Garlic 1st Gear April 28, 2008 Share April 28, 2008 Hello everyone, I'm planning to change my power steering fluid as it has turned black. Besides the turkey blaster method, has anyone tried removing the "return" hose and using the power steering pump to flush out old fluid while adding fresh fluid into the reservoir? Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 28, 2008 Share April 28, 2008 "turkey blaster" sometimes an additional letter can really change the whole meaning of the word Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear April 28, 2008 Author Share April 28, 2008 mai ani kuan laaaaaa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 28, 2008 Share April 28, 2008 What a turkey blaster method? Anyway, don't be fooled by the external colour of your steering fluid container..... even after you've changed out the ATF, you'll see that it looks the same. The container has probably turned yellow/black..... Best way to check if its gone black is to siphon out abit to see.... (can use straw to do this lah). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear April 28, 2008 Share April 28, 2008 http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?...=Turkey+Blaster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear April 28, 2008 Author Share April 28, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear April 28, 2008 Share April 28, 2008 walao.. sekali garlic kena CNB but anyway, i change my PSF at hawk tayar JB. RM80 including fluids and flushing. $30 something.. ok la, i lazy and dunno how to DIY, so fair enuff price for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear April 28, 2008 Share April 28, 2008 Turkey baster lah! I did return line and turkey baster method. For simplicity use turkey baster. No need to go to the mechanic but make sure you do it for the next 7 days or so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercuri Neutral Newbie April 28, 2008 Share April 28, 2008 I used the the return hose method. Jack front car up. remove hose, plug the inlet to the PS reservoir and use another tube to hook up to the return hose. with Engine off, turn steering full lock left and right a few times. Add more ATF to the PS reservoir(try not to let reservoir run dry else air get into PS system.) until clean ATF fluid cleaner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jemjem 1st Gear May 4, 2008 Share May 4, 2008 How long b4 one needs to change the power steering fluid? jemjem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercuri Neutral Newbie May 4, 2008 Share May 4, 2008 i change mine every 40K together with the ATF change. Usually by 40k, the PSF' colour are darker.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 should we use ATF as Power steeering fluid? or it is better to use a fulid that is specially made for power steering? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 should we use ATF as Power steeering fluid? or it is better to use a fulid that is specially made for power steering? no, the viscosity is different. But ok if in emergency..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 Inside caltex petrol station, on the shelves they sell the "Texamatic 1888" power steering and ATF fluid, i dunno but guess maybe the fluid is interchangeable between the 2 uses ba. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 Hello everyone, I'm planning to change my power steering fluid as it has turned black. Besides the turkey blaster method, has anyone tried removing the "return" hose and using the power steering pump to flush out old fluid while adding fresh fluid into the reservoir? Thanks. You are lucky, I never had the chance to do that before the COE matured/expired for all my cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 i remembered that both use ATF ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...