Unltd 5th Gear May 14, 2008 Share May 14, 2008 No la, I was probably just lucky. Yeah, I meant assess la. Spelling is damned poor so used wrong word! ahahahhaahahahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iceklsy Neutral Newbie May 14, 2008 Share May 14, 2008 unless die die make them state on contract.. the offer to me was not stated.. and i miss it out.. so b4 + after probation also same pay.. not a slight difference .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear May 14, 2008 Share May 14, 2008 When I took up my first job, I was given higher then what I expected. Maybe thats cause I was offered 3 jobs at a go... Anyways, I think you can nego with the HR lady to state in the contact that adjustment after confirmation to be higher then what you initially expected. This is a win-win, they can save the $300 for the first few months to access you. You can in turn rake in more after you are confirmed, but make sure that contract states HIGHER then your expectation after you are confirmed. Otherwise you lugi! Hmmmz.. I am mulling over 2 offers right now. Higher bidder wins cause both jobs also quite attractive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 14, 2008 Share May 14, 2008 wah..my new one also short of $300 from expected salary....also starting soon leh...scali we in same coy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear May 14, 2008 Share May 14, 2008 Wow so lucky mine Ang Mo Co oso probation 12mths. Now still under probation. But my last job, ask them to counter cos was given a counter offer by previous company but they refused and I still join them. And best of all, at end of 6mths probation was given a salary adjustment of $300 when there was never such practice. If you are capable, they will give. But too bad they cant counter when i left for current job as it was too huge a jump, at about 30% increment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear May 15, 2008 Share May 15, 2008 [reply] unless die die make them state on contract.. the offer to me was not stated.. and i miss it out.. so b4 + after probation also same pay.. not a slight difference .. You mean verbally they said will increase your salary after probation period, but in end they didn't? That's suck, man. Just begining of your career and already got a bad experience with the company... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Essence_of_chicken Neutral Newbie May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 Here's some advice: 1. Know the market rate for your industry and offered position. Don't trust head-hunter too much as they surely want to get their comm. If the HR lady is already offering you a fair salary, it's unlikely she will give way (or give a lot). The role of HR is to ensure there's some level of salary equalization in company. 2. Understand how critical the hiring manager wants you. The more impt/urgent you are to the manager, the more he will give way. In general, HR will not stand in the way of hiring manager since business continuation depends on getting you on-board. 3. Focus on the role you are given NOT the number of years of experience you have. For example, the role requires 5 years sales exp to manage a team of 2 but you only have 4 years exp. Don't let HR argue that you're short of experience. Keep emphasizing that you're a good candidate able to take on the challenge. 4. Request to speak to hiring manager and sell your value to him/her. Focus on what you can bring on-board - skills, knowledge, contacts, attitude etc.. Let hiring manager wrestle with HR lady 5. If you can't do (1)-(4), then propose a sure-deal middle price. For example, you wanted $5K but they offer you $4.5K; Then, tell them you're are willing to settle for $4.8K and that's a final call. Don't leave it open to HR. 6. Be prepared to walk away if you feel short-change by the company. NEVER NEVER join a company grudgingly.. Don't jump from your current s.h.i.t-hole to another As a hiring manager, I will say that it's the value the person brings on-board that matters most. This is esp true if it's highly professional roles like engineers, IT consultants, finance.. To me, $100 or even $1K more per month is nothing to the company although sometimes HR may stand in the way to ensure "fairness"... Good luck to your changing ship! Hi Poper, From you reply, one can tell you are well verse in HR stuff. I just scrapped through my first interview with the HR lady of a Fortune 500 company and would be attending a second interview with the Hiring Manager next week. To tell you the truth, I hate interviews. I find it very stressful answering the questions they asked. By the Grace of God, I somehow did went through the first one well enough. I am now preparing for the second interview. So the question is, how to prepare for an interview so that it is not stressful and lands you the job you wanted? Or is there any good website that gives good advice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear May 29, 2008 Share May 29, 2008 I just scrapped through my first interview with the HR lady of a Fortune 500 company and would be attending a second interview with the Hiring Manager next week. .. So the question is, how to prepare for an interview so that it is not stressful and lands you the job you wanted? Or is there any good website that gives good advice? Hmmm... since it is a hiring manager, he will mainly be interested in your skillsets and knowledge that will benefit him. Read up your job description again and see what are the key requirements of the job. Imptly, stress how your experience and attitude add value to his team. Always articulate more than required although I know sin-ga-po-nan are generally lousy in articulation. For example, if the hiring manager ask, "Are you confident to handle clients of different culture?". You can answer, "Since my current job requires a lot of travelling and I've also taken Asia Business Culture course, I'm sure I can excel in the role". Don't just say "Can." Also, assume you have been hired during the interview. Say things like "When I come on-board" DON'T say "If I come on-board" Lastly, make the hiring manager feel comfy with you. Hey! If he not comfy and still need to manage you, he probably don't want to hire you liao. In short, prove your skill, worth and make him feel comfy bah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 i also have this offer which the new coy offered almost same annual package as my current coy but with a higher mthly pay, which is still far from my expected annual package. I know they are rather despo in getting ppl, n after speaking to them during the interviews, i do know wat i maybe able to do to improve their situation and problems. I think is difficult for me to convince myself to accept another sxxt hole with the same annual package. Do i have the better ground to neg with them??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 If the other company offers you the same $$$, then just stay in your current company ba.. Alternatively, purely from a $$$ perspective, tell your current boss that you are offered a job by another company (don't say it's the same package!).. See if he counter-offers you with your expected salary told to the other company.. Who knows your may get a pay rise in the current company eventually?! It's an employee's market Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 One of my company's client offered me a job. To manage my current company's contract. I told my boss abt it. He called up the client's big boss and scolded them. He never raise my pay leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 Alamak! Why you even tell your boss who the "poacher" is?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear June 9, 2008 Share June 9, 2008 The last time it happened to me, (same $300), I told the HR that there is no point telling how good I am without showing, so I will accept their offer during the 3 mths probation to show them my ability, after 3 mths i expect the $300 to be reinstated. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...