Starting pay

Jayk

Just curious, what is the current benchmark in starting pay for business graduates in the various industries? Assuming applicant is grad from local university?

What about managment associates in banks?

Consulting companies?

Edited by Jayk

This per month figure of 4k includes 13th month and expected bonuses, or pure gross per month? 4k is a lot for a fresh grad, unless really outstanding and selected through some special scheme.

I know some banks' management associate scheme are very competitive, like a scholarship or something like that. Then, 4k is a possibility. If it's just run-of-the-mill job or position, with a business degree, still can get so high?

If your figure is accurate and from real sources, then it's no wonder that youngsters are shunning engineering courses these days... Need to UP the PAY, instead of having more campaigns promoting engineering studies... [gossip]

4K starting pay for a local business fresh grad??? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh], even with 13th mths bonus, HP & transport alowance, think its on the extreme high side liao lah. I just employed 2 local business grad at $2.2K yet my boss told me I;m too generous [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] fyi, 4K is consider middle mgmt pay liao.. eg Ass Manager.

unless u r refering to sales job, 4K is still possible, but still, not the 1st year cos u still need to built up ur customer base...

Nope, not sales job. Thats what my juniors are being paid at entry level, non officer position.

$3.5k to $4k per month for 12 months. Bonus not included yet. bonus is about 3 to 6 mths.

10 yrs ago, i was paid $2,200 as a fresh grad in the same position.

Before you post those emoticons, plse consider the fact that even different sectors within the same industry pay differently.

FYI, in my industry, middle management is 4 - 5 times of $4k excluding bonus.

so there.

Edited by Throttle

4-5 times of $4k is alot considering its only middle management. I suppose this is also in line with the 'booming' financial sector as of now. Wonder whats gonna happen during bad times.

This per month figure of 4k includes 13th month and expected bonuses, or pure gross per month? 4k is a lot for a fresh grad, unless really outstanding and selected through some special scheme.

I know some banks' management associate scheme are very competitive, like a scholarship or something like that. Then, 4k is a possibility. If it's just run-of-the-mill job or position, with a business degree, still can get so high?

If your figure is accurate and from real sources, then it's no wonder that youngsters are shunning engineering courses these days... Need to UP the PAY, instead of having more campaigns promoting engineering studies... [gossip]

you are right, it is clearly not run of the mill job. But run of the mill type in my industry, will still get $2.5k to $3.5k for fresh grad.

I also envious leh.

4K starting pay for a local business fresh grad??? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh], even with 13th mths bonus, HP & transport alowance, think its on the extreme high side liao lah. I just employed 2 local business grad at $2.2K yet my boss told me I;m too generous [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] fyi, 4K is consider middle mgmt pay liao.. eg Ass Manager.

unless u r refering to sales job, 4K is still possible, but still, not the 1st year cos u still need to built up ur customer base...

One of my friend got $8k [sweatdrop][sweatdrop] Barclays Operations Analyst

Yes, in line with thread starter's questions.

i think it's more of how people perceive of hierarchies and levels.

in many big global institutions, the hierarchy is flatter than local firms. so the pay range is wider. therefore a junior executive in a global firm may earn in the range of $5k to $8k per month excl. Bonus.

Just curious, what is the current benchmark in starting pay for business graduates in the various industries? Assuming applicant is grad from local university?

What about managment associates in banks?

Consulting companies?

I was asking because I might be applying for a mgmt associate position or a position at consultanting company...

So just wanted to know more about the market......

u r rite, diff sectors are paying differently for their entry level, infact, even within the same industry, companies are paying differently for the entry level . When I was in F&B in 1997, I was only paid for 1800/mth (honor deg in Biz Admin). I've been working in F&B Inds, Hotel Inds, Building Mgmt Inds, Public Trans Inds & Logistic .. and friends who worked in banking Inds(Local), Gov Sector, Logistic, Construction, Electronic & etc...

Never come across any entry level at 4K for the past 10 yrs, thats Y i use those emo icons. Maybe u can share with us which company are u refering to? I'm seriously interested to know so that I can prove to my idiot boss that our company pay is seriously underpaying the staff...

cheers! [thumbsup]

My advice to you is to seek knowledge and possibilities instead of money at entry level.

no. 2, remember there is no free lunch. If you expect a high salary, you can expect that the employer is expecting a lot more than he is paying you.

the complain that i get from my young friends who get $5 to $8k for their entry level job is that they work like hell often 14 to 16hrs a day.

best.