Sstar Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 plan to attend entry level diver course, do a serch in the web, 2 theory sessions, 2 pool sessions, 2 whole day open water sessions cost around $400+ in different diving centers. But not sure which one is better, can any brothers and sisters here share the experience? compare with diver course + travel package ( redang, perhentian, phi phi etc), which one is better? Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 what's the damage to wallet?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chaihot5 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Goto this Dive Shop www.orpheusdive.com Look for Lester or Calvin. Cheers Andrew C Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 I recommend prehentian kechil...been there,quite good dive site but still cannot compare to Australia where I took mine at BYRON BAY NAUI -----( National Association of Underwater Instructors) visibility approx.25m Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 see if you can go with uni students or poly students package.. the clubs may let you sign up and its cheaper. plus if u do it locally, the cost may be less.. but if do in MY, maybe a few $ more but very hectic schedule. local is more relax but the waters here see no hand.. literally. but good experience.. then when u dive in redang.. appreciate the clarity Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatodin 3rd Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Did my Open and Advanced with Apache Divers. Course was conducted in Tioman and Aur. There's nothing much to see in Aur and the currents can be quite bad. Tioman is better. If you want to know more, can go http://www.apachediver.com/. Prices are listed in their site as well. Accomodation wise, quad sharing with basic amenities will be good enough (cut costs). You don't spend so much time in your room anyway. If you are those type who can tahan sleeping in a rocking boat, then you can try Live-On-Board (LOB). Totally different experience. Most important of all, check that the equipments (masks, fins, BCD, etc) provided during the course are FOC. Some dive shops charge for use of their equipments as well as their tanks (topping up of air). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sstar Neutral Newbie April 16, 2008 Author Share April 16, 2008 where can get students package?thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 Try to get PADI certification instead of NAUI and SSI. Reason is because PADI is more widespread. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 go to the uni or poly notice boards.. they sometimes post the event for publicity. just contact them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 plan to attend entry level diver course, do a serch in the web, 2 theory sessions, 2 pool sessions, 2 whole day open water sessions cost around $400+ in different diving centers. But not sure which one is better, can any brothers and sisters here share the experience? compare with diver course + travel package ( redang, perhentian, phi phi etc), which one is better? Thanks anywhere will do cause all the trainee sites are crap.... you will only see sand and dead corals plus you will not have much time to enjoy the surroundings. concentrate on passing the course and plan for your first trip as a certified diver... more relax and able to enjoy more... it important to get a instructor that can pass down instructions and tips clearly. (you will learn more and faster this way) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 plan to attend entry level diver course, do a serch in the web, 2 theory sessions, 2 pool sessions, 2 whole day open water sessions cost around $400+ in different diving centers. But not sure which one is better, can any brothers and sisters here share the experience? compare with diver course + travel package ( redang, perhentian, phi phi etc), which one is better? Thanks I hope to find a chio gal that conduct such courses .... then I'll go join. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear April 16, 2008 Share April 16, 2008 there is.... but i can;t remember which dive shop liao.. one of the dive master... haha mine infact.. 8 years ago Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carben68 2nd Gear April 21, 2008 Share April 21, 2008 (edited) plan to attend entry level diver course, do a serch in the web, 2 theory sessions, 2 pool sessions, 2 whole day open water sessions cost around $400+ in different diving centers. But not sure which one is better, can any brothers and sisters here share the experience? compare with diver course + travel package ( redang, perhentian, phi phi etc), which one is better? Thanks Diving can be fun and can also be very dangerous. Do not take it lightly until you've mastered the basic safety procedures. Once it becomes second nature, you can relax and enjoy the scenary. But if you are the type that dives once every 6 months, do not be too gungho. If you want to learn diving from a serious, competent, friendly diver. Check out www.livingseas.com.sg The owner is I believe Gideon Liew. I didnt take my courses with him, but know of him through diving. If I had known him earlier, I might have taken my training with him. I am PADI Open, advanced, Rescue and Nitrox. Enjoy, but be serious about safety. You endanger yourself, no one can say anything, if you endanger someone else if you fool around, you will not be able to face yourself if something tragic happens. Edited April 21, 2008 by Carben68 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sstar Neutral Newbie April 22, 2008 Author Share April 22, 2008 then you can not learn much about diving Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear April 22, 2008 Share April 22, 2008 Usually by the time they are experienced enough to instruct, quite lao chio already with all that exposure to the sun, sand and the sea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sstar Neutral Newbie April 22, 2008 Author Share April 22, 2008 >>>>it is important to get a instructor that can pass down instructions and tips clearly yes, quite true, but it is difficult to get the right instructor when you are new to diving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear April 22, 2008 Share April 22, 2008 plan to attend entry level diver course, do a serch in the web, 2 theory sessions, 2 pool sessions, 2 whole day open water sessions cost around $400+ in different diving centers. But not sure which one is better, can any brothers and sisters here share the experience? compare with diver course + travel package ( redang, perhentian, phi phi etc), which one is better? Thanks In general, dive courses organized by local dive centers (pool sessions + a weekend dive trip) can be a bit rushed and crowded. If you have the time, you'll definitely benefit more if you can take a 5D/4N holiday in a nice resort and get taught in a low instructor-student ratio environment where you get more attention. As an added bonus, places like Redang and Perhentian are absolute paradise during weekdays (on non-school holidays) as compared to weekends Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sstar Neutral Newbie April 22, 2008 Author Share April 22, 2008 any idea what is the instructor-student ratio in redang and perhentian resort during weekday? compare with local package and 5D4N holiday in redang/perhentian, the hours spent in confine water and open water are almost same, but told by one of my friend, a little bit waste to learn the theory in the island, and you are more concentrate on learning, instead of enjoyment. correct me if i am wrong. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...