Skoder Neutral Newbie March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 I experienced dizziness after switching from Chevrolet Optra to Honda Stream in terms of driving. I took the same route work and home, and feel especially so when doing a long gradual bend like woodlands Ave 2 exit on cte. I have never felt like this when I switch from Fiat Uno->lancer->Kia Spectra->skoda oct->Chev Optra. No, I am not pregnant nor the recent crazy weather, btw. Could it be the suspension as I notice the ride is a little bumpier too? Or maybe I should check with a doctor? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 its probably the higher suspension found on MPVs which is needed to soften road feel bcos MPVs are meant to carry more loads/people. Hence the bouncier feeling. U neber test drive before u buy car one? BTW u sure u not preggy? This is not a joke, Pregnant is an auspicious thing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mroonws Clutched March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 Is it the smell in the car that makes you giddy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 (edited) Or maybe u jus need to time to adjust to the new car. Is the steering too light? I'm so used to driving my own...now i take my friends' ride i feel giddy too... Edited March 12, 2008 by Thug Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 You will get used to it after 1 to 2 days. The 1st day I drove my new car, I felt like throwing up after the drive due to hard suspension of the SUV couple with 18 inch rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 Yes, that is for sure that the bouncy suspension which cause you giddy and you might feel want to vomit after your lunch or dinner. I had that same experience when taking a ride on my colleague's G9 Corolla after lunch, I feel like sitting in the boat, immediately after I alight, I feel like vomitting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 I experienced dizziness after switching from Chevrolet Optra to Honda Stream in terms of driving. I took the same route work and home, and feel especially so when doing a long gradual bend like woodlands Ave 2 exit on cte. I have never felt like this when I switch from Fiat Uno->lancer->Kia Spectra->skoda oct->Chev Optra. No, I am not pregnant nor the recent crazy weather, btw. Could it be the suspension as I notice the ride is a little bumpier too? Or maybe I should check with a doctor? When I tried to drive my father's 1978 Datsun 120Y many years back, I had that same feeling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderman302 2nd Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 Yes, I had similar experience years back when switched to a brand new Honda City (1st generation). Bumpier than previous ride. But got used to it after a while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 I experienced dizziness after switching from Chevrolet Optra to Honda Stream in terms of driving. I took the same route work and home, and feel especially so when doing a long gradual bend like woodlands Ave 2 exit on cte. I have never felt like this when I switch from Fiat Uno->lancer->Kia Spectra->skoda oct->Chev Optra. No, I am not pregnant nor the recent crazy weather, btw. Could it be the suspension as I notice the ride is a little bumpier too? Or maybe I should check with a doctor? High blood pressure...chiong too much.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 If the suspension is too soft or bumpy, it is not good either as it will get spoilt easily compared to those hard suspension. What is best is in between soft and hard! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 Giddyness, to tell the truth. I also got dizzyness when I sat in my new IS. I still don't know what is the main cause, at first I thought it was the suspension harmonics that is causing my sickness. But IS hard suspension got harmonics meh? My wife also face the same while sitting at the rear bench. Opening the windows to clear the chemical smell does not help at all. After 3 months, I still occassionally get dizzy while drivign in my own car. One solution is to shock your mind with a nasty taxi driver like this. http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...ew&post=2265410 After I got behind this taxi driver, I was super alert for the rest of the morning! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 You might want to check the cold tyre pressure and increase it slightly. The kind of tyres (e.g. comfort based) has a part in it too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 Could it be carbon dioxide gas from the exhaust leaking into your car's cabin? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 I experienced dizziness after switching from Chevrolet Optra to Honda Stream in terms of driving. I took the same route work and home, and feel especially so when doing a long gradual bend like woodlands Ave 2 exit on cte. I have never felt like this when I switch from Fiat Uno->lancer->Kia Spectra->skoda oct->Chev Optra. No, I am not pregnant nor the recent crazy weather, btw. Could it be the suspension as I notice the ride is a little bumpier too? Or maybe I should check with a doctor? Its the smell of new car,there's an article abt it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie March 12, 2008 Author Share March 12, 2008 its probably the higher suspension found on MPVs which is needed to soften road feel bcos MPVs are meant to carry more loads/people. Hence the bouncier feeling. U neber test drive before u buy car one? BTW u sure u not preggy? This is not a joke, Pregnant is an auspicious thing The stream cg is quite low leh, not very mpv height. also, its bumpy not bouncy. bouncy is more like suspension problem liao. Btw, I am a straight guy lah, bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie March 12, 2008 Author Share March 12, 2008 Is it the smell in the car that makes you giddy? Nice new leather smell is always welcoming.... ahhh nice refreshing new car smell, cant be nauseating lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie March 12, 2008 Author Share March 12, 2008 You will get used to it after 1 to 2 days. The 1st day I drove my new car, I felt like throwing up after the drive due to hard suspension of the SUV couple with 18 inch rims. 2 weeks liao, i still feel like throwing up when exiting to clementi Ave 6 on AYE.... sigh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic March 12, 2008 Share March 12, 2008 I experienced dizziness after switching from Chevrolet Optra to Honda Stream in terms of driving. I took the same route work and home, and feel especially so when doing a long gradual bend like woodlands Ave 2 exit on cte. I have never felt like this when I switch from Fiat Uno->lancer->Kia Spectra->skoda oct->Chev Optra. No, I am not pregnant nor the recent crazy weather, btw. Could it be the suspension as I notice the ride is a little bumpier too? Or maybe I should check with a doctor? first of all if is a new or 2nd hand Honda Stream? If 2nd hand car, prob want to check if your shock kaput liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...