Worth to Scrap High COE Car ?

Guanleng

Hi All ,

I bought my Vios at $66000 June 2004 , registered on 3 Sep 2004 .

OMV $12,149 , COE $28,331.00

Loan $46000 ( 70% ) - 7 year

still Owed Bank 20+ k .

Would it be advisable to scrap my car and buy a 2005/2006 2nd hand car ? ( Altis / Civic / Lancer / Colt )

Do i need to top up any cash ? Any dealer around ?

Thanks !

No lah...

- i dun wish to downpayment.

- installment ard $500 ~ $600+- per mth.

- prefer 7 yr loan.

- wanna get back cash for my current car.

Choice available is either a 2nd hand car, or a Eurovan (When the COE is cheap).

Nowadays where got get back money, when u sell car unless u dun wan 2 drive anymore.

assuming u get $5K back, u still hv 2 pay installment 4 e 2nd hand car.Oso u hv 2 pay higher interest, transfer fees, shorter repayment period meanin higher installment

Let me try to suggest:-

sell your house if it is not within 5 min walking distance to any MRT station.

downgrade to a smaller house within 5 min to mrt.

if work place is not near mrt, change to one that is near mrt

sell car

take mrt

weekend outing :any place near MRt

if feel itch to drive, go for free test drives.

life is full of choices. [:)]

I am in same situation as you, bought my car in Mar 2004 at high price. I will have to decide whether to change it on the 5th year or continue to drive till COE ends. In my opinion, is better for you to drive a while longer till the 5th year. Anyway you will be getting paper + body value if u sell now. So why not wait and see. Don't anyhow jump from one hole to another. Nowadays buying car is easy, but getting rid is hard.

OMV = $12,149

COE = $28,331

Loan 7 years, $46k

I assume interest at 2.5% PA and you start paying your 1st installment on Sep 04.

Answer: Your breakeven date is Apr 07. Assume your scrap metal = $0/-. After paying off bank, you will have $2500/- in your pocket if you scrap in Dec 07.

Edited by Redwood

I think you can look into the following options,

1. Status Quo - i.e. Continue to drive this car

2. Scrap car and don't drive anymore

3. Scrap car and buy a second hand car

4. Scrap car and buy a new car

5. Repeat option 2 to 4, but ask some agent to sell your car

Measure of Effectiveness (MOE)

1. Total cost of ownership (10 years)

2. Monthly installment or yearly expenses on car's fixed cost

Edited by Redwood