Tips for salary negotiation

Ultramega

Hi everyone,

I just received a job offer. The new company gave me an increment but it's $300 lesser than expected. What's the best way of asking for more? I will be negotiating with a HR lady who sounds lao jiao so need some advise! [sweatdrop]

Any body have experience in salary negotiation? Please share.

Thanks! [;)]

Hi Bro,

First of all, Congrats!

I also received a job offer on friday. Probably going to sign on the dotted line on monday/tuesday.

I think it's common for employers to offer a discount on what we normally ask for. I believe you have your rights to counteroffer and it should not be seen as rude. However, if you only insist in getting your original asking salary, the HR lady might view you as a rigid person with no rooms for negotiation.

But then again I'm not a HR expert. I believe we have some HR experts here within MCF.

Here's some advice:

1. Know the market rate for your industry and offered position. Don't trust head-hunter too much as they surely want to get their comm. If the HR lady is already offering you a fair salary, it's unlikely she will give way (or give a lot). The role of HR is to ensure there's some level of salary equalization in company.

2. Understand how critical the hiring manager wants you. The more impt/urgent you are to the manager, the more he will give way. In general, HR will not stand in the way of hiring manager since business continuation depends on getting you on-board.

3. Focus on the role you are given NOT the number of years of experience you have. For example, the role requires 5 years sales exp to manage a team of 2 but you only have 4 years exp. Don't let HR argue that you're short of experience. Keep emphasizing that you're a good candidate able to take on the challenge.

4. Request to speak to hiring manager and sell your value to him/her. Focus on what you can bring on-board - skills, knowledge, contacts, attitude etc.. Let hiring manager wrestle with HR lady

5. If you can't do (1)-(4), then propose a sure-deal middle price. For example, you wanted $5K but they offer you $4.5K; Then, tell them you're are willing to settle for $4.8K and that's a final call. Don't leave it open to HR.

6. Be prepared to walk away if you feel short-change by the company. NEVER NEVER join a company grudgingly.. Don't jump from your current s.h.i.t-hole to another

As a hiring manager, I will say that it's the value the person brings on-board that matters most. This is esp true if it's highly professional roles like engineers, IT consultants, finance.. To me, $100 or even $1K more per month is nothing to the company although sometimes HR may stand in the way to ensure "fairness"...

Good luck to your changing ship! [thumbsup]

Edited by Poper

Thanks Bro. Congrates to you too.

You may not be a HR expert but your advise is still useful, thanks!

Wish you all the best in your new job. [thumbsup]

Those are great advise!

Will try them out. Thanks very much!

Agree with you on point 6. However i may still jump grudgingly cos the increment, although not to my expections, is still great. Guess i'm just greedy. [laugh]

Poper has given very solid advice.

The key is to justify your value by concrete quantification ( e.g. created xxx previously, grew xxx%, etc. ) to your hiring manager ( and not HR cos the hiring manager feels the need to hire you and not HR manager ).

AND DRAW YOUR LINE FIRMLY !

Edited by Tploh

this kind of policy sucks. i also kana before. good thing we're now halfway into the year meaning your increment time is near liao. [;)]

Yup, noted. Thanks very much!

Anybody else with salary negotiation experience and advise please share. Gam sia!

Edited by Ultramega

Hi everyone,

I just received a job offer. The new company gave me an increment but it's $300 lesser than expected. What's the best way of asking for more? I will be negotiating with a HR lady who sounds lao jiao so need some advise! [sweatdrop]

Thanks! [;)]

$300 difference only nia?...no worth to 'bang table and bang chair lah....afterward created a bad impression even before starting....$3000 maybe lah [sly] ...I mean worth fighting for lah! [laugh][laugh]

Ya la, $300 not alot. to be frank it's only a small fraction of the increment amount. But with this $300 the 1st digit of my overall salary can up by 1. see liao also song mah. [laugh]

Hi everyone,

Thanks! [;)]

It a poker game, your own perceived value versus their perceived value of you.

Depending on what type of job, you can call the shots or not.

Just have to state nicely what your expectations are.

By now, since they are offering you the job, they have already considered your past records. It's about the company budget now.

Be ready to walk away or swallow pride and take what is given if they dont match, thats all.

I'm starting on new job soon too.. have to rush before the reality of recession hits the job market.. [:p]

I think most likely i will swallow pride cos my hidden card is Ace but not the Spades one. [bigcry]