Ahbengdriver 6th Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 Some jokers who post and comment on certain makes/models of cars do not own and its probably safe to also say many have not even driven it(am not referring to a 10 mins test drive type) that such car before so all the talk is much like you hear from someone, read from some magazine, from topgear, 5th gear, taken from other forums. As I said, just get a pack of popcorns the next time u come back to this thread ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilli_crab 2nd Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 Very well-said! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 I think your first statement is rather personal... you dun know me... some may take offence you know...ha again... you can read thru my posts again... i did not say i "dispise" , i said some IL-6 despise... there are no extremes in my most... i say most 320's owners just want the badge... most hor not all... its the masses that defines the image...not 1 or 2 unique person/s or individual/s. and pls not again on all these "sales" or "i know who" talk... come on lah... nobody talks like tat in real life... of coz we won't put down a person up front who drives a 320/520 ... its just the perception... you can't change that... relax lah... back to car talk... haha... put it simply(maybe you can answer this one)... why is the street full of 320s? izzit becoz its value for money or its a fast car? What;s the overriding factor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazybugger 1st Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 has any bros here ever tried the IL6 CHEVY EPICA? currently got to be the cheapest IL6 car available in the market? wonder if it's worth it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miketow Neutral Newbie March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 Let's put some things into perspective. I think the whole IL6/IL4 issue has persisted (and will continue) for a valid reason. Lets say BMW's other rival... the C-Class. Most people drive the 1.8L 0r 2.0L variant - yet, nobody really gives a rats behind why they do so right? - why? Perhaps MB was never "legendary" for their engines - so everyone bought it for the prestidge first - so its OK. (it seems) BMW's fame on the other hand - was always technology driven (ie - its 6 Cylinder Engines) and only in the last decade did it come to its own as a luxury prestige marque some food for thought? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miketow Neutral Newbie March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 I thik its akin to your favourite Indy band which nobody listened to except you - and then suddenly they win the MTV awards and suddenly your mother has their CD. Maybe it irrtates like that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 (edited) <<> i dunno... it is neither value for money nor is it a fast car. hmmm, maybe have to see what the buyer acknowledges as "value" in the "value for money" part. or it could be people having the herd mentality.... if you are young, educated and making $6k - $10k a month, must buy 320 to drive. in fact among many young 20-something doctors, lawyers and bankers who just started work, this is the mentality. in Singapore it takes guts to "be different", because most of us are afraid to be ridiculed by our peers. Edited March 12, 2008 by Viceroymenthol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 C Class 4 cylinder are all 1.8 litre supercharged, whether C180 or C200. C200 uses the 1.8litre supercharged engine but highly tuned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged March 13, 2008 Share March 13, 2008 it's already a "be different" era, as MB has been out-selling BMW. eg. in Jan, C-Class outsold 3 series by a couple of times... so you'll in fact "be different" if you follow the myth of yuppies prefer BMW. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 13, 2008 Share March 13, 2008 I quite agree with your reasoning..Most young successful pple earning 6-10K, they will see 320 as the car to drive for their current 'status'..if let's say another car of similar value such as the Saab 93 is on the list for them to consider, they would still go for the 320, cos the BM badge is a more 'recognisable' brand in Singapore than the Saab and so things like value for $$ and performance will not be something which they will evaluate..of cos not all 320 owners are like tat, but I suspect the % is rather high.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear March 13, 2008 Share March 13, 2008 Gone 1 full circle... 1)the badge aka "brand" is the selling point... nothing else... dun BMW luvs them... 2)its the bunch of pple who "just made it" or "trying to appear made it"... to impress/show their "success"... draw ur own conclusions.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear March 13, 2008 Share March 13, 2008 interesting point. what about people who buys Toyota/Honda? Why does the majority choose for Toyota/Honda and not Chevrolet, Kia, Chery, Geely, Ford, Opel, Citroen, Peugeot, Skoda, Seat, Dongfeng, etc...? what is their selling point? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear March 13, 2008 Share March 13, 2008 aiyoh... honda/toyota selling point ah... howabt reliability(toyota) and power(honda)... mass mkt pricing... you pay a premium but you get more back in return... trouble-free ride... clock work reliability... cheaper servicing...basically value for money loh.. plus abit of brandname too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miketow Neutral Newbie March 14, 2008 Share March 14, 2008 People buy toyotas in droves for "percieved" reliability - if they were that reliable, 10 years dont need repairs, then Borneo can close shop liao since its a well known fact that most distributors derive a large portion of their revenues from After sales servicing and repairs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched March 14, 2008 Share March 14, 2008 i;ve seen a 520 remove the badge ...LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic March 14, 2008 Share March 14, 2008 remove badge still not so bad, just dont slap on something else... Like M5 etc.... hahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...