Starting pay

Jayk

4K starting pay for a local business fresh grad??? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh], even with 13th mths bonus, HP & transport alowance, think its on the extreme high side liao lah. I just employed 2 local business grad at $2.2K yet my boss told me I;m too generous [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] fyi, 4K is consider middle mgmt pay liao.. eg Ass Manager.

unless u r refering to sales job, 4K is still possible, but still, not the 1st year cos u still need to built up ur customer base...

Bro, your company under paying them at $2.2k laioz. Even gov job, they now give $2.6k for fresh grad. admin based. For eng based is $2.9k

Different industry varies but I suppose the norm is $2-3k. Agree with what throttle said, first job go for the experience and industry that you like to acquire first then money next as it is another painful experience should you step in wrong industry and want to change later. Also there is no free lunch, some pay are higher but expectations and hours are longer.

The typical working hour for Mckinsey and such (what TS is looking at) ranges from 10-14 hours and they churn out reports after reports after attending meetings with clients. Sounds very glam but the work behind the scene is shiit. So you actually lose lots of valuable personal time in exchange for higher pay and bragging rights (if you like to brag that is) that you work for the top management consultancy and draw a much higher salary compared to your peers.

Even one of our own local banks is matching the international banks in their pay for MA programs. Now is still good times, banks are flushed with cash, they can pay more to attract n retain the better ones.

Banks always pay the best during good times. They hire fast, but they also fire fast in downtimes which could be coming soon. It's not unheard of to close an entire department. This is already happening in the US big banks.

SMEs mostly stay SMEs coz they dun see the need to pay as good and would suffice with standard to average talent. Cost is lower, but they'll always stay as SMEs, so have to see from the boss's directive, does he just want to continue to maintain the biz at its size or he wants to really grow. Human talent at the right price is always the hardest to debate over but i feel it's the most critical skill in making a company shine.

Fresh grad can get 2.5 to 3.5 ah..

Got to wrk 7 days a week issit.

Last time back in 2005 me fresh grad with no honours..got one local bank quoted 1.7K gross. [laugh]

4K starting pay for a local business fresh grad??? [laugh] [laugh] [laugh], even with 13th mths bonus, HP & transport alowance, think its on the extreme high side liao lah. I just employed 2 local business grad at $2.2K yet my boss told me I;m too generous [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] fyi, 4K is consider middle mgmt pay liao.. eg Ass Manager.

unless u r refering to sales job, 4K is still possible, but still, not the 1st year cos u still need to built up ur customer base...

Foreign bank who hand pick those managment trainee earmark for 'private bankers' are able to get about 3.5k gross per month - hence plus bonus + perks - it justify the 4k.

Neverthelss it is not a 9-5 working hours...

I was thinking... of either applying for one of these jobs or starting out a company with enrichment courses for young adults. (JC/ITE) I have certain materials which really interesting and applicable... ...

What you guys think?

How many years experience? Quite difficult for a freshie to get $8k per month excluding bonus

8K per month exclude bonuses? i am making more than that and i dun have a degree [lipsrsealed]

wah, I super underpaid liao.....

must ask for big big raise.

[:/]

yeah better ask for a big pay rise or the door is always open for you [lipsrsealed]