Hoppe Clutched February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 Taking Shell petrol as an example. With the price of petrol moving up and up, is it worthwhile to downgrade petrol to 92? Is saving a couple of dollars worth the risk of downgrade? Driving a swift here... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gerald81 Neutral Newbie February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 Bro, dont think any risk...most jap cars can take 92 petrol..my car (lancer) have been drinking 92..no issues :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 if having a big tank then worth it, small tank save only a few bucks so not much difference to me. My tank is 45L but always pump max only 38L so to me not worth it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 Read the manual lor...see wether ur car can take 92. My fren driving a hipporolla switch from V-power to 92 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 some claimed that 92 gives lower mileage. so even though its marginally cheaper, km per dollar wise its not cost beneficial Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 if you switch from vpower to 92, then I think there's a price differential. For 95 and 92, the price is almost the same. Infact, I always think if it's a scam. Sekali they nolonger produce ron92 and for ron92, they have ron95 inside as well. so that explains the extremely small difference in price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jkhw73 Neutral Newbie February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=64 Good to read. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched February 10, 2008 Author Share February 10, 2008 haha...if your theory is true, then better to just go Ron92. I always go Thailand, and they pump Ron91 into their Camrys too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shemmy Clutched February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 Personally, i do find that i get better mileage on v.power as compared to 98. But then again, i don't drive everyday.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 My fren drives a G9. Used to pump SPC 92 then subq tried 98. He says its abt 60km difference on a full tank last time. May be anecdotal but i do think there is a mild difference. My family uses 95 92 only SPC Right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Des3k Neutral Newbie February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 How many percent of of the car owners are using 92 ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 now very diff to get 92 already.for shell only certain stations hv 92.caltex i nvr see 92 at all.so i guess use 95 is better.cos i read somewhere dat not gd to mix different octane petrols.since 92 almost extinct already...jus use 95 lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Josephteo 1st Gear February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 Bro, dont think any risk...most jap cars can take 92 petrol..my car (lancer) have been drinking 92..no issues :) Hi Bro... I'm also driving a lancer GLX (June 2004 registration, think they call it CS3)... is yours also the same? I was thinking of taking 92 petrol... but I thought for lancers, it says on the fuel pump sticker to use only RON95+ petrol? So how come u can use 92? if can...then maybe i wanna convert too...:P Any other Lancer CS3 drivers using 92 RON? any diff btw FC btw 92 and 95? Thanks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 which lancer bro? the current lancer CS3 min is 95 RON.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 my CS3 follow dutifully the 95 ron...no pt la for the 3cents diff (ron 92 vs 95).. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gerald81 Neutral Newbie February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 Hey Bro, Yup..92 nearly extinct for shell liao..but if u r living in the west..theres one along upp bukit timah..just up ahead beautyworld where there are a cluster of petrol stations..i get my dosage from there... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gerald81 Neutral Newbie February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 Hey Bro, Yup. my car was registered ard that time..GLX also..but my car no sticker that says RON95+ leh???hmn,..i have been pumping 92 for awhile already...no problem :) But if better to play safe..maybe go my book loh.. Any comments anybody? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear February 10, 2008 Share February 10, 2008 Wonder why some petrol station stopped bringing in 92. I'm sure there's a demand for it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...