Square_guy Neutral Newbie June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 (edited) wow.... 5 years apart as a newly-wed couple... It takes a very very special couple to be able to withstand the strain of such a long separation. Are you one of those? If she can't find a job here, what are the chances she can find a job in Singapore 3 years down the road? If the final objective is to live in Singapore, ain't the both of you just delaying the inevitable? imo, $60k after tax is not that attractive considering her expense is going to be much higher than if the 2 of you are living together. No point converting to SGD since living cost are obviously different. There is also the issue of CPF. Somewhat off topic, but to me the ideal route is to work overseas (together with family) on an expat allowance and then retire in Singapore. Of course must also choose the right country... Edited June 5, 2008 by Square_guy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bfg22 Neutral Newbie June 5, 2008 Share June 5, 2008 Hi Bro, I'm working in Bay Area right now for a year and I can tell you, let your wife take the job if it's one of the companies in San Jose... With an annual pay of USD100,000, the take home is about USD2.8k per bi-week after deduction on state/social security/ federal witholding tax. Of course if you have more deductions, the more you can take home. That's about 5.6K a month. Not alot but it's enough. 1) Rent = 1200-1500 (studio apt/ 1 room apt) 2) Car + Gas = 800 That leaves about 3300 to do other stuff. In the bay area, its very convenient not like Texas in the midwest. There's alot of Asia amenities and supermarket within the 10 mile radius. Of course compared to Singapore you might feel bored. But there are still the usual like movie theatres, golf, karaoke, good restaurants and such... As for traveling distance, I"m sure you will be able to find a place within 10 miles of your wives work place if you don't mind staying in those rental properties. Of course if you want to buy a house, alot of people buy further down so that's why they have to drive so far to work everyday. Then there's like Monterey, Lake Tahoe, Yosemite all within 4hr driving distance. There's so much you can do here. Even if you don't want to drive so far, weekend you can just go to the neighbourhood park with your wife. DO some cycling, walking, play with the dog etc. Trust me, the life here will be very different. Also with your qualifications, I believe you can find a job here. There's also a lot of solar energy start up companies or even biotech/medical etc that is similar to semicon. Take the risk and try it out here. You won't regret it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 Hello can i ask you a Qn about Bay Area? in Milpitas.. behind the Holiday Inn hotel is there a Ranch 99 supermarket with a food court? Is there a HK chef selling wanton noodles there ? many thanks in adv !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 indeed it sounds quite tough for u guys...Newly weds should spend more time together rather than get separated i believe.... U mentioned u had difficulties getting jobs in SG, but have you tot of going easy on your requirements ? perhaps u are asking too much?...tink abt it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 6, 2008 Author Share June 6, 2008 U mentioned u had difficulties getting jobs in SG, but have you tot of going easy on your requirements ? perhaps u are asking too much?...tink abt it.. Age and qualification wise, I am in my middle-30s and have a Masters and Ph.D (in electrical engineering) from our local university. I am already very thankful that I am recently given an offer of less than 5k per month. I am not sure if I am asking too much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 i'm not sure what shd be the correct pay for u given ur experience and qualification for a lecturer. But in long run, it should be more and its pay scale is quite lucurative I know previously for those middle-career executives who chose to join education sector in pri/sec/jc, they will draw a pay that is slightly higher than a fresh grad. Not sure whether they have changed this since the minister for edu has changed. Hope this helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 Bro...Career advancement is never ending. You will never get satisfy. Why not think seriously about having kids ? It will make your life prospective clearer instead of trying to find your acceptable market value either in the US or spore. Mid thirites is almost overdue for having kids liao. U have to compromise and sacrifice at some point for the sake of the family. If u are not planning for kids or worst still, let $$$$ get the better of your relationship, seriously u shouldnt even get married in the first time. Sorry if im too straight and blunt. Hope you make the right decision soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 Al put it this way. nothing is w/o risks. you already know what's in it for you if u & your wife stay. deal with the known facts and see if you are ok bec u can't do anything that is an unknown at this moment. the worst case scenario is u cannot get a job but with your qualifications, unlikely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 6, 2008 Author Share June 6, 2008 deal with the known facts and see if you are ok bec u can't do anything that is an unknown at this moment. the worst case scenario is u cannot get a job but with your qualifications, unlikely. I used to be as confident. But I went through a career drought lasting half a year. My wife has even better academic credentials than I do and yet she was also rejected. Over-qualification was the reason cited by the interviewer (from a local semicon firm) here. She wasn't successful in her application to a local research institute here either. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyreboy Neutral Newbie June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 "seriously u shouldnt even get married in the first time." i wanted to put this comment in my earlier post also...just cannot understand the mentality and maturity of this couple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 (edited) Application to a research instition here ? U mean DSO or DSTA ? These places or similar places are oredi overloaded with Masters & PHD employees. Too many indian chief but few indians. Somethimes its good to just get whatever offer first. Bear it for a few months or even 1 or 2 years. A good job will bound to come along. Thats what my wify went through. DSO --> ITE Lecturer --> MHA Heng im not too choosy in my job. Edited June 6, 2008 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyreboy Neutral Newbie June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 if lots of prospective employers feedback stating you are over-qualify then next time when submit resume, just put your highest education master or honours. Sometime depending on the job position that you apply, you need to adjust your resume accordingly. Flexible man flexible...higher education means one should be flexible and not rigid... someone who have PHD (aka Permanent Head Damage) should already be sitting in the middle or senior management position liao and not holding solder iron anymore... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 But no harm trying out what the US has to offer? Where in the States? Like one bro from SF Bay area mentioned, if ur wife is gg to SF Bay Area, it is more cosmopolitan. ie: normal for non whites to get decent jobs. My wife gave up her job to join me and found a similar job where i am located. They matched her previous S'pore pay. (may not be much but keeps ur resume going and better than no $$ coming in) In this day and age, a couple that still think in terms of man work wife stay at home, over the long run, will lose out on opportunities life throws at you. This overseas stint taught me (if your union is strong and your wife's thinking is similar), u look at the combined take home package (even if she works and u dun/ earn lesser). After all, both of you are working towards a common goal and life does not present opportunities to us on a conveyor belt, it's a bit of give and take. All the parental/peer pressure count for nuts when u and ur wife are counting your experiences and $$ during your old age. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged June 6, 2008 Author Share June 6, 2008 (edited) You have a good point. Edited June 6, 2008 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 Then turn him around and explain to him lah.....the earlier you educate him on the ins/outs of real life the better he will cope in the future...whereever he may be, India, Africa, South America, Alaska. Anywhere. You mean you don't talk to your child about these issues? Or maybe your parents did not do it that is why the reticence. No offense to your parents This also contributes to the alledged lack of interest in current affairs among our population? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 Right, so over here we should actually be yelling "ang mohs, go home!!!" Muahahaha....evil you Well I don't quite agree. We can state our feelings and intentions without being rude. We see the obnoxiousness in them, lets not be like them but be firm and staedfast in our beliefs and opinions. We should not have to hide them either. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear June 6, 2008 Share June 6, 2008 U mentioned u had difficulties getting jobs in SG, but have you tot of going easy on your requirements ? perhaps u are asking too much?...tink abt it.. Age and qualification wise, I am in my middle-30s and have a Masters and Ph.D (in electrical engineering) from our local university. I am already very thankful that I am recently given an offer of less than 5k per month. I am not sure if I am asking too much. for a lecturer ... pay sounds about right but if you hv permanent head damage.... then my personal feel is that the pay don't justify as much as i dislike working for twn people ... if they can pay you more than 8k ... my suggestion is take the twn job first again ... as much as i dislike working for a ngeow chee ngeow lan company with an equally ngeow chee ngeow lan boss ... i would rather choose one that at leasts pays me more money ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...