Migrating overseas?

Wind30

you neber see paper meh? libyan gibe free house to newly weds, free education and 14cent per liter petrol, yet people not happy, that's why ah goh say subsidy not the way to make sgpreans happy, must tax them gao gao.. then they happy

everything is relative...

if every day, u slog like slave for your master in return for a packet of chai peng, then suddenly one day, he put one scoop of Hageen Daz with your 'chai peng', u sure belly happi?

if everyday u get to choose either one scoop ben & jerry or haagen daz to go with your steak or grilled fish or chicken chop, then 'scully', for 1 bloody week, only got 2 scoop of walls for ice cream, u sure kpkb#$%@^$^@$%.

so be contented that we sinkies are trained to appreciate the nice things that come along once every erection!

600k can get some pretty good suburb that is very near to city. Unless you work in the city, stay abit further is better. Not as much jam and populated as in the inner city.

Check this out, outer suburb. 23km to Melbourne. AU$340-370k.

http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsear...s&tm=1211171670

104900102ml1210656960.jpg

Why stay in your 99 years old HDB flat? a normal 4 room in mature district can buy you this. only < SGD$300K in Thailand.

Pro_pic_2892.JPG

Edited by Snookium

everything is relative. some times one man's food is another's poison. some find living in singapore a torture but some find it good. everybody is entitled to seek their own happiness.

the only thing i hate is some F@@kers who always have stupid comments about quiters and stayers and "if sgp so bad, migrate lor".

for me.. if everyday got 1 scoop walls ice cream, i will be happy. (but only kpkb what flavour only hor) [smash]

pls lah.. for those decided to move out, 3 Fs that u mentioned is just an excuse , Food? what so big deal the food we have? u wun die becuase u dun have cheicken rice, nasi lemak, prata..blaa.. in fact u can get these at most of asian country.

family? if u wan tp migrate, sure u intend to build/ make u own generation there.

friends? this can build/ buy/ make from time

so, what else? [:|]

am not saying get out from SG is best, but just that 3 Fs is no no for those who wan to migrate

exactly... singapore always self claimed as food paradise....

omg, u go to every food court, its just chicken rice... chicken rice... laksa... laksa... mee pok.. mee pok....

oh come on.. gif me a break ! [sweatdrop]

tell you the truth, i sick and tired of eating the above you listed. everywhere the hawker just buy premix from factory and sell.

i overseas more than a year also neber eat the above food, also don't miss it. but don't tell that to the older generation, don't know why they so addicted to it. [lipsrsealed]

Medical: Was down with Flu, coughs & blood in plegm in New Yoke-Jamaica due to cold-dry weather. Saw the registration counter on Rate & Charges for Medical @ Jamaica Medical Centre.: It read US$600 before X-Ray & Blood test etc.

The US$600 is becos u are not a social security member.

....tell you the truth, i sick and tired of eating the above you listed. everywhere the hawker just buy premix from factory and sell.

i overseas more than a year also neber eat the above food, also don't miss it. but don't tell that to the older generation, don't know why they so addicted to it.

O kind of agree with you. A lot depend how adaptable are you and how exposed to various food when you were living in s'pore.

I find food is not an issue in most major cities, even for the older folks. You will not be eating out as often as in s'pore...cos for most people, you will have more time to cook at home. Even if you have to eat out on some occasion, they are always restaurants that serve super-good chinese food (sometimes malaysian food).[thumbsup][thumbsup]

well i exposed to various food so more adaptable, but does not mean all food i exposed to i like. as i grow older, some food i like become not like any more.

i hear my parent complain about chinese food in london, expensive but taste is ok.

i guess can't be helped, everywhere expensive in london.

when overseas, i learnt to cook better than ever. student cannot eat out so often lar.

plus not only chinese food good there, all the other cultures food good also. greek, turkey, western steak, pan cake, italian, pizza, tim sum and some funny funny stuff that cannot even find in sgp. can't say that i ate any really bad food there.. oh wait yes, its chinese food at some tourist spot.. the worst i ever ate.. was forced to eat there by other sgp friends.. as if live in sgp so long cannot go 1 meal without chinese food.

Edited by Nolicense

A good start would be to find out more about the country and speak to the s'porean/ex-s'porean (in forums and friends) who is living in that country. If after all that you still find it attractive.....take a long break in that country (1 month or more) and find a so-so accommodation in the area you think you would like to settle in. Avoid living like a visitor. Try to mix with the locals and live like them.

There is always some trade-off. There is no such things as a perfect place. Only you can decide if the place is a place for you.

Take for example, my wife and I used to live in london. We find it a very exciting city to live in and there is always something to do. We also find it easy to have a 'balanced' lifestyle. But some of our friends find it otherwise (and interestingly, most of them do not really have good local friends; not well integrated into the society). Crime rate are most likely to be higher than in s'pore, but they are usually petty crime and most of the time, confined mainly in some working-class area (which is far away from where we were living). So we don't find it dangerous at all.

3 Fs

Friends

Family

Food

If you have spent time away from Singapore as an overseas student you will know what I'm talking about.

lets just say if u were to change job, would u saty back because yr frens are the best and u dont want to resign ?

Family, if u have bonding with them , u can actually bring them over once u are a citzen. Maning, yr mom , dad, bro .. all taggable.

Food, yeah , right, u have to be able to start to learn to cook as its bloody expensive to eat out.

Most tau pao to work as well..

600k can get some pretty good suburb that is very near to city. Unless you work in the city, stay abit further is better. Not as much jam and populated as in the inner city.

Check this out, outer suburb. 23km to Melbourne. AU$340-370k.

http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsear...s&tm=1211171670

104900102ml1210656960.jpg

Houses may be cheap there. But standard of living is higher than SG. You can find $3 lunch in SG. In Aus, very difficult. Minimum $5. So in the long term it's more expensive than living in SG. Those who are thinking of cashing out everything you have in SG then go there and retire without working, i advise you to think again.

....hear my parent complain about chinese food in london, expensive but taste is ok.

i guess can't be helped, everywhere expensive in london.

..... not only chinese food good there, all the other cultures food good also. greek, turkey, western steak, pan cake, italian, pizza, tim sum and some funny funny stuff that cannot even find in sgp. can't say that i ate any really bad food there.. oh wait yes, its chinese food at some tourist spot.. the worst i ever ate.. was forced to eat there by other sgp friends.. as if live in sgp so long cannot go 1 meal without chinese food.

If you work and earn GBP, then it is more manageable....but most will cook. There are indeed quite a lot of good chinese food in London...and not all area expensive. 'Wong Kee' and 'Young Cheng', in London Chinatown, are some good example. Their food is good, portion is super big (more for 2 persons) and cost only around

kind of curious have anyone thought seriously about migrating overseas? I mean I hear quite a few complaints about life in Singapore. How about overseas?

Australia? I am thinking let say my property in Singapore is 1mil. I can get a similar quality one in Aust for 0.5mil and the other 0.5mil can be put to work to earn money. Same for cars...

The weather in Aust is better and easier to live in too. More places to relax, and travel. Get a car, go to the beach and it is a cool 15 deg C.

I never thought of migrating seriously until recently.

Bro, every country has it's fair share of social problems, no matter how developed it is. Even UK, US for instance, has problems.

For Asians like us, we sometimes have to face racism. There was once I was walking down Brisbane city centre (equivalent of Orchard Road) and one guy came up to me and shouted "GO BACK TO YOUR COUNTRY!".

And also AUD is currently stronger than SGD. Your 1mil SGD is not 1mil AUD. On top of that, standard of living is higher there so the value of your 1mil SGD drops even further.

Lastly, i hope you are not one of those who went for a tour of Australia and come back with the thoughts of migrating there. Always remember that tourists only see the good things. Perhaps you might want to go there and stay for 6 months to "test water" first.

Cheers [;)]

actually I think food is the least of my concerns.

I worked in UK for 6 months, 2 months in USA and both times I thought the local food is pretty ok. Anyway, places like Australia has pretty high chinese population so you can get most of what you want from chinese supermarkets.

I have stayed for 2 weeks in Adelaide with a family friend who retired there. I thought his life is pretty good. a simple car, mild weather all year, nice house (I probably cannot afford that house but something smaller should be ok)

don't know about the medical care there... that is a MAJOR concern which is the affordability of good medical care.

Personally I hate the singapore weather for quite some time. Coupled with the recent rise in housing prices, the perpetual high prices of cars locally, I keep wondering, can my quality of life improve with the same amount of work if I go overeas?

how much can food cost compared to housing?

Let's say I have $1mil in property in Singapore. I cash it out and buy a $500k (AUD350k) property. I have $500k of working capital. With a returns of like 6%, it is like $30k or $2.5k/month. A car cost like $1k to maintain in singapore right? I have 2 cars so that means I get to save some more on cars.

I am trying to work out how much I need to retire overseas.... at least have a target. I don't want to slog until 65 like what our government hopes that we will do. Life is too short for that. I also very realistic, I don't want to wait until I have 10mil then retire.

The best is to find a relaxing job overseas that takes up time, but little stress, pay wise just enough to get by.