Flyerking 3rd Gear March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 What to do? while u are saving your nation for 2 years, some people enter via the backdoor to study at taxpayers' expenses and become your manager when u come out of NS due to 2 years headstart. Seriously, i feel sad for people serving NS now, cos I know that they are wasting their time. Why would employers want to employ them if we can employ someone who dont have to go back to reservist and walk away suddenly from important million dollar projects? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 comparing the efficiency of Singapore and malaysia customs, Malaysia is a few class up, and much faster. Sometimes i return to singapore at 1am, still gota wait 30 minutes to chop passport in sg.. in jb about 2 minutes. See the difference? I thought Malaysia side is "Green Lane". Just pass custom. They don't even bother to come out and check.. unless some big shots is ard . . . or they looking for spore cars who got summons . . Well 2nd link has no green lane and its almost a 90% check on vehicles in the JB side. And sad to say, the jam is ALWAYs the Singapore Tuas side.. LAst time singapore was the cause of 90% of the jam in 2nd link area.. now almost 100%. I see liao I also heart pain. Standard became so low..and I paid S$20+$10 petrol = $30 just to use the 2nd link. But good news is that the jam at tuas is not that bad compared to woodlands though, unless its a weekend or rush-hour working times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 no choice lor . . . wat to do . . . unless the decision maker is one who went thru NS too . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 i have never gone in since getting my car last yr . . . no feel safe in there . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 who dare to touch u ? unless u made many enemies in there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie March 25, 2008 Share March 25, 2008 i not like u go in so often . . . is a surprise u still enjoying ur freedom . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Yup.. if u dont have any friends or relatives staying in Malaysia, its just wise to go in. Anyway, avoid certain hotspots like Taman Sentosa, Eden area ( tax-free) and those shopping complexes frequented by singaporean because robbers usually like to target foreigners, esp singaporeans. As a "PR" in Malaysia, I dont go to City Square, Taman sentosa, Holiday plazas at all because everyday, there will be minimum of 5-20 robberies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lustful_69 Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Hey Flyerking, thanks for that! Its scary to hear that robbery has hit the roof again and worst in a daily basis. Anyway, went in on a Sunday recently and noticed that its like a ghost town in JB nowadays. Maybe its what you say that scares ppl away huh..? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 to be fair, all these serious crimes like car-jacking, gang rapings of girls in public/petrol stations, robberies etc did not deter Singaporeans from going to Malaysia because now has come to a point whereby its ridiculous to spend money in Singapore. Therefore, considering the pros and cons of going into JB, its still way too attractive due to the savings that we can enjoy. Singapore is not for someone earning S$4k-$5k a month. Why did I stay that? Your HDB is not yours. Your car is not yours. So whats your? Nothing much. CPF u cant even collect in all. So its that your money? I dont think so. Johor is many Singaporeans saviours. And the fact about JB being a ghost town now is due to the MSK escape and custom cxxk-up about 100% thumb print checks even on Indians and Chinese travellers. thats crap isnt it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Got thumb print check meh? how come I don't get it? drive car no need thumbprint har? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 drive car also need to do thumb print scan, even the passengers but these few days damn fast Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 dunno leh. for the past 3 weeks, I went in once a week but never got a chance to take thumbprint leh.. oh my,, I feel so marginalised now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 Very few people understand the magnitude of bringing in tainted food from elsewhere. That time, my mom brought in the famous roast goose from HK also kenna confiscated. So sealing off the porous borders is the answer? So what if someone eats tainted food and drive back here? Smart huh? In this interconnected world, diseases cross borders like nobody's business. There is no way security can prevent its import. Unless nothing, including people and animals can come in or out will border controls work. Don't pretend to be smart by endorsing stupid MHA policies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 (edited) It's political. If you come back, got sick from tainted food eaten outside of this country and started an epidemic, nobody blames you. They blame the country you went to and especially so if it is country that kept silent when they have an epidemic going on. China got flak for SARS. If you come back carrying tainted food and started an epidemic, everybody blames you. Understand when I say magnitude. It is bigger than just the potential epidemic. Be smart. See bigger. Be an undercover economist. Be an undercover politician. 4sses must be saved. Edited March 26, 2008 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 agree there is no way to prevent the import but does that mean we should stop trying ??? Just like crime . . . there is no way to have 0 crime rate . . . but does that mean since we cannot have 0 crime rate, we might as well not have the Home Team to enforce the law? Same for importation of undesirable items . . . difficult to detect and prevent all but at least what can be done is to reduce the amount getting thru . . . just me own views Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear March 26, 2008 Share March 26, 2008 (edited) OK I get what you mean by 'magnitude' here. Its to save some politicians ass. I got it But even if they make major cockups, they are immune, you know? But there is a better way forward which is slower and more expensive. Probably will take longer to implement too. Edited March 26, 2008 by Gendut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear March 27, 2008 Share March 27, 2008 dunno leh. for the past 3 weeks, I went in once a week but never got a chance to take thumbprint leh.. oh my,, I feel so marginalised now don't know maybe u look very different from selamat so no need check thumbprint hopefully they can stop this nonsense soon.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 27, 2008 Share March 27, 2008 As a "PR" in Malaysia, I dont go to City Square, Taman sentosa, Holiday plazas at all because everyday, there will be minimum of 5-20 robberies. Is that correct. Don't see much in the papers now and thought it had calmed down and was thinking of going across. How do become a PR in Malaysia? Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...