Boyboy 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 i can still understand if people want to zhng the look of their car. but PC supposed to work fast right? anyway i am now trying window's classic interface. nostalgic man! hope my system is less laggy now. =P ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Your system will work faster without all the blings, blings. Right-click on My Computer, System Property- Advanced tab, Performance - select Settings - Adjust for Best Performance. It will look more like Windows 2000. At the taskbar, you can select classic look. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Beef up your ram lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raining Neutral Newbie March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 My frn uses 4Gb ram.... usual applications pretty jifty and speedy... but the loading and start up is annoyingly slow ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Huh? Like that seems like 4GB also not really enuff... 8GB? The newer boards can take 8GB but not the earlier ones... Mine (DS-3) can only go up to 4GB... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 i'm on core 2 duo 2.2Ghz with 2GB RAM XP Sp2 ... and its still slow for me. somehow new apps are just getting more and more memory hungry. but the thing is, once you are used to a certain speed, when it is just a nano sec slower, its like ages for you. it'll probably be slow still if i have quad core 5ghz with 8GB RAM. just like after driving a 0-100 in 5 sec car for 6 months,.... you start to feel that its slow and need to get that 4.5 sec car... and then 4sec, 3sec,... there's no end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Hmm...how to upgrade Most newer bundle pc come with vista...unless DIY can choose XP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 yeah... huge desktop wallpaper suck a lot of memory too Uninstall Norton... that bugger can't block new viruses in time and suck up to 25% of resources at times if not more I run my PC without anti-virus. I use it solely for gaming and production work. Surfing and email, and misc done on my notebook. If kena virus just use the CD to reset back to factory standard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Agreed 100%. Norton is the biggest, bloated piece of junkie software ever. NOD32 anytime can win hands down even with a small footprint. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 I never install norton anymore,get a free wun lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched March 11, 2008 Author Share March 11, 2008 the problem with running a windoze on a multicore cpu is, it is not making full use of the extra processor core automatically. most of the time for most applications, they only use up one core while the other one is idle. look at your task manager and u should be able to see the cpu graphs. the only way to maintain the zippiness of ur pc is to install with a nlited xp (rocks big time!), keep all unwanted apps to the minimum, get rid of NAV, and replace with the free grisoft anti virus, get rid of adobe reader and replace with foxit pdf reader (the ONLY pdf reader that is extremely small in footprint and yet has the functionalities of the standard adobe reader), occasional use of CCcleaner to flush out all those rubbish files. those cute icons running in the tray and background all will take up resources. get rid of those if unneeded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 Your system will work faster without all the blings, blings. Right-click on My Computer, System Property- Advanced tab, Performance - select Settings - Adjust for Best Performance. It will look more like Windows 2000. At the taskbar, you can select classic look. thanks really much faster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 hhmm, didnt know xp is not optimizing the dual CPU available. yes. NAV should be avoided at all cost. Grisoft AVG is good enough in most circumstances. adobe pdf reader is not running on the background upon start up right? so, should be ok lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched March 11, 2008 Author Share March 11, 2008 depends on your setup, but i never liked those programs that run in the background on standby mode. think adobe is one of them.... reboot ur pc, wait for the desktop to appear and all harddisk activity stops, then open ur task manager and select the processes list and u should be able to see some unwanted programs still residing in the background. be careful on which process to kill though, cos killing the wrong process can leave ur PC in an unstable/unusable state. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 11, 2008 Share March 11, 2008 at first i don have a comp at home then i sign up for the singtel 10meg line and got a dell laptop free paid some extra money to upgrade the laptop to a better one that thing is running on vista.... but start up super fast leh....no hang before leh..... but i must say i only got the following additonal programs added: 1) free anti virus anti spy stuff i got no games, no ms office programs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
User12343 Clutched March 11, 2008 Author Share March 11, 2008 (edited) make it a point to inspect and clean ur system weekly. sometimes spyware/activeX apps gets installed subconciously into ur lappie w/o u knowing it. as u have more applications loaded (and updated) it will bog down and u will see a slowdown in overall speed. slowdown happens to all PCs connected to the internet. Edited March 11, 2008 by User12343 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 When my friend got herself a laptop, it was pre-loaded with Vista... She had to pay $50 just to downgrade to XP as her company's system is not compatible to Vista... DIY also can but leceh unless one knows how to do it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 Heard from many other friends Vista is not stable yet and it cause alot of heat in the machine. I've been using PC for 6-7 years and been thru crushes, hang, the famous blue screen, virus, trojans....and the famous blue screen. Heck it...I'm using Mac now... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...