PS3 Automatic shut down issues

Thug

Hi, I know I should go some game forum but I really dun like to join those forums coz its too messy.

Any bro out there owns PS3?

I just bought my PS3 like a week ago. Played the most 10+ hours on seperate days.

I dun switch off the main power jus the on/off button infront and left the red light on indicating off.

So jus now was as usual playing my PS3. It automatically shut down for 2 times.

The 1st time it return functioning after few tries of off main power and on.

Now its stucked off.

This is wad happened when I try to on it back:

On button > Green Light on for 1 sec > flashing umber light 2X > 0.1sec green > flashing red light.

There is nothing on the screen jus the No Signal AV2 thingy.

Any bro know the problem?

Edited by Thug

I think you better send for repair, the I/O button actually is like a hard power shut. I usually shut down and power up using the PS button on controller.

Why not you try using the controller button to switch on after switching the mains on.

FYI, my PS3 (40GB) is always on standby (red light) and powered up and powered down via controller. Have been very smooth and no problems.

Try controller now, see if it works.

Nothing...the 1 2 3 4 jus kept blinking and stopped after a min or so...

sian...jus bought the set man...

that means either not detecting the set, or the set auto power down. do you hear the sound of the fan or HDD when the PS3 is trying to power up?

I think your HDD could be damaged due to your shutdown via I/O button. But it is well within warranty and of course I might be wrong.

No lei...i din shut it down via the I/O power button at the back. I always off it infront. I always make sure I off form the front then the back. Anyway the set is always on stand by mode. The only time I off the back is when the problem occur for the 1st time. And it is in stand by mode b4 i off the back...

Thats what i meant, the touch button you hold onto in front of the set at the disk loading area is a little like a hardkey shutdown. Like when you press the button on your CPU to shut down instead of clicking the Start->Shutdown.

The more uhmm... correct way is to use your PS button on your controller, hold down the button and it asks "system shut down" press yes and shut down then is the correct way to shut down.

The shutdown you use on direct on the PS3 set is usually used when the game hangs, it is a forced shut down.

Anyways, more importantly when you try to power on now do you hear the buzzing of the HDD or the Fan?

There are some issues for some lemon sets, the lens cannot read and spoilt but yours I think could be different.

I can hear the hard disk trying to power up but as soon as it tried to power up the umber light came on and kill everything followed by a flashing red lgiht which never stop...still blinking...

Manual never say its wrong to turn off the set using the button on the set itself...infact it stated it one of the ways to off my set.....

Edited by Thug

Wah, u mean the red light is blinking non stop? First time I heard, anyways shut off the mains now and turn it on again. Then try using the controller to turn on instead of the set button. Good luck, if you manage to get it switched on then I suggest you use the controller to turn off system so it shuts down correctly.

If the above does not work, then find some time to pay Sony service centre a visit [sweatdrop]

I can't believe my luck...decided to forego my all time favourite xbox 360 for ps3 coz of a game...and end up wif a faulty set after 5 days of usage!!

But seriously, amongst the 3 sets (Wii, Xbox and PS3). The best gaming exprience is PS3 hands down, and it is the most future proof too. Hard luck that you got a lemon la, where did u get it from? Please dun tell me Sim Lim...... Cause if they sell you at normal prices, usually its a lemon which other people exchanged.

My friend who bought PSP and PS3 from Sim Lim with good prices kenna all lemons!

No la...not simlim...went sim lim to checked out their price...550 ok lo...

So i went back to my usual shop near my house. Sold mi for 559...ok lo for old time sake..

I dun think they purposely put a lemon from other buyer and sell it as normal...jus my luck...

I think i know why la....i missed my qing ming this year..... [:(]

But then again i think i can get back a good piece.

Hey bro, GTA when come out?

I bought PS3 for this game lor.....

Actually hor, I did not buy to play games much leh. I only playing Bladestorm (RPG like), but I got Fifa08 and Resistance FOM in case people come to visit and wana play games.

I buy cause it is an all in one player (DVD, BluRay, Game) but got no time to play leh. I stream movies and shows like (Stargate, Battlestar, Heroes, Supernatural) to watch through my TV. Ahhahahahahahahahhaa

So If you ask me about games hor, I think sala person. I will just go to the shop and just buy what I feel is fun (dont even know if it is donkey years ago) and play. And also ask my friends what they wana play and go buy lor.

I think I am [hur]