Which brand is better, Chery or Geely?

Siyexcalibur

Honestly I dont know the answer, never own one before, none of people I know owned one. Hence it is good to ask around to see what china car owners have to say.

I supposed you are right, I am just unlucky to have more problems than others, maybe it is because it is non-agent maintained. It cannot be denied that Hyundai cars have improved in quality but their prices have also gone up, very close to Jap, not cheap anymore.

Regards

hahaha... still much cheaper then jap cars lah... u want size or performance? dun talk about fuel economy cuz all korean cars r guzzlers... hahaha! the new sonata, the avante & also getz r quite worth the $... imho tat is...

I drove a Hyundai Sonata (SDD plate) some years back, bought about 8 years back and sold 3.5 years ago. It gave me so much trouble that I swore I will never touch a Korean car again. I drove about 33 thousand kms a year. You cannot imagine the amount of problems I faced, brakes, engine, alternator, air-con, power windows, went in and out of Komoco for warranty claims during the first three years, continue to face numerous problems after warranty, after the last breakdown, I scrapped the car. Gotten really really scared of Korean Car (first car Nissan, second car Proton, third car Hyundai, fourth car Nissan )

The Fuel consumption of the Sonata was 9km/l compared to my Nissan Primera at 10+ km/l. Also the handling is quite poor, no problem making the wheels skid when I turned a bit faster.

i guess u unfortunately got a lemon... every makes have ppl complaining about lemons.. my current SDK hyundai elantra has not given me any problems except normal wear and tear. fuel consumption about 11-12km/l even till today.

I thought the Nissan Sunny also quite cheap, maybe cheaper than Avante. New Sonata is too expensive, getz is too small. I am looking for a 1.5-1.6 litre type of family car, 4 doors sedan. Performance is not so critical. Good handling is prefered though.

Edited by Siyexcalibur

I am thinking of getting a second car, but cannot decide between Chery or Geely. Which car is better, more value for money, better after sales support?

geely is totally not value for money. it is priced too close to vios. and it is using the venerable and old toyota soluna engine. if u ask the salesman and inspect the timig belt, they are using recon one..so need to change timing belt very very soon.

chery cars are not that bad.. except QQ. the rest of the cars are cheap and decent. just be reasonable to expect to get in proportion to what you paid for lor.

ok bro, got it... lemme break it down for u... the following r all autos...

sunny = $54.5k

vios = $52.5k

avante = $58.5k

lancer = $51.0k

if u want good performance & dun mind a little smaller car, the vios is ur best bet!

if u want a little more space, the lancer is ur car!

if u want space only & dun mind a guzzler, take the sunny!

if u want a little luzury & some zoom-zoom, take the avante!

[thumbsup]

just my opinion, hope it helps! others, correct me if i am wrong! thanx!

dun talk about fuel economy cuz all korean cars r guzzlers...

actually, this is no longer the case. hyundai has come a long way... avante especially, is probably as good as altis if not better (brand image aside).

china cars are just starting out and one day, it will reach THE acceptable level. every brand goes thru that cycle.

GOOD WORK [thumbsup] , Avante (Korean) is more expensive than jap cars. However Lancer is quite cheap, can consider, not much more than Geely CK, also about 50K but with more accessories.

Chery A168, use DK mods to get 11s 0-100 timing and MIC bamboo 5 pots brakes from TSystem [laugh]

Actually his mod not too impressive. There is a british engineer that modify his to do 0-60mph in 10.5 seconds and a top speed of 120 mph. He also managed to outrace a Ferrari F430 on the tianma track in Shanghai, of course driver plays a very important part.

http://www.fightingtorque.com/motors/page4.html#

http://www.chinacarforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=344

I drove a Hyundai Sonata (SDD plate) some years back, bought about 8 years back and sold 3.5 years ago. It gave me so much trouble that I swore I will never touch a Korean car again. I drove about 33 thousand kms a year. You cannot imagine the amount of problems I faced, brakes, engine, alternator, air-con, power windows, went in and out of Komoco for warranty claims during the first three years, continue to face numerous problems after warranty, after the last breakdown, I scrapped the car. Gotten really really scared of Korean Car (first car Nissan, second car Proton, third car Hyundai, fourth car Nissan )

The Fuel consumption of the Sonata was 9km/l compared to my Nissan Primera at 10+ km/l. Also the handling is quite poor, no problem making the wheels skid when I turned a bit faster.

I think you got a lemon sonata.

Are you sure Chery or Geely will be less trouble? Have you seen a Crash test for the china car [shakehead][shakehead]

actually, this is no longer the case. hyundai has come a long way... avante especially, is probably as good as altis if not better (brand image aside).

Avante better meh? Advertised as Corolla Killer but kena killed (in term of sales volume) in the process.

Regards,

Neither and save the hassle of potential problems that may arise later. Chinese technology is still unreliable in terms of quality. It's the same in the car industry. For me, I'd rather take public transport if my 1st car is unavailable. Save me the $$$ that will be wasted on creating new problems for myself. Chinese cars = [thumbsdown]

Just my 2 cents worth of humble opinion.

Avante lost out to Corolla (Altis) in Singapore beacuse Altis a a Toyota. Singaporean buy for brand, I think Avante is defintely better than Altis. It don't sell well because it is Korean.

Neither and save the hassle of potential problems that may arise later. Chinese technology is still unreliable in terms of quality. It's the same in the car industry. For me, I'd rather take public transport if my 1st car is unavailable. Save me the $$$ that will be wasted on creating new problems for myself. Chinese cars =

Just my 2 cents worth of humble opinion.

Even PRC colleagues and Friends in SG also don't believe in MIC cars. Mostly driving Japanese cars. To them, driving MIC cars is no class or low class.

Regards,

dun talk about fuel economy cuz all korean cars r guzzlers...

china cars are just starting out and one day, it will reach THE acceptable level. every brand goes thru that cycle.

hey there bro, i'm sorry for overlooking the avante! what's the FC like? i'm amazed if the avante has good FC cuz it's a swift car for it's cap... [:/]