Below 1.5l Van vs Car - Which is more suitable ?

Meadelx200

Looking for a second vehicles for the family mainly to be driven by my dad or wife for fetching kids / works / running errands. Expected milage around 600km/mth, budget < S$60k, Car Maintenance/mth < S$450 [include road tax, insurance, petrol, svc, etc but exclude car cost]

For the car had looked at March, Latio, Vivio.

For the van looking at the Kangoo, ??

Any advise ?

van the behind can only put sofa which in my opnion is not safe cuz no seat belts. van tak boleh masok malaysia.

i noticed u're looking at coe cars too..why not look at toyota starlet(ep80) and corolla(ae101, yr 92)?

latio is a good choice too if u want a more modern car. good space and interior.

Many ppl like to consider van thinking it's cheaper.

Van

Cons:

1) Need to have a existing & running company to register.

2) Higher loan interest rate dan passenger car.(i have no idea why all commercial veh has higher loan interest rate.)

3) Higher insurance premium(insurance coy assume someone else is driving the vehicle other dan the company's owner. Unless u can convince insurance coy owner is driving all the time.)

4) If u are actually not running a company u bear the GST cost of the things spent on your van. ie. road tax, insurance, diesel, svc, season parking etc.

5) Yearly inspection fee($60~$70), season parking, ERP, svc etc etc.

Pros:

1) $600 annual road tax.

2) diesel powered.

If really dun need another veh, IMO dun waste money.

1) Need to have a existing & running company to register.

not sure about this, but i remembered no need company to register now.

can any bro confirm?

1) My insurance premium is actually cheaper then my brother's Honda Jazz. Van @ 900++ while Jazz was 1000++ both on comprehensive Ins.

2) Weather you run a business or not you still pay GST mah ??

3) My road tax is $427/year

In 2004 or is it 2003....can't recall...gov say no need company to register but after that saw a surge in number of ppl buying LGV for private use. Dan gov say sorry now compulsary, even if u buy 2nd hand 2004 registered veh also must register to a company.

If the Jazz is bought at the in-house package is very much higher cos paying for SE commission. U'll see the subsequent year quote is much lower.

If your coy is GST registered, u can get rebate. But only for commercial vehicles.

Yeah, now revised tax structure for all vehicles so less than $600 road tax.

Looking for a second vehicles for the family mainly to be driven by my dad or wife for fetching kids / works / running errands. Expected milage around 600km/mth, budget < S$60k, Car Maintenance/mth < S$450 [include road tax, insurance, petrol, svc, etc but exclude car cost]

For the car had looked at March, Latio, Vivio.

For the van looking at the Kangoo, ??

Any advise ?

IMO, Car is better. buy a small one such as kia picanto which is even cheaper and can seat 4-5 people

Euro Van are not very cheap btw.

If the Jazz is bought at the in-house package is very much higher cos paying for SE commission. U'll see the subsequent year quote is much lower.

If your coy is GST registered, u can get rebate. But only for commercial vehicles.

Yeah, now revised tax structure for all vehicles so less than $600 road tax.

Yah my bro's Jazz was from KM so all in-house.

Din know wbout the GST rebate thingy (My apologies, me bad)

My van is petrol driven hence the road tax is cheaper (now with the revise tac structure, it will be cheaper then $427 already)

Another issue is that of ferrying your children in the van. They cannot be your business/ coypany's workers mah so confirm fun afoul with the law one.

[sweatdrop] Yes..kenna roadblock, also cannot say anything...say those kids are your workforce, kenna booked for child labour...