Leepee 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 So is Doreen also condemming all primary school teacher as not educated? I am waiting for primary school teachers to write in to complain about Doreen Chan taring all primary school teachers as not well educated! Don't tar all with same brush I ENJOYED the Saturday Special package of features on the real estate sales industry (April 19). But I was disappointed and dismayed by the statement by Dr Yu Shi Ming, head of the real estate department of the National University of Singapore (NUS), when he was quoted as saying: 'Every time people think of real estate agents, they think 'unscrupulous', 'untrained', 'unprofessional' and 'unethical'. My mother was upset and embarrassed after reading Dr Yu's hurtful remark and asked if I, a real estate agent, was also unscrupulous, untrained, unprofessional and unethical. I assured my mother I belong to the vast majority of real estate agents who abide by the core value of sales, including always trying to achieve the greatest savings for my customers and always ensuring that my customers will need to 'move house' only once when they relocate from one place to another. Such deals are often complicated and require agents to have good people skills, good coordination skills, an eye for the nitty-gritty, patience and a cool head. Most real estate agents, though poorly educated, will not say things without first thinking how the words we use will hurt the feelings of others, especially their parents. I may not be as highly educated, but I have learnt the virtue of not making sweeping generalisations against others from my primary school teacher - who, like me, was not as well educated. Doreen Chan (Ms) This letter was first published in The Straits Times on May 2, 2008. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 most primary school teachers are not required to be highly educated in the first place Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 (edited) She, herself not well educated is her Dai Chi ... Why wanna drag in her primary school teacher??? Her primary school teacher is not well educated??? At least her primary school is well educated enough to teach her Kong Si Mi Wei??? Edited May 5, 2008 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 Which explains why they're primary school teachers...in any case, the teaching profession is indeed an unrewarding job...in terms of $$$$!...so what type of ppl can ever be motivated in such jobs?...even if they're secondary school and above teachers? Back to TS post....8 to 9 out of 10 estate agents are definitely not so forth right and honest..hell, with the number of such ppl I had dealt with in my life time...I have only come across the number of estate agents ( less than the number of fingers on one of my hands!!)who are truly ethically sound and fully honest and competent in what they do! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 lemme exprain 'Every time people think of real estate agents, they think 'unscrupulous', 'untrained', 'unprofessional' and 'unethical'. 'unscrupulous' - this type of singaporeans mani mani lah. just today got 1... make this card faulty one they know since 2006 and pretend all along machiam nothing. neber inform pple faulty. but u use, u kena fine, u suay lor. so wat u think? 'scrupulous' or 'unscrupulous'? 'untrained' - fwah.. this one lagi mani the mani. male toylet and female toylet. dunno why hor... so many man pang jeo also can mizz the hole so big. alamak all dunno hw to stand close aim and pee and stain the toylet seats and bowl. seriously step closer.... IT"S (the LP) NOT THAT LONG! 'unprofessional' - tat one is tat feller who refused to take responsibility and quit lor. must say who? u know, I know, we dun say.... 'unethical' tat one is most blood boil... warous. machiam timeshare company... last time reach 55 minutes suppose to pay up, suka suka push to 60, then say SMLJ growth dividend, example of pple mismanage lah... raise to 84 minute. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 Lawyers also fall into this same CLASS! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 i think she purposely wana use her pr sch teacher as eg to whack back the head quoting by since primary sch teacher and her even know so highly educated but they dun generalised against people not like the head so highly educated yet say such comments...i think she kinda use an indirectly whacking way..can say quite tactful.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 most primary school teachers are not required to be highly educated in the first place damn wat does she mean by highly educated in the first place?!! wat muct be masters or phd???? all MOE pri teachers have are at least Bachelor holders right?! not highly educated enough ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 (edited) Sori ... My Ang Mo is Private Limited one hence cannot catch what she really mean??? Edited May 5, 2008 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 i think she refering last time bah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 same same also..maybe i read otherwise Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hutan 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 hey chif, why recently lots of male toylet cleaner go clean female toylet without pre-alert or..... neber train izzit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Author Share May 5, 2008 Quite tactful? I think she is being paranoid and self-defensive....like the chinese saying "Zhuo Zei Xing Xu" The Dr is only saying "when other people think of property agent..." not "I myself think of property agent as..." If using this method of "other people say...." is not politically correct, then how can anyone speak up without offending anyone else? I also think of most agent as $$$minded, I received so many cold calls from agent saying they got ready buyers for my unit in 2007. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 what do u think will happen if the Dr say he himself think?like u say this lady dont know will receive how many emails from pr sch teacher liao since she made such comment u alot kang tao one leh..now got housing then receive cold call Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 most primary school teachers are not required to be highly educated in the first place My kid's P2 teacher has got lousy English. When I saw her test papers marked wrong, I had to tell my kid to go back to school to tell the teacher! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 Quite tactful? I think she is being paranoid and self-defensive....like the chinese saying "Zhuo Zei Xing Xu" The Dr is only saying "when other people think of property agent..." not "I myself think of property agent as..." If using this method of "other people say...." is not politically correct, then how can anyone speak up without offending anyone else? I also think of most agent as $$$minded, I received so many cold calls from agent saying they got ready buyers for my unit in 2007. agree... i don't see anything wrong with the statement that the Prof made... he's just stating what many people think of estate agents, which is true, the Prof is not expressing his personal views abt estate agent... i guess that woman is being over sensitive and defensive, and as u said cos she has a guilty conscience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 got alert one... many aunties beezee sms their boi-friends gay friend, pak handfone games, 自拍. neber open ear big big. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...