currently in close contact with lots of professional /rich Korean, Japanese & China national...here . Japanese hate the Winter at Home, love the lower the cost of Living but not the Housing rental now!....Japanese love the Sunny Singapore weather. Korean are here to pick up English & Chinese Lang. China National love the peace & clean & organised country. Me also think migration before but give up that thinking...still find Sillypore affordable, peaceful, clean, organise, efficient....so stay & retires here but move abt every 5 to 6 months oversea for 3-5 weeks holidays. This way enjoy best of both world. Happy that my Sillypore Passport is welcome in most places i travelled to. Only think twice, thrice & many more times in JB & KL. Very scary in Mal Boleh Country. They Car jack, Rape & Rob Sillypore pples of S$ & happily covert to 2 X to M Ringgits. Take my 2 cents view...no offence intended & decide what is best for you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged January 7, 2008 Share January 7, 2008 No worries bro, forum is for sharing. all opinions and viewpoints are appreciated Yes, your examples are real situations which I've heard of, esp the OZ adapt in SG part. For my case, I'm considering it as a 'backup plan'. I still prefer sg environment, and currently am able to afford to stay quite comfortably. But I can't say the same 20-30 or more yrs down. For instance, we are already experiencing the worse inflation in years.. and I'm not optimistic of it to become any better.. When I'm 60, lost my earning power, and if I fall sick, then I have to eat grass and prepare to join/turn into soil leow.. SG gahmen sure won't help.. as for Welfare countries, there's still a need to research further whether the ang moh 'ah gong' really helps. Also, I am concerned about my kids having to grow up and compete in such a competitive environment. At least with a PR status on hand, options are available, whether to 'rough it out', or run road then return when situation turns better.. (pardon for sounding selfish) Haiz.. my buddies' plans really set me thinking hard... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear January 7, 2008 Share January 7, 2008 You would not need any "Bond" if your son is below 12yr of age. If above, i think it's 80k or something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 7, 2008 Author Share January 7, 2008 Currently in close contact with lots of professional /rich Korean, Japanese & China national...here . Japanese hate the Winter at Home, love the lower the cost of Living but not the Housing rental now!....Japanese love the Sunny Singapore weather. Korean are here to pick up English & Chinese Lang. China National love the peace & clean & organised country. do you know why these foreigners like it here? i can also tell you most of these foreigners are rich staying in condos/pte housing. i can also tell you that most of them will be PR; how many will give up their own citizenship and get their next generation to complete NS here? Yes, SG is stable, clean, safe country, for investment. that is why it attracted so many overseas investors, or else how can your ministers ask for $2-3Mil a yr? at the end of the day, the japs, koreans, taiwanese, etc will return home to retire after enjoy the peace and security during their days in SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged January 7, 2008 Share January 7, 2008 (edited) Read this. Quality of life in Singapore is rated by Mercer as higher than Tokyo,London, Milan at a fraction of the costs. http://www.citymayors.com/features/quality_survey.html Edited January 7, 2008 by Davidtkl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newsman 1st Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 (edited) These Rich Foreigners planned & move ahead & decided Singapore as their next base PR camp & may move on again. Likewise Singaporean if plan wisely ahead, works hard & spend wisely. Will surely be able to join the Foreigners league too. I must admit that S'pore is highly competitive & stressful city for most. So it is a....Beat Them or Join Them situation..... & hopefully with good planning, may have a Better Choice in future. In S'pore at least I can feel my Taxes PAID are put to good use. Good Road, Green & Clean Park, Medical Facilities, Good Law & Order...low crimes which most take for granted. Just visits some Corrupt Countries & feel the difference. Edited January 8, 2008 by Newsman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 (edited) In S'pore at least I can feel my Taxes PAID are put to good use. Good Road, Green & Clean Park, Medical Facilities, Good Law & Order...low crimes which most take for granted. Just visits some Corrupt Countries & feel the difference. I don't quite agree with the last bit, why pay taxes to enforcers when all they can tell you is to file civil suit when someone punch you or car kenna vandalise? Medical facilities, have you been seeking medical aid recently? As for road maint, its funded by road tax. how about your income taxes? Edited January 8, 2008 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Eeerm...this also happens when one is in Malaysia I think... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newsman 1st Gear January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 (edited) I don't quite agree with the last bit, why pay taxes to enforcers when all they can tell you is to file civil suit when someone punch you or car kenna vandalise? Medical facilities, have you been seeking medical aid recently? As for road maint, its funded by road tax. how about your income taxes? Rule of Law Share with you another of my Car Accident in the year 2000 in Woodland. My Car was bumped from the back. The Lorry Driver refused to settle on the spot & thus was referred to Police " enforcers " & Insurer. Thereafter, the Insurer offered $3500 to settle Car Repairs & medical Bills but not WhipLash Injuries ( Neck Pain..just likes pinch nerve ) whiched lasted several weeks.. Engaged a Law Firm to act on my behalf. The Insurer finally paid & settled at $13500 two years later. Just remember the proper procedure & the Rule Of Law will act in your favour whether it is someone who punch you or record the Vandal & take tape to the Police. I have a FREE Prostate Sceening Done in TTSH. Just look out for advertisement. Otherwise if Medical treatment is required. Go to OPD & if surgery or Hospital admission is needed...ask for C or B2 Class admission with 80 - 60% subsidy. I was warded in for a Sleep Disorder check for a night & bill was fully settled by Employer. A Friend Wife was referred to Physiotherpy for a Frozen Shoulder @ $15 - $25 a session. He (Huby) followed along & noted the Physio Therapist actions & excercise going on. He came home & work on the Wife Shoulder at home 3 x a day. On the next visit, aweek later the Physio was surprised at the fast recovery. So we can & should help ourself to save on Taxi fare, Times & Physiotherapy or Hospital cost. It is manageable if we try a little harder. Our Taxes are in good Hand. Recently LTA even send me a PARF PAPER for S$3XX for a car sold 3 yrs back. Found & Sold in Auto MegaMart "LAKE VIEW CREDIT" for S$3XX. You will never smell Refund in Mal or Ind country. I AM A Thankful S'porean. So far never find my car submerge under flooding water since 1973 or crashed into unlit road or pothole but I accepted Vandalism as part of Life in this Stressful City and there again it is much better than being CarJack or Extorted in Fuel Pump. Again ...I am the careful & take charge of my own safety. You can too! Edited January 8, 2008 by Newsman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 http://calamariforthought.blogspot.com/200...healthcare.html And I heard from Malaysian friends, that Childbirth is only RM$1.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 8, 2008 Author Share January 8, 2008 In S'pore at least I can feel my Taxes PAID are put to good use. Good Road, Green & Clean Park, Medical Facilities, Good Law & Order...low crimes which most take for granted. Just visits some Corrupt Countries & feel the difference. Sorry, absolutely disagree with this statement, especially one in BOLD. Taxes we paid are used to pay our elite gahmen salaries 2-3times what other world leaders are getting ? Taxes we paid are being used in overseas investments that failed miserably? Taxes we paid are for high salaries to kerb corruption ?? Taxes we paid are for building more ERP gantries so that we are being taxed more?? medical facilities, what is that??? Just visit some 1st world countries & feel the difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 8, 2008 Author Share January 8, 2008 Read this. Quality of life in Singapore is rated by Mercer as higher than Tokyo,London, Milan at a fraction of the costs. http://www.citymayors.com/features/quality_survey.html aiyo, i thought SG will be ranked top 3 cities... 34 nia mah again, when it comes to retirement, it might not be city life that you will be looking for Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged January 8, 2008 Share January 8, 2008 Please name some of the first world countries you mentioned please? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 8, 2008 Author Share January 8, 2008 You have the survey, those top 33 should be better? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...