Rskeisuke Clutched December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 my car manual states to use GL-4 75W-85 for my manual transmission gear oil but many brands selling are 75W-90. Can use? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drifter_bathroom Neutral Newbie December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 Maybe can, some of them even use 20W 50 n claimed its gd! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 50/50 Redline MTL & MT-90 will produce 75w85. Just nice for your tranny. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 What is the interval to change manual gear oil? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskeisuke Clutched December 18, 2007 Author Share December 18, 2007 in my manual it's stated filled for life, but the local AD puts it in the 40k servicing package... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskeisuke Clutched December 18, 2007 Author Share December 18, 2007 in fact, i'm about to head for your place to buy, just dunno which to get. one fella driving my same make experience difficult shifting after using MT-90, any truth? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 i give two thumbs up for MT90 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear December 18, 2007 Share December 18, 2007 Depends. What car and model are your ride? 75w85 look like Nissan spec. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahloong Neutral Newbie December 19, 2007 Share December 19, 2007 i thought only A/T need oil change? M/T also got to change oil meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear December 19, 2007 Share December 19, 2007 (edited) What is the interval to change manual gear oil? Practice is 40,000km But many bo chap one .... They say can use for life time Edited December 19, 2007 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear December 19, 2007 Share December 19, 2007 (edited) Bro, of course must change lah ... Where got lifetime oil one ... Else all those automotive & lubricant workshop will close shop liao Edited December 19, 2007 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic December 19, 2007 Share December 19, 2007 My car only 20k, when I change the mtf out. Looking at the brownish, black fluid that comes out, makes me to glad to change it. Of coz, the manual says no need to change, ever. It's up to you to decide, but I would do it every 40k or 60k for peace of mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 19, 2007 Share December 19, 2007 in SG considered lifetime, cuz car life expectancy in SG only 3yrs after that change car liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear December 19, 2007 Share December 19, 2007 That's provided that one's pocket is deep enough Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
West_end Neutral Newbie December 19, 2007 Share December 19, 2007 Am riding a conti-make car for the last 9.5 years and have not encounter any problem that is due to not changing of the gear oil. If the car' manual states that the oil is for life(no need to change), I would absolutely not heed advice to do otherwise. Period Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear December 19, 2007 Share December 19, 2007 (edited) Manufacturer definition of "for life oil" is the lifespan of the warranty, not life of the car. Anything after the warranty period is your own business. Edited December 19, 2007 by Trex101 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskeisuke Clutched December 19, 2007 Author Share December 19, 2007 Depends. What car and model are your ride? 75w85 look like Nissan spec. cerato.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear December 19, 2007 Share December 19, 2007 Kia and Hyundai manual tranny are known for their hard shifting. As your car need 3qt of manual oil, i would recommend 2qt MTL and the rest MT-90 . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...